We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, excellent staff”
Review of The Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todmorden
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went to The Queen with a friend on Wednesday 16th October for lunch and a beer. Not been there for years but found it very clean, with welcoming staff. We each had a meal from the OAP menu (Fish & Chips and Sausage & Mash) and both were great value for money, home made/cooked and tasted great. The price of the beer was good too - much cheaper than expected. Will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night in August and would certainly return.

The room was a little small but had everything we needed , very clean and comfortable.
We took advantage of the ' two dine for twenty pounds, including a bottle of wine' ,very good value for money !
Breakfast was ok ,basic choice and hard toast.

The public areas are lovely and our room was good but the stair and corridor area between the two needs some attention, hopefully this is on a 'to do' list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We have been in a few hotels all over the uk, and this hotel is fantastic value for money.
The food is great, the staff brilliant , the hotel is clean and tidy. All i can say is ,
Overall this is a fantastic hotel & we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLEYCAT300AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one Saturday night when visiting Hebden Bridge.

The hotel is in a good location right next to the train station and also next door to a Wetherspoons. There's plenty of parking.

Our room was good, clean and it had everything we needed (apart from a full length mirror which would have been handy). Although small, it really didn't matter to us as it was just a base for the night.

The hotel rates are very good and include breakfast. We did feel that the breakfast could have been better, perhaps local produce used. They have cereals, yoghurts, fruit, juice, tea and coffee, as well as a full breakfast. It would have been useful to have a card on the table saying what was available, particularly in the cooked breakfast. This consists of toast, sausage, bacon, fried egg, mushrooms, tomatoes - some people may like a variation of this e.g. no beans. Because it doesn't tell you what's in the breakfast before you order you can't say if there's anything you don't want, as you don't no what you are getting in the first place. However, no complaints here, just constructive criticism.

All in all it is a decent hotel, good price, nice staff and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed at the Queen hotel for one night mid week. Booking in easy, member of staff showed us to our room personally. Room OK - little touches missing such as a box of tissues in the room and a bin in the bathroom would have helped. Evening meal average pub quality food (avoid the mushrooms - covered in oregano!). We parked outside hotel quite easily although it was about 6.30pm when we arrived. Breakfast average standard fare but the tables were all set for one person and we had to move place settings so we could sit at the same table (surely they realised that two people staying in the same room would want to sit together at breakfast!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcw552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Discovered this gem on a trip to Roachdale , Todmordon is a great little town ,ideal for a stroll in the evening ( unlike Roachdale where you need a police escort). The Queen Hotel is a smallish but very friendly hotel , very helpfull staff and great food. Sat night two meals and a bottle of wine for £20 and it was cooked by the chef ie. not something out of a packet thats warmed up!
Prices are very reasonable especially when you get a fantastic breakfast in with the tariff. Location is central, up a small side street next to the train station. I cant recommend this place enough. Book it for a stay or just eat there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We only stayed for one night (July 2013), which was a shame as the hotel and the people working there (running it?) were lovely. The check in/out process was super easy. Our room was spacious (we were in room 6) and clean with hot drinks facilites, TV, lovely old features and a comfy bed.
We ate dinner there, and breakfast the following morning, and it was amazing! Beautifully cooked and well presented, and I am guessing with local produce as the flavours were stunning.
Drinks prices in the bar were great value (which led to too much vodka being drunk), and subsequently a hangover - but we can't really blame the hotel for this..... can we??? :)
We would highly recommend this hotel. I know some people have commmented on the parking topic, but there is plently of free parking to the rear of the hotel and Todmorden is not a big place, so all the parking is technically close by.
If we head this way again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyMatchwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todmorden
4.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
407 reviews
7.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
334 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
9.6 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Hotel

Address: Rise Lane, Todmorden OL14 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Todmorden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todmorden
Price Range: £63 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing