We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the Staff of Life”
Review of Staff of Life Inn

Staff of Life Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Todmorden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staff of Life Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Todmorden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at this lovely, traditional pub. It has a super collection of both hand pulled and bottle beers. Although we did not eat in the restaurant the quality of food looked exceptional. We found out this morning how good it probably was if the standard of the breakfast we received was anything to go by. All the ingredients were top quality and there was a fantastic range of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit.
We had a double room which was clean and spacious. The only criticism we could find was the electric shower which was rather weak, a power shower would be much belter. John the batman was friendly and welcoming as were all the staff we encountered. We were in Todmorden to watch cricket, which unfortunately got rained off, but if you are ever in the town and are looking for somewhere to stay then this is the place to go. We would highly recommend it and at only £55 a night for a double room, it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: There are only 3 double rooms so make sure you book first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I'm a bit fussy when it comes to pubs and beer but the staff of life is about as good as it gets. The friendly landlord Tim is almost always present and really looks after the place. Also he knows his beer. In addition the pub food and menu is very good and the ribs are world class. It's a 15 minute walk from town centre but well worth it. I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayakingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Called in at the last minute at approx 6p.m. without having booked. We were a party of 7 and didn't really expect a table as they were very busy. But they said there was a table upstairs we could have if we didn't mind being on our own. We felt immediately at ease. The food was outstanding. Will be telling our friends and family about this little gem!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at this inn for a night while attending a wedding in Hebden Bridge. The staff were most helpful and seemed to go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room had all amenities and a very comfortable bed and the lunch and included breakfast was delicious. At £65 for bed and breakfast for the two of us it was excellent value and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GillR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went here with wife and friends for a Thursday lunch. From the outside, this inn looks very ordinary. The car park is further along the road, so a little walk (in the rain). Once inside, the interior is lovely, with small rooms, beams and a true traditional inn. The inn was empty when we arrived at 1.00pm with one lady serving. Great menu. We chose fish, with sea bass and dorado. House white and red wine perfectly acceptable. Main course served promptly and excellently presented. Wonderful! Virtually no other customers, but we understand it can get busy at weekends and evenings, so probably worth booking in advance. Definitely worth a return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 6.30 pm in Friday, greeted by Tim and Kate.

We were shown to our room which was clean tidy and warm. We had eaten earlier so nothing required that night in terms of food but enjoyed some excellent real ales and vintage cider. We went to bed after chatting to the locals and the very hospitable owners.
Breakfast is a relaxed affair with no specific time just tell Tim what time you would prefer and that's it, early or late your choice. All they ask is that you stick to the time you request. The breakfast consists of fresh fruit and cereals with warm bread and other morning goods. Tim asks what you want on your hot breakfast and really the choice is yours from a bacon sandwich to the full English is possible. Plentiful tea or coffee and the morning papers on the table are excellent in the morning. If you like your bacon well done then not a problem.
The food on Saturday night equals anything in Leeds City centre and is fresh and tasty with an excellent wine choice.
Breakfast the next day follows the same relaxed affair and check out at 12 pm meant a couple more hours in bed !

Try this place you will not be disappointed

Paul and Nick :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank undertheoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 7 who had an evening meal recently and all really enjoyed the evening. The portions were big and the food quality was fantastic. My steak and Stilton salad was beautifully cooked and presented, the only improvement would have been a salad dressing, which I forgot to ask for. Puds looked good, cheese and biscuits were really lovely. The smoked ?Lancashire was really tasty.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are nearby.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JM0483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todmorden
1.6 mi away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
170 reviews
4.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lindores Bed & Breakfast
Lindores Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Todmorden
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staff of Life Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staff of Life Inn

Address: 550 Burnley Road, Todmorden OL14 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Todmorden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Todmorden
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Staff Of Life Hotel Todmorden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing