We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Hideaway”
Review of Danai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danai Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nikiti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very little hints at the private world behind the white iron gate that guards this oasis just outside of Nikiti, in Chalkidiki. It actually felt like we were staying in a guesthouse at the Hearst Castle (slightly less opulent and definitely less garish, but with a very high degree of "special"). This Leading Hotel of the World couldn't have pampered us more - from the welcome Champagne to the upgraded room to the complimentary wine and fruit waiting for us upon arrival - we felt taken care of from the start. One of the highlights of this property is the private, white sand beach. It is relatively long, with (seemingly) enough sunbeds to accommodate all comers. This was a very pleasant surprise, as we are accustomed to the "morning scramble" to reserve seats by the sea that seems to be in vogue at so many fine resorts. The water was the perfect temperature - almost as if the resort had ordered it up especially for us! The staff is lovely, the food is outstanding, and the ambiance is the height of relaxed luxury. Very few Americans. Not sure why, other than that Chalkidiki seems to be (at least for the moment) a relatively well-kept secret. Probably not for long, though!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Danai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We arrived at the hotel at the beginning of June and from the very first moment have been fascinated by this place.

Danai is situated on a hillside of pine forest running down to the sea. The hotel is very elegant, perfectly blended into the natural landscape, with a few stylish buildings and detached villas surrounded by beautiful gardens. Squirrels run around the hotel grounds, silence is broken only by birdsong and there is an extraordinary sense of tranquility and oneness with nature. One of the undoubted advantages of the hotel - it is not crowded.

The sandy beach deserves a special mention - very picturesque, with comfortable sun-beds and impeccable service. The gently sloping entry into the sea is also ideal for children. On the beach there are a variety of water sports. For more privacy there are tents for an additional fee.

The hotel also has two swimming pools – an indoor pool in the spa and an outdoor pool with sea water.

Of the advantages of Danai I’d like to emphasize the excellent cuisine and great service in all the restaurants and bar. Several times a week breakfasts and dinners are served to the sounds of live music. Sometimes in the evenings the hotel organizes themed dinners, we especially liked the Greek party in a tavern. Greek cuisine was presented in very home-style, with folk music and dances.

The first week we were not able to force ourselves to leave the resort, then, well rested, we even got to the Meteora. Roads of Northern Greece are very comfortable and you may perfectly travel along the coast of Sithonia. In Ormos Panagias (a ten-minute drive from the hotel) you may visit a place, where a stable, kid’s playground, an outdoor horse arena and cafe are located in the area of 20 acres, surrounded by the forest. It is ideal for beginners (including children) as well as for experienced horse riders. Do not forget to buy some carrots for the horses along the road, they will be very grateful!

And of course, the unique value of Danai is its staff - without their efforts our holiday wouldn’t be so comfortable and nice. We were surrounded by care and attention during our stay. Special thanks to the staff of restaurants and bar for the excellent service and to public relations managers Kate and Michelle, who were always professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AnelA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

You know when you get to a place and you get that feeling that this is going to be heaven....well that's how I felt walking into Reception at the Danai. Everything about the hotel is calm, peaceful and understated, well, when you know you are good, do you have to shout about it.
There was a wedding the evening we arrived and although it was busy, we still felt unhurried or troubled by the group but the staff were apologetic and I suppose the upgrade to a pool room might have been the result. B12 was lovely, at the end of the block so might be quite peaceful in the height of summer. The hotel was not busy, we were the only Brits, the rest German and 'Russian' although not sure where from....all seemed happy to be quiet and relaxed. The sandy beach is good and despite it being a little chilly at first, the sea clear and calm.For me the best part was breakfast on the terrace over looking the beautiful bay, good range of fruits, breads meats etc. but the display of honey's and home made jam's was really great. We were on half board and this was probably the best option we have ever had, taken in the main restaurant - the food was superb....easily Michelin star and as people often say in these reports ' we have eaten at some of the best restaurants in the world!!' The staff are delightful and the sommelier knowledgeable, all in all a great place to eat, especially when you can watch the evening light fade. Thank you to everyone at the Danai, who made for a perfect week.

Room Tip: I am sure almost anywhere would be great, we were in B12
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willowschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I chose Danai Resort to spend a romantic long week-end in the beginning of May and our expectations were fully met. Although we had seen many photos of the hotel on the Internet, when we arrived there we were stunned by the scenery offered by the typical Mediterranean greenery, the private sandy beach and the incredible view. We have been to many places in the Côte d’Azur, but we have never seen such a nice landscape before.

The room we were offered was very spacious and nicely decorated, equipped with a large and comfortable bed. The service of the hotel was extremely professional and at the same time personal and friendly. This made us feel at home, something that is hard to find in big hotels.

We had dinner once at the Andromeda restaurant and the food was simply outstanding, combining fine cuisine with traditional Greek products. As for breakfast, we found it of high quality and appreciated the fact that scrambled eggs or omelets were served on demand, which means that were extremely fresh.

Overall, Danai Resort, with its idyllic location and personal service, is the ideal place for relaxing and exclusive holidays. We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a Presidential Suite in May while on our honeymoon. We were greeted with Champagne and given a tour of the property. (Hotels in the United States don't do this, so we were very impressed). We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and their restaurant, The Squirrel, has ruined us forever. We're always comparing the food we eat at high end restaurants to the food we dined on at the Squirrel and no one ever comes close. We also ate at Andromeda and the Seahorse and the food there was delicious as well.

We spent some time at the spa and that was a wonderful experience. We did an olive oil tasting and it was great to learn about it and taste it with a professional. Because we were there early in the season, the hotel was not very busy so it seemed like we practically had the place to ourselves.

The bed was very comfortable and the size of the room was lovely. The Presidential Suite has it's own pool and outdoor lounging area and was so perfect for our honeymoon. The staff was always friendly and met our every need with a smile.

The only thing I can think of to complain about is the fact that a Greek breakfast is very different from breakfast in the US. I'm used to scrambled eggs, toast, or pancakes and the Greeks don't do this for breakfast, which is probably why they are healthier than I am! This is true of all hotels we stayed in in Greece, not just Danai resort, so I won't hold it against them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kryztyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The only 'fault' with this hotel is that all the staff try so hard to please you that it is embarrasing at times!
Wonderful greeting, great room, fantastic restaurant with ovely food, supberb beach etc etc. Perhaps not a lot for children but then I would not have thought many families would go to this hotel.
This is one of the most expensive hotels we have stayed in but we thought every euor spent wsa justified.
The spa, like everything else is excellent.

Room Tip: I doubt they have a room that is not good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purcellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The beauty, the rooms, the staff all get an A+++. Family owned and on property constantly which makes a huge difference. They care about their customers and it shows. The bar is beautiful hanging right above the ocean. Loved the food and everything about it. Most relaxed I have been in years. Get a massage by Marina. Truly amazing. Pricey but in my opinion, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiti
19.1 mi away
Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace
#1 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
1,000 reviews
7.9 mi away
Anthemus Sea Beach Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acrotel Lily Ann Village
5.2 mi away
Antigoni Beach Hotel & Suites
Antigoni Beach Hotel & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ormos Panagias
178 reviews
7.7 mi away
Acrotel Lily Ann Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danai Beach Resort

Address: Sithonia-Halkidiki, Nikiti 630 88, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Sithonia > Nikiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nikiti
Price Range: £361 - £1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Danai Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Danai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danai Beach Hotel Nikiti
Hotel Danai Beach
Danai Beach Resort Nikiti, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing