We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing restaurant and 6 Star Service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danai Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nikiti
Certificate of Excellence
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant and 6 Star Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

What do i say my partner and i reserved for lunch with a view to stay here next time we visit Macedonia, theyve got us hook, line and sinker, Mrs Ioanna service puts the Mandarins and a few 5 star hotels in London to shame, as vegetarians the chef had whipped up something special.. i do have to say this is OLD MONEY ELEGANCE, it has something money cant buy... excellent Staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HPL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    26
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
68
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A unique holiday!! We were upgraded in a unique villa with private pool and unique sea view! The villa was very well equipped with everything we needed! Breakfast was very good, served on the terrace overlooking the sea, under large trees with musical accompaniment from the piano! Gorgeous!!! For diner and lunch the restaurants in resort is also very good! Very, very good short vacation in paradise!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed there a couple of days during a business event organized by my company. This hotel present spacious flat and villa very well decorated and very cosy.

My villa was facing the see and had a small swimming pool, though I didn't use it because during the stay in October the temperature didn't go over 16°

The staff is very friendly and food was just perfect (and I am hard to convince in this matter).

I would recommend this hotel for whoever want to relax in a quite place

Room Tip: If you book this hotel, I would strongly recommend you to call them directly as some of the villa ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frédéric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

An excellent way to relax by the water when in Greece. This resort has an abundance of comfort,style and service to offer. From the moment we arrived, we were taken great care of by the wonderful staff(especially Kate) and made to feel right at home. With 3 exquisit restaurants on site and the ocean at your door, you don't need anything else. Every employee was proffessional and helpful and made our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 67convertable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our 10 day stay at the Danai Beach Resort and Villas was simply out of this world! My husband and I felt like we had died and gone to heaven in what can only be described as the most incredible holiday we have ever had. The Danai is in a league of its own and excels in every single aspect of its service provision. Perfection is hard to achieve but this resort does it effortlessly!!

Grounds
The layout of the resort is beautiful, lush and green and our complements go to the many gardeners who lovingly tend the lawns, flowers, shrubs and trees. As a small resort, everything is a short walk away and golf carts were readily available to escort the guests if needed.

Accommodation
On arrival, Kate from guest relations, generously upgraded our accommodation to a pool villa with sea view and it was divine! The bed was huge with crisp, fresh linen and comfy pillows. The interior was spacious, luxurious and well kitted out. The air-conditioning worked perfectly and the power shower in the bathroom was fantastic. The villa garden was enclosed with high walls to the side, affording an exquisite, framed view of the sea beyond. We used the pool everyday to cool off from the heat of the sun and even ate dinner in our own private garden one evening, which was magical.

Beach
The sandy beach is absolutely stunning, with pine trees nestling along the coast and amazing views out to Cassandra and the peninsulas. Sun loungers were in abundance and widely spaced to give privacy. The service of the beach staff was spectacular - Thomas in particular could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. As soon as you arrive at the beach, a member of staff will make up your sun lounger of choice, put up your umbrella, and bring fresh beach towels. Throughout the day, the staff offer a number of unobtrusive services such as ice cold flannels, polishing sunglasses, fresh fruit, mini smoothies etc. There is a specific beach bar drinks and food menu and the staff are always on hand to take your order and bring food and drinks directly to you at the beach. The sea water is transparent and gorgeous to swim in or just for a gentle dip to cool off from the heat of the sun!

The Beach Bar
We have so many happy memories from our times at the bar, both during the day and evening. Our thanks especially go to George, Periklis and Eleni, who delivered outstanding service, with warm smiles and great conversations! The alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks menu is vast and all the cocktails, wine, iced coffees and milkshakes we tried were simply delicious. The music playlist is divine and offers the perfect backdrop for some of the most spectacular sunsets we have ever seen!

Restaurants
We ate one evening at the Squirrel Gourmet restaurant and it was a culinary delight! The 13 course taster menu was so delicious and the chef did an amazing job at creating 'art' on our plates! We would thoroughly recommend booking a table here for an experience you won't forget in a long time!
We were also very fortunate to experience the intimate candlelit beach dinner, which was run by the Andromeda gourmet restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and the setting is exquisite. If there is one thing you should not miss out on at the Danai, it is this!
Lunch and dinner is also served at the Grill Bar and we found ourselves eating here quite regularly for lunch and dinner. There is a wide choice of hot and cold starters, pasta, fish and meat dishes and every one of our menu choices was delicious and cooked to perfection. What really impressed us here though was the service and the team run by Eoanna (Maria, Joanna). We had such a lovely time and were treated so kindly. Eoanna's team also ran the Greek nights we attended at an outside restaurant overlooking the sea and these were fantastic and a real opportunity to let you hair down with the other guests and party 'greek style'!

Spa
Our visits to the spa were reinvigorating! The Spa Manager is one the most delightful people you can meet and she has the most amazing talent. It is quite rare to find someone who really knows how to deliver a perfect massage but she has a gift. Her technique is flawless and I can't recommend her services enough, particularly the deep tissue massage. The spa is small and intimate with a fabulous sauna, a couple of steam rooms and a relaxation area.

Highlights
Massages at the spa that leave you feeling reborn.
Candlelit dinner on the beach, under the 'Danai full moon' and serenaded by a classical pianist.
Home-brewed ouzo, great acoustic band, and lively dancing during the Greek night.
Sunday brunch serenaded by a classical pianist and violinist.
Resort staff that genuinely can't do enough to make sure you have the best holiday of your life - without being in any way overbearing or insincere.
The warm welcome, generosity, and times shared with Kimon, Kate and their friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SienaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaiBeach R, Guest Relations Manager at Danai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear SienaBear,

We cannot thank you enough for the beautiful review you gave to us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments were delivered to our employees and everyone were delighted reading them.

Greetings from all of us, we are all hoping to see you back next year and spend crazy Greek days and nights together! Opa opa!

Warmest Regards,
Danai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We've been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels in Asia and so we thought we knew
something about good service.....but that all changed when we stayed at the Danai. This was a last minute booking to replace a trip to Egypt and was one of several suggested by Kuoni. The previous reviews on Trip Advisor were certainly influential in our decision to pick the Danai and we were extremely happy with our choice.

The Danai is run by the Riefenstahl family and began as a villa for rent 40 years ago. It's now a 5* hotel with 62 all-suite rooms with immaculate service and astonishingly good food as its hallmarks. However in my view this is not the best hotel to take an active young family to. This is a hotel that is all about rest, rest and more rest, interspersed with delicious meals!

Nikiti may be famous for its beaches but that is really about all it has to offer as a destination. There are no major sights anywhere nearby, the scuba diving is basic (use the Atlantis Diving Center) and the local specialities are different varieties of honey & olive oil, both of which are very good indeed. The Danai's beach is 300-400m long, sandy & well maintained and the sea was warm & crystal clear. The sun beds are plentiful and comfortable. There are free canoes but after that, everything is chargeable: €75 for an hour on a Hobie Cat, €70 for 1 person in a rubber tube or on a banana behind the speedboat. If you are happy to spend that, that's fine but no one was when we were there which, in many respects, was a blessing as it was so quiet & peaceful.

Whilst on the subject of minor irritants, there are a series of tents with sun loungers on the beach that offer greater sun protection. These are only available for €80/day. And then there are a couple of even smarter & larger tents, each with sofas inside and 4 sun loungers outside. These are available at €220/day....if one has spent a not-inconsiderable sum on one's bed for the night, it seems a bit rich to be asked to pay again for these facilities for day-time use! Lastly water on the beach costs €5.50/1 litre bottle. That is just plain annoying....and should be free along with the sun glass cleaning (!), iced towels & fresh fruit that are all gratis.

But I am nick-picking here as the hotel has just so many first rate qualities right from the moment one arrives and is given a glass of Kir Royal. We were lucky enough to be given a substantial upgrade to a huge room with a plunge pool. Every meal we had, from the breakfast buffet (try the different honeys & the scrambled egg & smoked salmon was perfection!), to lunch in either Andromeda or the beach bar, to dinner was simply excellent. There are often fresh fish or crustacean specials which are added to the menus, but even then the dinner menu in the Andromeda was changed every day so a nice surprise greeted one as we settled into our chairs! Add to that fantastic service from everyone everywhere (and I mean everyone, not a single grumpy face or lapse all week) and you have a rare find indeed. All the staff smile all the time, will engage with you but not be intrusive and go about their work with the minimum of fuss and maximum efficiency and charm. They are just so well trained.

Our last day happened to be our wedding anniversary so we went mad & had the full gourmet dinner + wines at the Squirrel. Everything you will read elsewhere from other reviewers about the Squirrel is correct. It's a stunning restaurant, with the chefs given free reign to come up with whatever they want to present over 12 courses. Not only was the food extremely good, the way some of the courses were presented showed real inventiveness & style. The Squirrel is only open if there are tables booked so the diners (so we were told) have 6 chefs & sous-chefs preparing their meal. Similarly the sommelier has complete freedom to come up with some fascinating bottles to taste from that included a 1996 Champagne which started in the glass smelling distinctly past it but then blossomed into an astonishingly beautiful wine. It is a very special occasion with admittedly very special prices but, hey, it's worth it.

If you don't have a car and want to travel into Nikiti, the hotel will arrange for a taxi which will cost €8-10 on a meter but finding a return cab in the village is a challenge - there aren't any cab ranks or cruising taxis. The drivers don't speak much English (if any) so written directions are essential. We did have dinner in the Arsanas beach front restaurant in Nikiti and we do recommend it highly (it's reviewed elsewhere on Trip Advisor). The owner will go off-menu if you ask, it has excellent cooking and is very good value. Try the "Two Moons" white wine - delicious! The restaurant will call for a taxi to take you back to The Danai.

Here are a few other bits & pieces: there is resort-wide free wifi (the speed is a bit variable, but you are in a relatively remote area) which means reading or working on a laptop or tablet whilst on the beach is entirely feasible. The gym is very basic indeed but is being upgraded this winter into something the Managing Director described as much bigger and better. The hotel is closed for the winter between mid-Oct & April. There's a rather attractive shopping arcade with the usual vastly over-priced items in the stores. At the moment, some 80-90% of the hotel's guests are Russian but the standard of the staff's spoken English (as well as Russian & German) is exceptionally good.

One day a serious magazine or newspaper reviewer with find this jewel of a hotel & then it will become too well known. I dread that day! We will be back......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ballyhooo7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaiBeach R, Guest Relations Manager at Danai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Ballyhooo7710,

Thank you for taking your time to review Danai Beach Resort & Villas! We appreciate your contribution!

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed yourself in Danai and willing to come back.

We will definitely consider "minor irritants" which you mentioned and we will do our best to make your next visit 110% perfect!

Warmest regards,
Danai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were 3 couples and I am writing to express my appreciation for the quality of service they offered us the days of our stay at the Danai Beach Resort @ Halkidiki. Approximately 90 km away from Thessaloniki.
We got a lovely warm welcome, and were given a welcome drink! Our experience has been out standing from the moment we arrived, till we left we were treated like royalty. The hotel is very clean and relaxed but also has touch of luxury. The sea is and the beach is crystal clear. No rush to find a beach umbrella as they have a lot with its towels on. The hotel had amazing Greek, Turkish and Italian cuisine for lunch and dinner also wide variety of break-fast (especially cheese, jams and honey) every day.
Speaking about cuisine… Thank you Mr. Kemal for your delicious food.
And thank you Mr. Michel Chrishakis (Guest Relations) for your kind interest and help.
We definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family moreover we have already booked our rooms for the next September.
Last but not least thanks a lot to our travel agency GEZLONG!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sedefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaiBeach R, Guest Relations Manager at Danai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sedefina,

Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for taking your time to write about us!

Greetings from Mr Kemal, Mr Michel and from all the staff members.

We are looking forward to you next September!

Warmest regards,
Danai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiti
8.0 mi away
Anthemus Sea Beach Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
0.0 mi away
Acrotel Lily Ann Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#3 of 44 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
19.1 mi away
Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace
#1 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Hotel
Blue Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 3 in Metamorfosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danai Beach Resort

Property: Danai Beach Resort
Address: Sithonia-Halkidiki, Nikiti 630 88, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Sithonia > Nikiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nikiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Danai Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Danai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danai Beach Hotel Nikiti
Hotel Danai Beach
Danai Beach Resort Nikiti, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing