We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Time on Seil”
Review of The Tin Church

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Seil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tin Church
Ranked #2 of 5 Isle of Seil B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st Time on Seil”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a fantastic 5 days here at the Tin Church. It is the most beautiful location with wonderful views and excellent accomodation. It was lovely to have fresh homebaked bread everyday and fresh eggs from the resident hens.
Paul and Margaret are fabulous hosts, and very knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had seen the Tin Church on a TV programme, and when we needed a short break this year we phoned, and got a last minute booking. Tin Church is a "Self Catering" B & B, but a lovely home baked loaf, butter and milk were provided to get us started. Oh, and don't forget the lovely wee decanter of whisky.. The place was spotless, and the tasteful design was spot on. The Tin Church is in Splendid Isolation, with quiet island atmosphere, but the Balvicar General store is only 5 minutes down the road, where you can but Seil Island eggs (they also have excelent bread, croissants and pastries. Margaret and Paul gave us a warm welcome, and loads of useful information. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyschauffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Accomodation fantastic-the best i have ever stayed in, absolutely immaculate and everything you need to complete the perfect holiday. Margaret and Paul, the owners are wonderful. Seil is a wonderful beautiful place and The Tin Church is the best place to stay, great for all ages. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janewilliam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wonderful self-catering B&B. So tranquil and relaxing. Wonderfully furnished. Great location for sight-seeing in the greater Oban area. One of our all-time absolute favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We promised to try to get a listing on Trip Advisor and having done so forgot to put our entry on. This place is exceptional - hosts are wonderful - fresh warm homemade bread every day, local produce in the fridge, a decanter of whisky on the table and every last detail carefully thought out. Frankly the inmgredients left for breakfast each day would have fed us both for the day! The setting is glorious with wonderful views. The accomodation is immaculate. Not only could we not fault it, but we loved it and our hosts. I left an item of clothing behind. Knowing where we were heading, they found the car in a carpark, and left it wrapped, on the windscreen of the car, along with the recipe for the bread. A huge thank you to them both.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheriwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My wife and I had wanted to visit the Isle of Seil in memory of a horticulturalist friend of ours who never made it to visit the beautiful old garden of An Cala before she died. We feel lucky to have discovered the Tin Church to stay in, restored by Paul and Maggie who are generous and cheerful hosts. It is a discovery - a gem. The building includes their home, and B&B accommodation and a self-catering flat, which we found luxurious. The whole place reflects the owners' great interest in art deco furniture and decoration and they have a really nice style, if you get a chance to see round.
As self-caterers, we were expecting to bring all our own food - it was a surprise to find breakfast materials provided.
You don't need to worry that 'Tin Church' sounds like some sort of bothy where the roof makes a noise when it rains - the name is traditional, from when this was a 'Wee Free' kirk clad in metal.
I was so glad that when I spotted Paul's old reproduction of a 1920s newspaper lying casually on one of the settees there, I was able to think quickly and come out with that quip of Tony Hancock's when reading the magazines at the dentist's - "I see Lloyd George is dead, then!".
Among other things this location is ideal for a mile or so's easy toddle down to the picturesque and historic slate-quarrying island of Easdale. (With An Cala garden on the way).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sedcopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Seil
8.7 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pennyghael
65 reviews
11.1 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#2 of 3 in Pennyghael
78 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oban Seil Farm
Oban Seil Farm
#1 of 1 in Isle of Seil
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tin Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tin Church

Property: The Tin Church
Address: Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Slate Islands > Isle of Seil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Seil
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Tin Church Isle Of Seil, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing