We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Pian Medoc
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a night at Le Pont Bernet and overall it was a fairly disappointing experience. I'm not sure if it was ever a great hotel, but at this point it's definitely past its prime and is a below-average hotel. Maintenance and cleanliness were the two most obvious areas of struggle, but it also didn't help that they do tacky things like "rent" you pool towels for a Euro apiece. Speaking of the towels, if TripAdvisor ever starts a contest for "Coarsest Hotel Towels," I hereby nominate Le Pont Bernet, whose towels were so rough and grating that waiting around to air-dry was preferable.The walls are fairly thin, such that you could tell whenever a neighboring room had the TV on. The only reason I gave the property two stars is that they redeemed themselves slightly with their breakfast offerings which, while nothing to write home about, were still more substantial and varied than nearly anyplace else we stayed in the region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Pont B, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,
We are sorry to see that your stay was not as good as expected. For the pool towels, it is the first year that we rent it, however we found that some people were using 2-3 towels per day and abusing the fact that it was free. That is the reason why is it rented 1 symbolic euro.
Regarding the fact that towels are rough, it is unusual, our dryer broke down and in summer it is more difficult to get a restful quickly.
Regarding sound insulation between rooms, we started work in the first part of the building and will continue for the remaining rooms as soon as possible.
We are delighted that you liked breakfast.
Best regards
Mr Ollivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    64
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
45
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a OK low cost hotel but not more then that. The room are of low class and are not well maintained the last 10 years or so but are clean. Plus for free and very fast Wi-Fi at the hotel. Pool area with child pool as well. The hotel restaurant is better then the hotel and so are also the breakfast. But you get a ok room and a good restaurant for quite little money so I still think it´s - OK all in all / Mikael & Biljana on bicycling vacation in Medoc/Bordeaux region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikaelMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed only for one night. The restaurant is first-class. Dinner was wonderful and the service was very professional. Breakfast was well beyond the ubiquitous continental breakfast in France with a variety of good quality choices. You could, if you wish, eat enough to last the entire day.

As I understand it from speaking to the owner, he is working on bringing the hotel rooms up to snuff. In my view, he still has a ways to go (the only reason I didn't give a 5-star rating), but he is a charming, intelligent man who clearly wants to raise the hotel to a higher level. As for now, the room is a bit small, although perhaps not by French standards, the bathroom needs at least a pole shower in the tub rather than hand-held, and there are other smaller items that need improvement. The new windows are great. The view of the garden and pool in the back is wonderful (colorful small birds just outside our window in the trees), and the room was quiet.

Staff is courteous and helpful. Breakfast is served at 8:30 a.m. on the weekends, and we had a plane to catch, so we asked if we could eat a little earlier, and they opened the restaurant at 8:00 a.m. just for us. We thought that was unusually considerate.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the garden/pool. Probably the best location except there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent a night at this small Logis de France hotel located about 15 miles to the west of Bordeaux - comfortable but simple room with excellent blackout curtain though bathroom needs to be brought into the 21st century (I can't stand hand-held showers in a bath...). Main attributes are the excellent adjoining restaurant and the possibility to have a very economical "soiree étape" which includes a three course dinner (fixed menu), breakfast and room. Good night's sleep, no traffic noise as I was at the back of the hotel. Pool for the summer. I would certainly stay again if in the region but perhaps only for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexboyracer2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and despite being on a main road we couldn't hear a thing from our room. The rooms were incredibly tidy, the staff beyond helpful and the food was exceptional. I am already looking forward to going back there. Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

For the three things we wanted to do - touring the Medoc vinyards, visiting Bordeaux city centre and the Les Landes coast this proved to be the ideal spot. The hotel's wine list is a testament to the knowledge of the owner, the bus stop for Bordeaux (wonderful UNESCO city centre) is at the hotel and the sandy coast a drive away. For our three day stay the service and meals were good and the people very helpful indeed. We'd been given the disabled room (although we are not) and the only negative aspect was the bathroom, mostly but not all to do with the shower where the grouting needed cleaning. The shower head didn't lock on its slide and if we didn't get the curtain right the floor flooded because the edge of the shower tray is above the floor level. We weren't sure if the bathroom was really suitable for a disabled person although there was adequate space in it. A shelf seemed very high and there weren't the usual supports round the loo. There was no plug for the sink (we did ask for one) and some of the nicely decorative wrought iron fittings were loose and could easily fall off the wall. It needs refurbishing. We would certainly stay again but ask for a different room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cph
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We came from a bad time in the Rhone valley and found this place we had booked for 3 nights. We were a group of 7 incl 5 years old kid for differents nationality travelling for business.
The hotel is easy to find, well located for travelling around Bordeaux, accessible to many of the wine areas without being blocked in town.
The hotel is really decent for this price level, rooms are nice and clean with a bit more to propose such as more choice in the mini-bar ( Yes you must pay for bar beverages, they are not working for free and the hotel prices are cheap already ). The hotel areas are large and confortable, very pleasant backyard area. Nice to work and to relax. We had a really relaxing working time.
The restaurant.
We had to try so like everybody the first night we booked a table.
But then we liked it and end up to eat there the 3 nights plus 1 lunch. When you get good home made food for a good price with a very competent service and helpful and polite staff you just stay and enjoy. That s what we did.
Thank you as well for the extra laundry service that you didn t had to do but did anyway to help us.
Thank you for some of the best hotel visit in your standard for many years of travelling.
Thank you for being very proffesionel with us sympathic.
We will come back and will try to send people to your hotel every time we will have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Pian Medoc
0.5 mi away
Golf du Medoc Resort
Golf du Medoc Resort
#1 of 2 in Le Pian Medoc
503 reviews
7.3 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
624 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Saint Medard
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Saint Medar...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-en-Jalles
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
6.2 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
68 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie des Criquets
Hostellerie des Criquets
#2 of 2 in Blanquefort
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet
Address: 1160 route de Soulac, 33290 Le Pian Medoc, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Le Pian Medoc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Pian Medoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Pont Bernet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing