We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GASTRONOMIC ADVENTURE IN THE HEART OF EAST SUSSEX”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pevensey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A GASTRONOMIC ADVENTURE IN THE HEART OF EAST SUSSEX”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

David andClive somehow make one feel as if being individually treated. The way the menu is explained at table makes one want to have it all! There is no doubt the the food is lovingly prepared and presented. A delight to eat and to behold. Our room was comfortable and many thoughtful touches employed such as earplugs and paracetamol (in case needed) and fresh milk for tea and coffee in the mini-bar. Crossways is ideally situated for exploring the glorious East Sussex countryside and is within easy reach of the towns of Eastbourne,Lewes, Hastings and Brighton and Hove. We had an excellent anniversary break and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 715RichardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    38
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
230
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

It had been far too long since we sampled the delights of Crossways and so we took advantage of a Special Offer and my Wife's Birthday to pay a return visit. The Hotel was simple to find and possessed a spacious Car Park. We were warmly greeted and instantly made to feel welcome by one of the Proprietors who helped us to our allocated Bedroom. This proved to be light, airy and was very well equipped which made our stay extremely comfortable. David Stott and Clive James excelled themselves during the Evening, offering and serving a fine choice of Aperitifs and Wines to accompany our Dinner chosen from the extensive and varied Menu. The food proved to be beyond our hopes and expectations - it was expertly prepared and served, it was beautifully presented and, perhaps most important, tasted delicious. In fact it put us in mind of the very best Television Cookery Programmes! My Wife even classed her Starter as the 'most favourite ever'. Our wholly pleasurable experience was further enhanced by the super English Breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed the next morning and ensured we departed with a deeply positive glow and a vow to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed overnight for dinner bed and breakfast. Service and room excellent as usual here. The food is of outstanding quality, beautifully served David and Clive make everyone so welcome.
A lovely stay for a celebration or just a treat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynH951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Crossways centres on food - inventive and plentiful. It is a restaurant with rooms and the rooms are good.
A pity about the proximity of the A 27 and the hotel needs a lounge - but it is the best food in Sussex served with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamT930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We spent a night at Crossways with friends and had a truly wonderful stay. Our room was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous, every course was a delight. I have already recommended Crossways to friends and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from an overnight stay. The room was spotless,and comfortable, there was even fresh milk in the fridge
We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, locally sourced produce and expertly described and prepared by the owners David and Clive. After a comfortable nights sleep we were served a full English breakfast with home made marmalade and excellent coffee.
A real treat.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After staying here (again) the service, quality & ambience cannot be beaten. Our room was very nice as was the dinner & breakfast. David & Clive go out of their way to ensure their guests are made to feel very welcome & always take the time to make us feel special. They go the extra mile on every level. Thank you very much from 4 very satisfied guests.

Nancy, Andy, Karin & Roger

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancynye94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
802 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,585 reviews
5.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing