We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

As always, David and his team did us proud. The atmosphere is welcoming, friendly and relaxed. The food is excellent and the wine list comprehensive. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Everything about our week-end stay was superb and we have already booked a week-end in October.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
208
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

the service is always excellent at crossways and the food is delicious. the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable as are the beds. the location is very good for us as it only takes about 10 minutes to get there.obviously what we liked best was the food and the very friendly atmosphere and there is nothing that we do not like as we keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
It great to think that someone who lives so close chooses to come and stay with us. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoyira, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Every time we come we have a great stay. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was even better. They certainly use first class products in all their cooking. A friendly place to stay run by two people who really want you to feel welcomed . We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackboys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed at Crossways many tiimes over the years and on our recent trip it was good to see that the quaility was as good as ever in terms of both the food and the room for the night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our third visit, and second overnight stay. As usual the food and accommodation were first class, and David and Clive always excel! Main road (A27) always busy, so care needed when leaving! We would highly recommend Crossways to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this Hotel..The Dinner in the evening was excellent as was breakfast the following morning. My only regret is that I wasn't there for two nights.
I would certainly go again, maybe next time it would be when the weather is warmer, it would have been nice to have walked around the area. But it was freezing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22seagulls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We are very happy to provide a review of our stay and the food at this hotel. it was atmospheric and warm. The food was excellent and we would most certainly go back. If you like the small personal and intimate service a place like this can bring, then this is the venue of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 920LynnB920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing