We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

As is says, this is a restaurant with rooms. The rooms are comfortable and quite well equipped, albeit our bathroon was on the smaller side of average. The food is very good indeed. Four of us enjoyed the standard evening menu which was of very high quality at a set price of £39 which was good value for what we had. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    28
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
191
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found Crossways by chance during a cycling holiday; not having booked in advance we weren't sure what we would end up with, but luck was really smiling on us. David had a room for us when we called, even managing to supply a bathtub! A real lifesaver after 150km in the saddle... Rooms were very spacious, complete with a fridge containing fresh milk for our tea and coffee. Delicious full English breakfast the next morning. Easily the best quality accommodation of our trip, but also the lowest price.
Although Crossways is just off a busy road, the hotel itself was very peaceful, situated in the lovely countryside of the South Downs. We went across the road to the Giant's Rest pub for dinner - also highly recommended. We hope to be back to see the Long Man and do more exploring in the area!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CAR0L1NE_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on a Half Board arrangement in a superior room which we found to be excellent value.It was our first visit.
It is difficult to overstate our appreciation of what they offered. Charming friendly reception, a very pleasant,tastefully appointed bedroom, 3 superb dinners with plenty of choice to avoid any repetition; first class breakfasts in a delightfully sunny breakfast room. All this with first class housekeeping in an immaculately kept small hotel the likes of which one rarely encounters nowadays.
A previous correspondent bemoaned the lack of a sitting room, but this after all is described as a "restaurant with rooms". And that is exactly what it is.
We expected something good by previous postings but it exceeded our expectations in every respect. An amazing tribute to the two delightful gentlemen who apparently have been here for around 25 years.
This truly is a little gem. Long may it stay as it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

As always, David and his team did us proud. The atmosphere is welcoming, friendly and relaxed. The food is excellent and the wine list comprehensive. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Everything about our week-end stay was superb and we have already booked a week-end in October.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

the service is always excellent at crossways and the food is delicious. the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable as are the beds. the location is very good for us as it only takes about 10 minutes to get there.obviously what we liked best was the food and the very friendly atmosphere and there is nothing that we do not like as we keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
It great to think that someone who lives so close chooses to come and stay with us. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoyira, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Every time we come we have a great stay. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was even better. They certainly use first class products in all their cooking. A friendly place to stay run by two people who really want you to feel welcomed . We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackboys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed at Crossways many tiimes over the years and on our recent trip it was good to see that the quaility was as good as ever in terms of both the food and the room for the night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
11.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
9.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
24.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing