We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location for me was perfect for getting to Bedes School. The service is really friendly and welcoming. The rooms and the breakfast room are very clean. The breakfast is really well presented and cooked beautifully. Although there was a fixed breakfast time it seemed pretty relaxed and easy to ask for a change of time. I didnt eat in the resturant. The only down side is that I had a room at the top of the stairs so could hear the diners leavng and people going up and down the stairs but lucky for me it was in reasonable hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
208
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed one night, with dinner, at this hotel.
The standard of accommodation is outstanding and the cuisine (and I use the term with the greatest discretion) is of the highest order.
This friendly hotel aims very high - and achieves it remarkably well.
I will return.

Room Tip: If this review seems a bit enthusiastically over-the-top, it is because one rarely finds such a jewe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had most enjoyable stay at the Crossways Hotel, the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. The hosts couldn't have been better, friendly and accommodating. We had a very comfortable room, and it was great to find fresh milk in the fridge, a touch that we have never come across before, usually one has to ask for a jug if you want fresh milk. We would definitely recommend the hotel and will certainly visit again at some time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival, and sat down to a dinner that was excellent - the food, the service, the wine was all of a high standard. The hotel was friendly, spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable, and convenient for so many places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Crossways is a little gem. David and Clive are lovely hosts and their staff are charming.The hotel is bright, clean and individual, with delicious plentiful food.
Details like a sewing kit in the bedroom and even ear-plugs in the shower are very thoughtful.
Crossways is handy for the coast and countryside walks on the Downs, with lovely places like Alfriston and Lewes nearby. We will certainly return.

Clive and Jayne McWilliam

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveSMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014


This is a very individual hotel, a real treat. I have been using it for a few years and I always look forward to my stay. The service is first class, very efficient and friendly without being invasive. There are lots of personal touches, like being welcomed after Glyndebourne with a free cup of tea in the dining-room, where other guests will be too. The rooms are very comfortable and each one has its own character. There is always fresh milk in the fridge. The location is ideal for Glyndebourne but also for Alfriston and all the interesting sites in this beautiful area. The hotel is also a highly reputed restaurant, with imaginative and delicious menus, all cooked with local produce of the highest quality. Breakfasts are always a treat too. In conclusion, an excellent hotel which I can recommend wholehartedly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having visited the Crossway Hotel some years ago,I thought it would be nice to make another visit on my wifes birthday.
We were warmly greeted by David who treated us like old friends,which was very nice.
The evening meal was of the same standard, as it was on our previous visits superb.Thanks for a very memorable evening Dave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
733 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
186 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,503 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing