We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant 2 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant 2 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently stayed in the Wishing Well Garden Apartment which is run by David and his team at Crossways. It's a one bedded apartment for 2 people and had all amenities for our stay. It is an addition the Wishing Well Cottage across the road from Crossways. There is also the Wishing Well Tea Rooms within the garden grounds. We had a small private courtyard garden, the main lounge/kitchen area with bedroom and en-suite bathroom. On booking I found David to respond very promptly to any questions I had. Although the property is adjacent to a busy road (A27), it did not affect the noise within the cottage. There was a slight problem on our arrival, but David quickly put that right. I would suggest parking at the apartment and crossing the road for the key (if you are able bodied) as it's quite difficult to get out of Crossways drive to turn right. (David - perhaps the Crossways sign could be moved slightly?). One other little point, the information book perhaps needs an update of information and to be placed somewhere prominent for guests on arrival. The apartment was in a good position for our visits to Eastbourne and Brighton (good idea to take the train to Brighton from Polegate station 2 miles away). Would certainly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Fiona.

Thank you so much for your review and your helpful points. We have recently taken over the Wishing Well, although we have managed the Garden Apartment for the previous owners for a number of years. We are planning some changes to the Garden Apartment and we are also going to let the Wishing Well Cottage for self catering holidays..

We hope to see you again at Crossways or the Wishing Well.

Best Wishes
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    28
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
191
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location for me was perfect for getting to Bedes School. The service is really friendly and welcoming. The rooms and the breakfast room are very clean. The breakfast is really well presented and cooked beautifully. Although there was a fixed breakfast time it seemed pretty relaxed and easy to ask for a change of time. I didnt eat in the resturant. The only down side is that I had a room at the top of the stairs so could hear the diners leavng and people going up and down the stairs but lucky for me it was in reasonable hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed one night, with dinner, at this hotel.
The standard of accommodation is outstanding and the cuisine (and I use the term with the greatest discretion) is of the highest order.
This friendly hotel aims very high - and achieves it remarkably well.
I will return.

Room Tip: If this review seems a bit enthusiastically over-the-top, it is because one rarely finds such a jewe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had most enjoyable stay at the Crossways Hotel, the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. The hosts couldn't have been better, friendly and accommodating. We had a very comfortable room, and it was great to find fresh milk in the fridge, a touch that we have never come across before, usually one has to ask for a jug if you want fresh milk. We would definitely recommend the hotel and will certainly visit again at some time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival, and sat down to a dinner that was excellent - the food, the service, the wine was all of a high standard. The hotel was friendly, spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable, and convenient for so many places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Crossways is a little gem. David and Clive are lovely hosts and their staff are charming.The hotel is bright, clean and individual, with delicious plentiful food.
Details like a sewing kit in the bedroom and even ear-plugs in the shower are very thoughtful.
Crossways is handy for the coast and countryside walks on the Downs, with lovely places like Alfriston and Lewes nearby. We will certainly return.

Clive and Jayne McWilliam

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveSMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014


This is a very individual hotel, a real treat. I have been using it for a few years and I always look forward to my stay. The service is first class, very efficient and friendly without being invasive. There are lots of personal touches, like being welcomed after Glyndebourne with a free cup of tea in the dining-room, where other guests will be too. The rooms are very comfortable and each one has its own character. There is always fresh milk in the fridge. The location is ideal for Glyndebourne but also for Alfriston and all the interesting sites in this beautiful area. The hotel is also a highly reputed restaurant, with imaginative and delicious menus, all cooked with local produce of the highest quality. Breakfasts are always a treat too. In conclusion, an excellent hotel which I can recommend wholehartedly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
11.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
9.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
24.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing