We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many Dollars for so little”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too many Dollars for so little”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We expected so much more!

The picture suggests a lovely country house with gardens and rural views.

NO!

A very expensive hotel and we thought - why have we paid all that!

It's really because we are British and could not get away quick enough.

A stay in a morgue would be more enjoyable!

These sort of places just don`t get it. Go to a Premier inn!

I fully expect it to be out of business and closed down within a year or two and that's because of the outrageous price for a mediocre, run down, tired, sad, basic room.

When you stay in this area please do your research, we obviously didn't do enough of it and ended up here.

Please stay somewhere else and pay a lot less.

Eastbourne is quite close and you can get a good hotel here for half the price with a great breakfast.

Regards

Much travelled British person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
208
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Accommodation at Crossways was clean and comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated and included all the 'mod cons' one would expect.

Where Crossways really shines is in the restaurant. The menu is fantastically constructed and each course is consistently delicious. The dining room is small and you are very well looked after.

Even if you choose not to stay, i cannot recommend the restaurant highly enough. It is certainly one of the best in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soda1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

As soon as you arrive at this truly delightful hotel you feel welcome and at home.
The setting is superb set in beautiful gardens and convenient for Glyndebourne, Charleston and local walks. There is great attention to every detail for the well-being of guests and all the rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated with extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast, with no buffet in sight, thank goodness, is freshly cooked and absolutely delicious. Dinner in the attractive dining-room has to be savoured and enjoyed as it would be difficult to describe such a delicious treat in words!!

Room Tip: All rooms are alluring, comfortable and delightful. The largest one has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It really is a rare pleasure to stay in a hotel where the owners have such high standards and clearly take everything they do personally – in a good way.

BOOKING

I booked online at the last minute on a bank holiday weekend. I only wanted a room for the Saturday night and feared that, being a bank holiday, I would be left with the worst of options and possibly made to book a whole weekend. Judging by the strength of the reviews, I considered myself lucky that Crossways had a room available and that it could be booked for the Saturday night only. I think this was indeed simply luck as there appeared to be no lack of guests once we were there.

Booking online without telephone contact can always leave you with a background fear that somehow the hotel will know nothing of your request and you will end up begging to sleep in a stable or outhouse. But we were greeted, by name, by one of the owners at the front door. The perfect welcome.

THE ROOM

We were shown to our room in a friendly manner and with no delay or fuss over paperwork – again this is very well judged and exactly what I always want in a hotel.

The room was on the front of the building, it was large and airy and had windows on two sides. Although, as others have mentioned, the hotel is on a busy road, the high-quality secondary glazing kept the noise to a level that meant it simply wasn't a problem. My girlfriend is VERY noise sensitive and had no issues at all. I think this is in part due to the secondary glazing but it also has to be said that while the road is busy during the day and in the evening it seems to be infrequently used during the night.

The bathroom was recently refitted and the standard of cleanliness was first rate – as it was throughout the room and hotel beyond.

Although we didn't use it, there was a thoughtfully-stocked mini bar, and real milk for use when you make tea.

In summary, the room was excellent, and thoughtfully put together and cared for.

GETTING THERE

Unusually, on that weekend I didn't have access to my car. I booked a hire car online but sadly that online booking system was not as efficient as the one for the hotel and there was no car reserved when I arrived to pick it up. As a result we travelled to Polegate by train from London (an easy trip) and caught a short and inexpensive cab ride from the station, where there is a cab rank. So, the hotel is easy to access without a car (but has plentiful parking if you do drive). If you're a walker there's a very good reason to go by train (see 'walking' below).

RESTAURANT

Due to the late booking we weren't able to eat in the hotel's restaurant on the Saturday evening. But the restaurant looks lovely and judging by the standard of the breakfast (which was excellent) I would imagine the food is of a very high standard.

The restaurant was clearly busy on the Saturday evening, apparently locals use it a lot. I would take that as a good sign.

As we were unable to eat in the restaurant, the owner recommended we eat in the Giant's Rest pub in Wilmington village, just a two or three minute walk away across the road.

The food there was very good, a cut above standard pub fayre. I have a feeling that the food in the Crossways would be better though. Still, The Giant's Rest served a very good handmade pie of local rabbit which went very well with a hoppy and light Sussex ale. So if you can't get into the hotel's restaurant the pub is a very good option. The menu in the pub is very comprehensive so you will not want for choice.

WILMINGTON VILLAGE

Whatever you do make sure you walk through the village. Not only for the Long Man of Wilmington at the far end but also for the Church part way through the village. As it was dusk we couldn't get into the Church itself but it looks as though it would be worth exploring when it is open. It sits next to the ruins of an old priory and I would guess there is much history in evidence inside. Regardless of whether the church building is open, it is worth walking into the churchyard where there is an amazing old yew tree surrounded by props and bound with chains – which are in themselves quite ancient looking – to keep it under control. A note inside the church porch estimates the yew tree to be around 1600 years old, which is both amazing and not entirely unbelievable. Don't miss it.

We walked through the village where the Long Man becomes visible at the far e. Then we took the footpath up to the Long Man then the paths on the hill that loop around it before walking back to the pub. This is the perfect pre-dinner walk.

WALKING

Our trip was a last minute event where a number of things happened by accident. And I am glad to say these were all happy accidents. Failing to get a hire car meant we took the train. But this was easy, and took away the pressure of driving and traffic jams. It also meant we packed light, getting everything into one small rucksack.

Having seen that we could get onto the South Downs Way just by the Long Man, we decided to go for a walk on the Sunday morning. One of the owners suggested we walk along the South Downs Way into Alfriston where there would be plenty of places for lunch. Good tip. Alfriston is a beautiful village full of interesting shops with a range of options for lunch. Arriving by foot on the South Downs way is the perfect approach.

We had taken all our things with us in the rucksack and decided to carry on along the South Downs Way after lunch. This is a lovely walk over gentle rolling hills – never too taxing. Eventually you have the countryside to one side and the English Channel to the other. It is a glorious walk, so much so that we walked all the way back to Lewes, some 13 miles, to catch the train back to London.

This is a fabulous thing to do and a reason in itself to go to the hotel by train (and to pack light).

The only thing I would change about the walk is that we did the last few miles into Lewes by road, which is less than ideal. Had we planned ahead we would have seen that there is a way to continue on the South Downs Way and approach Lewes from the other side (from the West). This would have made the walk 20 miles rather than 13 but it would be a great walk to do with a little more planning and preparation (and better walking shoes!). Alternatively we could have stayed on the South Downs way just a little further to Southease and taken a short train ride into Lewes, changing there to get the train back to London. That would have avoided the road walking and cut the walk down to around 10 or so miles. Whichever version you might do though, it is a great walk.

SUMMARY

This is a small and friendly hotel that has excellent standards and is run with great care. It is very well located – especially if you like walking or (it would seem) opera.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The perfect place to stay when visiting Glyndebourne David and Clive are perfect hosts and the hotel is immaculate but best of all the food is excellent.
You must stay for dinner it's a real experience .The Quality is amongst the very best in the county and better than the restaurants at Gylndeborne by far

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have double glazing but I prefer to stay on the side . I always get a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Crossways Hotel for just one night whilst waiting to catch a ferry to France. We stayed in the little cottage across the road from the main hotel and could not have wished for better accommodation. Set in delightful gardens with a tea room on your doorstep - who could ask for more.

The cottage was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed.

Breakfast the next morning was superb and I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends. If we are in the area again we shall certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed there for two nights with friends on a "walking" week-end to the Seven Sisters. The Hotel is very comfortable and despite being close to the A27, it is very quiet. It is also very clean and the the owners will do everything to make your stay more enjoyable. We also had dinner one night and the food is lovely, we had monkfish prepared with a green curry sauce... delicious! A nice surprise was to discover they had Chateau Musar on the wine list.... our preferred red wine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing