We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy return”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Crossroads for the first time over a year ago and returned in July for three nights. I am very happy to report that little had changed in that time. We took a half board arrangement in a superior room and were more than happy in every respect. The very genuine warm welcome, the immaculate upkeep of their beautiful country house, the spacious colourful grounds and,not least, the superb food made for a really happy return visit. Small restaurants with rooms run as personally as this are something of a rarity and the owners who are always in attendance clearly love looking after guests. Just two caveats.It is what it says, a restaurant with rooms. Don't expect a lounge to sit in, although the outside seating is excellent. Secondly the dining room is not large and attracts good outside business. If you are staying and want to dine, reserve ahead. We came away looking forward to another stay at Crossroads. Unfortunately we live 250 miles away so we might have to wait a while. If you are nearer do try it for a really exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with good seating, and in one case a small balcony, make the stay really pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It was nice to welcome you back for your second visit. Perhaps you will make it one year for Lewes Bonfire Parade and see some fireworks. 5th November LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice clean hotel,with good facilities,and a nice atmosphere.Good service from friendly courteous people from the time you arrive,with a good choice for breakfast, served as you would hope,and,of
high quality.After a mix of business,endless hours of driving,and touring the south coast,it was a pleasure to arrive at the hotel,to relax,and get a good nights sleep.With its off road parking,and location,Crossways is perfect for touring the south coast towns,and the local countryside.
Well done to the gentlemen who own and run this hotel,their obvious hard work and enthusiasm,
has achieved a very good result.G

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geof d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is ideal to celebrate a special occasion or for a stay to enjoy wonderful food and exceptional hospitality. Our one night stay was in august 2014 and could not be faulted. Enjoyed a couple of hours in their pleasant garden to recover from our journey. Room spotless and comfortable. Meal superb as ever.
Traditional English breakfast that would be difficult to surpass. Added to this the attentive service from all the staff. Urge you to give this hotel a try. We will return again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

At our recent visit, the house and gardens at Crossways Hotel looked delightful. Our meal was delicious with home grown and local produce. As ever, David and Clive gave us warm, professional and welcoming service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After our recent stay in the self contained apartment across the road from the hotel, we have nothing but praise for the lovely accommodation.There was everything you needed for a very comfortable stay, including a summerhouse in the garden.Our hosts were extremely obliging and made our visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful base for our 'Bloomsbury in Sussex' trip. The food was superb (four course, fixed price dinner in a delightful dining room and the full English breakfast) and the welcome was warm. We'd certainly come back. We had the room with the balcony and lovely views over the garden.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the garden apartment for a few days. We were in Brighton due to family reasons and needed to extend our stay. David was very helpful and moved us into Wishing Well Cottage itself. Both are lovely and very well equipped, spotlessy clean and perfect for a holiday or a short stay. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £88 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Wilmington, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing