We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept secret”
Review of Crossways

Crossways
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 22 year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to the Longman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went for my son's 21st. Lovely experience, I agree with previous points, the owners couldn't be more helpful. The service is personalised to the point that my partner had enquired, I had gone to see it as I was worried about the fact that there was no bar and when we turned up for the meal, the first thing they said to my son was "you must be the birthday boy!". Although you couldn't say that all the dishes were outstanding, you couldn't fault the food nor the presentation nor the quantity nor the setting nor the service. The puddings are yummy! What a treat to be served drinks in the amazing garden on a summer evening. The overall experience is tremendous due to the fact that they both care deeply for the customer. I have recommended it to all my colleagues and friends. I am just annoyed that I only live 10 miles from it and had never heard of this great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Domino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Crossways. Hopefully we will see you again soon, although we cannot guarantee the wonderful weather for you to enjoy the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My birthday meal”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The food quality,attention to detail,service and information about the dishes is excellent.The owners are very welcoming and friendly with a personal service.We went for my birthday in April and it was one of the best meals i have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Visited for the First time in March and found that the owners had been in business for many years and had built up a formidable reputation.
The Table d'hote menu is varied and erfinde without being too fussy. Service from the owners is friendly and efficient and the overall experience was truly excellent. We will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crozpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Crossways.
And hope that it will be the first of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have been visiting Crossways for a number of years, for an overnight stay with dinner, bed and breakfast. The owners, David and Clive are always tremendously welcoming and the hotel is meticulously well run. The food is excellent and the service first class. We visited recently and, once again, had a great time. The dinner menu is seasonal and has something for all tastes. Many of the other customers are many times "returners", which is testimony to the well-deserved excellent reputation that Crossways has built up. We always recommend a visit to our friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiretours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Leonards on sea
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Had a fantastic meal here on 29th March 2013. Food is excellent, service great and value for money is outstanding. Also stayed overnight and the rooms are above average. Will be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Congratulations on your Achievement.
Here's to the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crossways also viewed

 
Wilmington, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing