We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways

Crossways
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 22 year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to the Longman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Having been going to crossways restaurant, it is just the best. The hotel is a Georgian building in its only beautiful grounds. The restaurant is spacious and your table is yours for the evening. All food is locally sourced, and cooked fresh by David. The standard is very high, in every aspect, and should not be missed if your in the area.you will not be disappointed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why didn't we go sooner?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having driven past the Crossways Hotel thousands of times, and having had recommendations from friends, we finally booked to go there for our 2nd anniversary meal. Why didn't we go there sooner? The hosts are excellent, being friendly and attentive without ever being intrusive. The food is superb, with a wide variety of food there will be something for everyone, although options are limited to 6/7 items per course which is to be expected from a smaller, more personal restaurant. The lack of a bar initially made us wonder if the drinks would be limited, as neither of us drink wine, but the beer choice was more than adequate. The prices are above average but that enables them to provide good quality food, which is still excellent value in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“11/10!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have visited Crossways once or twice a year over the last 15 years, and always say it can't get any better, but it does!, and last evening was no exception. The whole experience is just so smooth and friendly, relaxed, and the food is out of this world. What else can we say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went for my son's 21st. Lovely experience, I agree with previous points, the owners couldn't be more helpful. The service is personalised to the point that my partner had enquired, I had gone to see it as I was worried about the fact that there was no bar and when we turned up for the meal, the first thing they said to my son was "you must be the birthday boy!". Although you couldn't say that all the dishes were outstanding, you couldn't fault the food nor the presentation nor the quantity nor the setting nor the service. The puddings are yummy! What a treat to be served drinks in the amazing garden on a summer evening. The overall experience is tremendous due to the fact that they both care deeply for the customer. I have recommended it to all my colleagues and friends. I am just annoyed that I only live 10 miles from it and had never heard of this great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Domino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Crossways. Hopefully we will see you again soon, although we cannot guarantee the wonderful weather for you to enjoy the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The food quality,attention to detail,service and information about the dishes is excellent.The owners are very welcoming and friendly with a personal service.We went for my birthday in April and it was one of the best meals i have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crossways also viewed

Wilmington, East Sussex
 
Milton Street, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 

Been to Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing