We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class food - great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways

Crossways
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 22 year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to the Longman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House
LEWES
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top class food - great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been eating at Crossways now for about 20 years and in all that time we have never had a bad experience. The owners, Davis and Clive have become firm friends and their service to diners, attention to detail and sense of humour enhances the whole evening. David is the chef of the pair and he manages to combines top class food, good portions and value every time with an ever changing menu but still with some old favourites such as the Seafood Pancake! Crossways is also an hotel and we have taken advantage of their stay for dinner and have the B & B free which allows one to collapse in bed fully sated without the need to worry about driving. We think of Crossways as the place we like to go when we want that special treat evening. Try it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSussex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Taking guests to Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have now been several times to this restaurant/bed&breakfast establishment and feel it is one of the best restaurants around in the South East. The hotel is set in an idyllic spot overlooking the Old Man of Wilmington in the South Downs. As for the dinner, you and your guests are treated in a very special way, with David (waiter and chef) explaining fully the separate courses in great detail and being very informative in a pleasant way. The food is fabulous! You are not rushed at all and you are also not asked time and time again whether you would like more drinks! David and Clive are a great team. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was very nice to welcome you and your guests last week. So glad that you enjoyed your visit.
I see that you are due to visit us again soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We went to Crossways with friends that they recommended, and were delighted with such great service and good food. It is still under same ownership for over 20 years. David and Clive welcomed us with amuse bouches, followed by trio of smoked fish, or mushroom éclair. Main course was a selection of 7 including lamb with orange and ginger or venison or fish. For Dessert we were spoilt with choice - fruit crèpes, meringue roulade, and spotted dick. It is an ideal restaurant for a special celebration.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. I am delighted to tell you that we commence our 27 year at Crossways the very week on Thursday 13th February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Another great stay at the Crossways Hotel or to put it another way, a Restaurant with rooms. Either way it’s a wonderful place to have a great dinner with friends and enjoy the very delicious food that your hosts (David & Clive) prepare and serve to you in their own special way. So you can enjoy a glass or two of wine with your meal you are able to stay overnight in one of Crossways lovely rooms as we do each time we visit.
Please visit the Crossways web site (http://www.crosswayshotel.co.uk/) for all the information and special offers.
Thanks for reading,
Arthur.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Having been going to crossways restaurant, it is just the best. The hotel is a Georgian building in its only beautiful grounds. The restaurant is spacious and your table is yours for the evening. All food is locally sourced, and cooked fresh by David. The standard is very high, in every aspect, and should not be missed if your in the area.you will not be disappointed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crossways also viewed

Wilmington, East Sussex
 
Milton Street, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 
Polegate, East Sussex
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 

Been to Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing