We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of The Giant's Rest

The Giant's Rest
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was an unplanned visit, after trying tro go to another restaurant which closes Saturday aternoon, we found this one open all day Saturday and Sunday, which was brilliant when you are out on a Saturday afternoon drive.

We had a starter and a main course. There was an extensive menu with great choices. The starters were lovely and came with gorgeous chunks of fresh bread, The main courses arrived promptly after, and again we could not fault freshness and service. The prices were reasonable, the restaurant and Pub had a lovely feel about it and little wooden games ( we had noughts and crosses) were provided on the tables which was a lovely quirky touch!

We recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanBratchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    58
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to stumble apon very welcome”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We did the walk to the long man which our dog really enjoyed. Then stopped here for a rest meet the local MP with family an shared conversation over dogs and the lacal country side. Supper was taken inpromtu and was delicious. Highly recommended if with a four footed friend. Menu has many specials and a main costs £10 on average

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JChambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“always come back”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Our third visit to this lovely gastro-pub (not bad considering we live 400 miles away and have to cross the English Channel to get here). And they still do the excellent fish cakes with chilli and coriander served this time with freshly cooked vegetables al dente. Friendly young staff, relaxing, informal dining.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not the worst place weve eaten”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This Pub is in an excellent place for walking on Downs. The staff were very friendly.
The food though was rather patchy. We ate lunch and ordered a steak, burger, pie and Salad. Whilst the salad was excellent both the staek and burger tasted unpleasant and 'strong' so that neither could be eaten. They were replaced with no fuss at all.
However a later cofee and hot chocolate confirmed our reservations about the food- coffee served with 'whitener' and watery synthetic hot chocolate. When we asked for milk (in a pub with a full kitchen) we were advised none was available.
Poor show and what a pity.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank optimist186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rabbit did not die in vain”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Lunch for the second time at this pub proved how good their rabbit and bacon pie is, with other meals enjoyed by our friends equally imaginative and value for money. Set in a stunning valley leading to the South Downs, it would be so easy to serve standard British Microwave or Coq au Delivery Van - instead you get real, hot (!increasingly rare for England), properly made food brought smartly to you. This is a main entry also in the pretty reliable Good Pub Guide and it's not hard to see why.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Giant's Rest also viewed

Milton Street, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Giant's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing