We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place for lunch and dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Giant's Rest

The Giant's Rest
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for lunch and dinner!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went with family for a light lunch in the week, had a lovely lunch outside in the most perfect setting. Had to come back before returning home for a full meal. Had both a starter and main, all four of my dining party had different things and we were all extremely happy with everything. The decor and ambiance were perfect, staff were very efficient and friendly. The drinks choice was also a good local selection. Can't wait to come again on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Refreshed menu with wonderful freshly cooked fish dishes”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have eaten at the Giants Rest a number of times this summer and have always had a choice of lovely freshly cooked fish dishes. The fish soup and sea bream are my favourites and are excellent value for money I like Belgium beers and they have chilled Leffe on tap which is great as well as having delicious local ales. There are still a few old stay menu favourites to please returning regulars which is also nice. The new management are welcoming and friendly There have been some recent staff changes who bring new energy and cheer to the pub. I take my dog as my companion and am happy to sit out in the sunshine watching village life or to sit at the bar and chat to the staff. It's a comfortable relaxing place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrysallgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Giants Rest is well worth a visit! Friendly, welcoming staff and good food served in the cosy, rustic restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShazinDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A pleasant interlude.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Giants Rest was built in 1910 and was originally called The Black Horse Inn. Ideally located just off of the A27 road. A reasonable sized car park at the rear of the pub. Outside the front a few table and chairs affording a country view.
Popped in one lunch time to meet up with an old buddy from Brighton.
The pub has plenty of character and a couple of friendly dogs to boot. Not every one's cup of tea to have animals in the dinning area though.
My friend ordered fish soup and myself I ordered ham sandwich. Service was swift. The soup was ample with bread and butter accompaniment. My ham sandwich was not one, but two large baguette's with a good quality thick sliced ham filling accompanied with a nice salad garnish. Was impressed.
Looking at the main menu for dinner, there is quite a good choice but the prices seemed a little high for pub food.
Will try this place again one evening to see if it comes up to lunch time 'spec'.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Gone down hill since last visit.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

After eating here in the past we recommend it to family and took them with us to eat. Terrible is all I can say! BBQ was not a bbq. Chicken had been left in oven to fry out, sausage would have been nice if not burnt! Spare ribs was one bone with very little meat. Mixed salad was just lettuce and three tiny little new potatoes! Our starter was frozen pâté and olives. With one small slice of baguette each! Sorry but will not be back and would not recommend to anyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudeRew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Giant's Rest also viewed

Milton Street, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Giant's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing