We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very popular pub in a lovely setting”
Review of The Giant's Rest

The Giant's Rest
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: French, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A very popular pub in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Giants Rest has had its ups and downs over the years, but it is now definitely on an up. The food is consistently good, the atmosphere friendly and vibrant, and so is invariably popular, particularly at weekends, and you really need to book on a Sunday lunch.
We had a great lunch today, served promptly, and was very tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvdgurr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    61
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We love this restaurant. Always great food, only criticism is you have to order at the bar. Service is ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oakwoodina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner for 10 people”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I went to Giant's Rest in late December with a group of friends and would never wish to make a return visit,WHY worst service i have ever experienced and worst food.
I ordered turkey and was dished up what seemed like turkey roll straight out of a packet.
Was i unlucky because it was in the Christmas period when many places let their standards down with to many eaters,what ever the reason i will not be making a return visit that's for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“A welcome return - good food served again!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our son recommended that we once again try the Giants Rest, an old favourite that had sadly declined under previous owners. It was every bit as good as we had been told! The chicken pate and smoked mackerel pate were delicious, but we could have done without as the main course was huge! The steak and ale pie (my personal measuring stick) was delicious, with huge pieces of tender steak, a delicious gravy, excellent veg & potatoes. My husband is still raving about the quality and crispiness of the belly of pork (his measuring stick!!), not even spoiled by the absence of his revered apple sauce! Wine at £14 a bottle, a pint and a G&T for £55 the lot - not bad at all!
Lovely and cosy, nice that they still have the wooden games and cards. lovely friendly staff. Just wish we'd had room for dessert.
Very, very, very, very good - this is one to recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class Traditional English Pub”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our second visit to The Giants Rest and we can't wait to go again. Great food, fresh produce, friendly staff and atmosphere. Extensive menu with wide choice on the specials board.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkyp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Giant's Rest also viewed

Milton Street, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Giant's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing