We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "resort", but stay if you're seeking an adventure.”
Review of Manatee Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salinas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manatee Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed because it is close (by car) to Juana Dias where we were planning to attend the 3 Kings Festival. The property has character, with mangroves at your steps and lovely views of the coast. The staff is helpful and there are good restaurants in the local area!
I would recommend arriving during the day because it is a little hard to find. I could not find a map that accurately locates the hotel: maps on TripAdvisor and Booking.com show a different part of town, and GPS shows that the hotel is in the water... it's all part of the adventure!
The hotel restaurant was only opened part of the week (Thurs-Sun). The ceiling paint in our room was peeling and the A/C did not work (room 20). Other rooms may be different, so check out your room thoroughly before you unpack. Also, plastic coverings over our room window hindered the view of the mangroves and coast. However, you can enjoy the view from the dock, a restaurant patio, or an upstairs hotel patio area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bailar_mts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Don't let the pictures fool you. This is motel, not a "resort," unless you mean last resort, as in, desperate. One positive: the rooms are clean, but basic. No comfortable chair in room. The restaurant was closed nearly the whole time we were there (3 out of 4 nights during New Years holiday). No vending machines, ice, or nearby stores. No fridge or microwave in room.
"Continental breakfast" (7-9 am) is a couple of bananas, white bread, corn flakes, and high fructose corn syrup passed off as "juice beverage." Eli, the owner's wife, gets irate if the coffee runs out at 8:50 and you ask her to make another pot. "I'll make a half a pot," she says crankily, looking at her watch. She won't even do that until you've swallowed the last dregs in the pot. Then she complains about how much she works and her high blood pressure. No hot water for bathing. The lights in the pool were not properly grounded, sending electric currents through the water. Pool gets padlocked at 7 pm. No beach or swimming on site. Q: "Eli, do you know where there's a nice beach?" A: "No." This place is way down an obscure road where stray dogs wander by day and bark outside your room by night.

Room Tip: Find a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digger207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The owners Ellie and Andy--and indeed the entire staff--were tremendously helpful and friendly and kind. On our first day we rented a kayak and rowed out to find a little beach that we had to ourselves, and then enjoyed a perfect meal at the hotel restaurant. On our second day we had to leave early to go to San Juan and I wish we had had more time to spend at the Manatee.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JK1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had the displeasure of staying at the Manatee resort, checking in on December 15th. I arrived early and was given a room which though inferior to the one I was supposed to be getting was ready and so I took it. To my dismay however when I checked out, I was informed that there is a standard practice of charging an early check in fee of $40.00 even though I was not informed of that charge at the time I checked in. I felt it was a cheap shot and based on that I would never stay at that property again. If you must stay there make sure you are aware of all charges up front as you may be surprised as I was when I checked out.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor. If you are tall you will find yourself bumping in the ceiling. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmeta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My Family and I had the opportunity to stay in The Manatee Eco Resort and its was a perfect scenario. The bay view, the surroundings, the food, the rooms and last but not least the attentions... Perfect In fact we had the pleasure to be attended by Eli and Andrew... They made our trip worth while. I do recommend this resort and will have it in my future trips to that area!!!

Room Tip: The room number 7 has the bay view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Ana and I decided to check out the coastal areas around Salinas and Jobos. We ran into Manatee Eco Resort and Restaurant. The owner (Andrew) was nice enough to show us a room for a possible future stay. Just a very nice man, he even got some bread and fed his pet fish in the mangroves for us. On top of that, Andy and his wife are bilingual and that really helps me.



We managed to get our schedules rearranged and ended up staying the night. Very nice place, extremely clean, we felt safe fishing off the dock after dark (no fish, but it was low tide and bad solunar period).

The restaurant is very nice also, but if you want to order the house specialty (I forget the name, but a seafood alfredo), either be very hungry or split it between 2 or 3 people.

Overall; it is a very nice place to relax with good company and at a very reasonable price.

We’ll be going back next week and hopefully the fish are hungry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevetraveling2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Location was great for us however hotel itcself, pool closes at 7 pm, like really, why, most hotel pools are open till 10 pm. During the evening cold showers? No fishing on pier breakfast, coffee toast, bananas and cereal 7- 9 am. 1 minute late it's closed. Lol

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedyAsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
19.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
36.9 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
254 reviews
36.9 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 8 in Ponce
371 reviews
68.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
50.2 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatee Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatee Eco Resort

Address: Calle A #296, Salinas 00751, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salinas
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Resort offers all the amenities of an upscale hotel, but in a cozy, intimate setting. Each of our rooms are decorated with your comfort in mind. A variety of room sizes and features are available including king and full sized beds, solar hot water, air-conditioning, and cable television. Feast on our fresh seafood,l steaks and traditional Criollo meals, while relaxing on our water edge decks or in our air conditioned dining rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manatee Eco Hotel Salinas
Manatee Eco Resort Puerto Rico/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing