We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little hidden cosy hotel”
Review of Hotel Gran Mugon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Mugon
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Vigo di Fassa
Certificate of Excellence
copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little hidden cosy hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a week. I knew the place since I was a child but I was absent for more than 25 years and I was so happy to discover that everything was kept so well preserved and modern at the same time. This is a small cosy hotel located in the heart of the Dolomites run by a local cheerful family that make you feel at home as soon as you get into the hotel. The room are bright, warm and clean. The breakfast is amazing with the home made jams and cakes as well as the delicious speck and cheese that make you feel happy from the first moment you see them. But obviously the best part is the dinner!! it is like going to a michelin restaurant every night..the cuisine is really high standard and the chef outstanding in mixing tradition with modernity in every single dish. Last but not least, what make this hotel different from the others is the courtesy and the warm hospitality that you receive as a guest. From the owners to the staff none of them will let you feel as a stranger but you will always be treated as an honourable guest that like them love that magic cosy hidded place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iltarauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Gran Mugon for three weeks in June/July 2012. The first week was with my wife in a double room, the following two were in a single room.

This is a family-run hotel and guests are made to feel 'one of the family'. It is located in a small hamlet a couple of miles from Vigo di Fassa. It fronts onto a meadow and backs onto trees. There are fabulous views to the mountains on either side of the Fassa Valley.

The food is really a major plus for the hotel. All guests on half-board eat at the same time (7.30pm) but because choices are made earlier the meal experience flows well. There is a 'help yourself' salad bar with up to 24 choices, then the next three courses are served with three options for each course. It's a real gourmet delight.

Help is always on hand if you need guidance on things to do or see, or to sort out the little problems that may accompany any holiday.

The double or twin rooms are delightful, most having a small balcony with room for a couple of chairs and super views. The single rooms are not quite as welcoming being a little snug and most only having a small window to the outside world.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Flowers adourn window boxes across the front of the hotel.

For people who do not like stairs there is a lift in the hotel which also makes carrying bags to and from rooms easier.

There are a number of walks from the hotel and the whole area is rich in wildlife. At the time of year I visited, should your interest be birds, butterflies, moths or flowers or just walking in the mountains you will not be disappointed.

The hotel does have a 'wellness centre' and also facilities for skiing but these were not used.

Wifi is available in the public areas on the ground floor.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It has a delightful atmosphere and someone must be hard to please if they are disappointed with it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the afternoon/evening sun. Whilst on the roadside, the hamlet is small and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel for a natural history-related visit, and were absolutely delighted. She's coeliac, and with not the slightest fuss the hotel helped with gluten-free alternatives to any dishes she had to avoid - and the food was excellent, so she would not have wanted to miss anything! Wonderfully situated among meadows and woods, the hotel is family-run, friendly, and quietly efficient. By the time we left, it was just a question of when we can come back!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My boyfriend and I chose the Gran Mugon by looking at the hotel's website and reading other visitors' reviews. Wow, am I glad we chose it! What a wonderful and perfect hotel this was! The service was excellent and our room was beautiful and very clean. The people were so friendly and treated you like family. The food... my God.. the food was superb. The wellness center was incredible and we relaxed in the showers and the jacuzzi several nights there before dinner. I loved that the hotel was just outside the heart of Vigo Di Fassa down it's own quiet, little mountain road. It takes just two minutes to drive into town where there are some cute shops and cafes to enjoy. There is also a beautiful place to go skiing and a wonderful little ski school for children. If you are looking for a cozy, excellent quality hotel with an exquisite kitchen in the dolomites, that is close to everything yet in a tranquil and gorgeous mountain setting then the Gran Mugon is it! I highly, highly recommend it and hopefully will be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyB324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigo di Fassa hotels
1.1 mi away
Andes Hotel - Wellness & Spa
Andes Hotel - Wellness & Spa
#3 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Family Hotel La Grotta
Family Hotel La Grotta
#1 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fontana
Wellness Hotel Fontana
#4 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Design & Suite Hotel Ciarnadoi
Design & Suite Hotel Ciarnadoi
#9 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carpe Diem
Hotel Carpe Diem
#6 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millefiori
Hotel Millefiori
#20 of 29 in Vigo di Fassa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Mugon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Mugon

Property: Hotel Gran Mugon
Address: Strada de Tamion no 3, 38039 Vigo di Fassa, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Vigo di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#6 Spa Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
#12 Family Hotel in Vigo di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Mugon 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gran Mugon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Mugon Vigo Di Fassa, Italy - Province Of Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing