We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Kent
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful room”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Oh what a nice room. Such a big bed and a separate room for the third member of the family within the suite. I really enjoyed my stay in Room 12. The restaurant is just next door accessible from the Premier In without needing to go outside.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    54
    49
    32
    25
See reviews for
56
79
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I think it is safe to assume that this isn't a purpose build Premier Inn, lots of narrow hallways and staircases, although it didn't affect my stay. Just seems like the place could do with a bit of a makeover.

Service was slow on arrival but staff friendly enough.

Room was one of the smallest Premier Inn rooms I have stayed in and the bathroom was tiny. Shower cubicle could barely fit me in. One of the towels had loads of hair on it, so good job that two were supplied as the other was clean.

Service at the adjoining pub/restaurant was also quite slow but the food was served very quickly and was very pleasant.

No problems with parking or noise etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like a nice long shower, ask for a room with a decent sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,138 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Welcoming Receptionist.
Hotel needs to be modernised to have accessible access through the main door in Reception rather than through a side door of the pub.
Wheelchair users should be given the dignity of entering through Reception.
There may also be issues that some guests may not find it acceptable to come through licensed premises.
The 3 steps in the ground floor corridor have no warning markings .Altogether an inaccessible Hotel.
Pub attached had a queue of 20 waiting at the bar.Spend some money hire more staff.
Not enough plug sockets in the room.

Room Tip: Not suitable for the Visually Impaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We used the Pontefract South Premier Inn as a stopover on our way up to Scotland. The accommodation was fine, if showing a few signs of the very heavy wear and tear its clients subject it to (e.g. dirty work boots). Cleanliness was fantastic otherwise, as carpet apart, the place was spotless. The restaurant menu, on the other hand, left much to be desired. It was just one fry up after another. However, the staff came to the rescue by happily substituting healthier options so I got a decent meal in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Room was clean and comfortable. At the end of the day, these rooms are for sleeping in and not sitting in all day so they serve their purpose. Staff were very friendly and would ask about your stay etc. Breakfast was just what I needed after a night out, plenty there and beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hardly_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Every effort made!
I had last minute booked the last room in the hotel- a twin, however being a solo female traveller in line with Premier Inns policy to put single female travellers on at least the first floor, for our saftey, every effort was made to accommodate this. As it was it was so late this was not possible, this led to my room being up graded to put me right next to reception. - I felt very cared for.

Comfy bed
Clean room
Tired and dated bathroom
Great breakfast

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AussieAmy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a family funeral & we parked our car in the car park near the road and came out in the morning to find the windows smashed and serious damage to our car,

the staff were helpful and very supportive ( thank you ) but sad to say didn't seem surprised ! When the police attended & checked the CCTV

that part of the car park isn't covered ! Sadly on our 2nd morning we saw another poor customer dealing with exactly the same issue having parked in the same place. Again the staff were helpful but not surprised !

I spoke to the manager & suggested he needs to make people aware of the issue in that part of car park by putting up a sign , whilst he was polite but was clear that he didn't see it as his issue.

We are now faced with a very large repair bill.

As for the hotel the rooms were freezing as the electric heating kept tripping & the bathroom was Baltic !! The room was reasonably clean but everything about the place was so old and worn no one could have made it shine !

The wifi is awful and Absolutely no phone signal on O2 or vodaphone .

The staff are Absolutley fantastic though the were helpful polite friendly and went out of their way to help at every opertunity they deserve to work in an appropriate environment not the run down shabby unsafe excuse for a hotel !!! I bet Lenny Henry won't be staying here anytime soon ?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mncab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please be assured we take the security of our guests very seriously, unfortunately car crime is a national menace. While we have safeguards in place we are unable to completely irradiate theses issue, however please be assured we are working closely with the local police to provide the best security for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darrington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darrington
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
245 reviews
6.4 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Address: Great North Road, Darrington WF8 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Darrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darrington By Good Night Inns is situated within the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, close to the historical villages of Wentbridge and Badsworth. The hotel is conveniently located just 2 minutes from the A1, making it the ideal stop over for guests travelling to Pontefract, Doncaster and Leeds. Places of interest within easy access include The Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, Pontefract and Doncaster Race Course (famous for the St Ledger Race Meeting) and the popular entertainment complex Xscape. The hotel is also easy to get to from Pontefract train station. The Darrington pub in Pontefract, West Yorkshire is a popular Fayre & Square family pub restaurant and the ideal choice if you want to escape the hassle of cooking and enjoy time with your family and friends. Enjoy a traditional Sunday roast with the family, great pub classics like hand battered fish & chips, hotpots and juicy steaks cooked just how you like them – there is something to tempt everyone’s taste buds. Younger guests can enjoy our superb kids’ menu ideal for even the fussiest eaters! We also have a fantastic selection of wines, draught lagers and soft drinks to compliment your meal. We offer a great range of delicious meals & Square Deals, including our famous 2 for £10 meal range. So next time you are in Pontefract and looking for great value food every day of the week, we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontefract South Hotel Darrington
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing