We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Babes in the Wood

The Babes in the Wood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dewsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Babes in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Dewsbury B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Sunday lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My partner & I went for Sunday lunch only. The restaurant was small but clean. We ordered lunch which arrived within 5 mins. We could clearly tell it was all microwaved. Our veg was all dry crispy round the edges. Wasn't expensive but still very disappointing. The best part was our desert which was very enjoyable & tasty.
The staff are extremely friendly & helpful.
Next visit we'll order from main menu like we did before which was OK. Not from Sunday lunch menu.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked here b&b but kids just had toast,as not offered any choice of a cooked breakfast,just cereal & tea/coffee & toast,and as other reviewer said,was told when booked over phone was en-suite,but when arrived it was next door so had to go into corridor in nightwear,&yes i heard someone in it in the night as they broke toilet lid,so i could only hope my kids didnt get the blame! On arrival there were several small kids running amok upstairs near rooms/ bathrooms,i only assume they were pub landlords own kids or grandkids! (Theyd blocked loo so i mentioned it to landlady.theyre a friendly lot though and pub food is good and wholesome,and were still serving it after it said they do.its basic but cheapish so its ok for a stopover if youre out visiting all day,as we do.Not got much sleep 1st night as pub tap room underneath us and open till v.late,plus front rooms are near main rd traffic.overall tho not worst place ive stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here on 16th June for a family get together the staff was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble the food was excellent rooms was very clean and high standard there was a separate kitchen were we could make our own drinks we found this very clean and was great to talk with the other guests that was staying there we had a cooked breakfast that was stated on the website at £5 extra and it was outstanding I would highly recommend this place to stay I would also like to say I really disagree with the previous comment as maybe this lady was expected to stay at a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracymerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here recently on local recommendation but what a disappointment. Not at at all organized when we arrived. Had booked b&b with ensuite. Given a room with separate bathroom for private use but others used it!! Cooked breakfast was priced extra but we could make tea and toast in a separate room. This was dirty so not desirable. Room adequate, recently decorated but not with pretty bedding as photographed! Since discovered change of partnership so possibly standards lost. Ideal location perhaps for an overnight traveller or contractors working in local area but not a good standard for couples

Room Tip: Cannot recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

this pub with guest rooms was recommended to me by the new bride to be of stephen horsfield.
i stayed here for 3 nights during the wedding.
jerry the owner and chief cook and bottle washer could not have been more helpful.
the rooms are clean and airy and there is a separate guest room wher you can make tea and coffee and various cereals.
there is a separate resturant next to the bar.
there is a kareoke night on fridays that is run by one of the bar staff , who just happens to be an excelent singer too

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

great staff and friendly atmosphere , good value and a warm welcome

a good little bed and breakfast pub with an excellent shower, the rooms where clean and tidy and nothing was to much effort for the staff i would recommend this a value place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matty-b71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Came in with the family and had Sunday lunch special! Good food and value!! Cheaper than cooking at home! Would recommend for friendly service and a family atmosphere. Saw they did a Steak night on a Friday, get a baby sitter and going to try, will keep you informed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
2.2 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Babes in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Babes in the Wood

Property: The Babes in the Wood
Address: 1039 Leeds Road | Woodkirk, Dewsbury WF12 7HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dewsbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Babes In The Wood Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing