We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolpack Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We picked Dewsbury with a finger on the map on our way to Harrogate for an overnight stop to see friends and with the help of Trip advisor we thankfully found the Woolpack Country Inn.
We were looking for somewhere where we could relax, enjoy some good food, each other’s company and enjoy a good atmosphere and we found it. With the help from Ian his wife and the team, we were greeted shown to our rooms which are separate from the main building so nice and quiet, they were clean with a modern feel and a comfy bed (what more could you want). We had dinner reservations booked and had a lovely meal which was made with good local fresh produce.. delicious. Ian also accommodated my love of cheese with a perfect cheese board for dessert (not on the menu), and the whole evening had a great atmosphere.
I awoke with a spring in my step and I don't know how but still hungry and looking forward to breakfast, which was lovely... fresh eggs from the chickens as well!!!
A big thanks for making our impromptu stop memorable, we will be back.

Room Tip: I dont think It would matter as all 10 rooms appear to be seperate from the main building but wer we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    25
    10
    20
See reviews for
40
108
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was looking for a traditional country pub for an evening away and am thrilled to have found the Woolpack. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was well decorated and spotlessly clean and the people were warm and friendly. We ate an evening meal and breakfast and both were delicious with good portion size and fresh ingredients.
The Inn is an excellent base to visit the local attractions such as Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Mining Museum and the surrounding area is beautiful. I cannot recommend a stay here highly enough and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpackcountryinn, Owner at Woolpack Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon.

Ian & Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Only stayed one night, but will defiantly be returning. Was greeted by the landlord Ian, he was very welcoming and instantly made you feel like you were a regular. The atmosphere in the pub was good, found it hard to leave to go to our party. Tidy room, quiet and comfortable. Very good breakfast and nothing was to much trouble. Would 100% recommend. Just a Shame the weather was so miserable as we would have gone for a walk and returned for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Found the Woolpack by accident and what a pleasant suprise. Rooms and pub area are spotlessly clean and tidy. The food was very good being both reasonably priced and very good portions. The staff are extremly helpful and friendly and we have no hesitation recommending this establishment, we will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnbGrimsby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Ian and Claire make a huge effort to cater for your every need.. friendly and funny, truly lovely place!.
Food good,evening meal and breakfast, 7 of us and no complaints. Rooms are well decorated and very clean. Prices very good. Totally didn't expect this little gem.. I won't be staying in a travel lodge again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great accommodation , neat , tidy and clean . Great staff , very polite and helpful . Great food , tasty and well presented . I would recommend the Woolpack to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Woolpack! The staff could not have been more welcoming, and accommodated our every need (including adapting the menu to suit my fiancées requests). Drinks are reasonable and the bar is warmed by a proper log fire. A perfect retreat we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
3.2 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.8 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Metro Inns Huddersfield
#16 of 17 in Huddersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Property: Woolpack Country Inn
Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing