We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolpack Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plain and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Boutique this is not and perhaps the better for it. Welcoming, clean, comfortable, inexpensive and straightforward. Food is good, service discreet and situation quietly out of the way. Yorkshire sculpture park easily reached as is Wakefield and the Hepworth Museum. For a stop-over or short break it is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noredtram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    66
    25
    10
    20
See reviews for
41
108
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked into the Woolpack Inn from 16th September to 20th September, but we felt so comfortable and relaxed there we arranged to stay a further few days. James, Helen, Rob, Nathan and Stacy. and Jason the chef, were brilliant hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. My wierd eating habits were catered for without a fuss, and my favourite wine was replenished regularly!
The locals, old and young all praised the pub, and the way it had been turned around in the last few months, lovely friendly people, as were all the other guests, who only had a good word to say for the Staff and acommmodation.
My husband and I had the best, most relaxing holiday in many years at the WI.
We would certainly highly recommend to anyone, any age.
Excellent value for money, and couldn't fault a thing.
We wish you Guys all the best in the future at the Pub, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed 1 night as part of a 'package' deal to include dinner and breakfast for £99. The room was adequate although I was disappointed that the accomodation is seperate to the pub/dining area which meant we got wet walking between the two! The rooms are also facing a very busy road so expect plenty of traffic noise.The food was good although the service was sluggish even though there was only one other couple dining....we waited nearly 20 minutes to be served with coffee! We were told that the dinner portion of the 'package' provided us with a £40 credit which we assumed (incorrectly!) would include food and drinks, however, to our surprise the owner presented us with an additional bill for drinks even though we had spent significantly less than the £40 on our food! When I challenged this the owner relunctantly agreed to include the drinks as part of the £40 credit. My advice would be to 'pay as you go' rather than pay the dinner cost up front to avoid this situation.
Finally, the guttering above room 105 leaks when it rains causing the rainwater to bounce off the window sill keeping us awake for several hours until the weather abated!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

On arrival I must admit it wasn't the quaint country inn I imagined, but rather a refurbished eatery pub with accommodation. The room was a good size and had all the amenities you need, although like a previous poster has commented it was disappointing that the TV was the size of a postage stamp :0( and the mattress was not very comfortable! However, on the plus side it did have it's own entrance so you can come and go as you please, which is a huge bonus for me. We ate in the pub for our evening meal and the fish and chips I had, were the best I have ever tasted and good value too. I was unable to eat a full breakfast in the morning (I was still wedged from the meal the night before) so asked for poached eggs on toast. I was hugely disappointed that the toast came out spread with margarine! A big NO NO in my opinion! All in all, for a night's stay it was value for money and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AHoneybun121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

stayed 2 nights on Bed & Breakfast rate and received excellent value for money. Clean well appointed room with very helpful staff. Also, the cooked to order breakfast was very good. We also chose to eat our evening meals in the bar and again found the food to be well cooked and excellent value for money. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d21b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

You get what it says in the tin! A comfortable room, nicely (though not lavishly) furnished with all the amenities you need - hair dryer, toiletries, en-suite, spare pillows. Only complaint would be the size of the tv ... The screen is actually smaller than my laptop! However, it is cleaned and refreshed daily.

The breakfast was not generous but was ample and was freshly cooked to order - always a bonus.

Real value for money. We were visiting family in the area - so we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are in am annexe and so are slightly distanced from the pub. We had a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHEILA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Me and my family decided to go to The Woolpack for Sunday Lunch, for my daughters 21st. We arrived in the pub and were immediately greeted by a very friendly chap behind the bar. We were promptly shown to our table and the gentleman behind the bar kindly brought our drinks to our table. We all enjoyed 3 course Sunday Lunch and were all extremely impressed! It was not at all what one would expect for only £12.95. The starters were not only a generous size but also wonderfully presented and tasted delicious! Main course was served from carvery so we could all help ourselves to as much as we wanted- Our eyes were all too big for our tummys of course! Then we all enjoyed desserts- all obviously homemade and again well portioned! Personally I would recommend Sticky Toffee Pudding!! Fantastic meal for a fantastic price and excellent service- definately recommend and will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
3.2 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.8 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Metro Inns Huddersfield
#16 of 17 in Huddersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Property: Woolpack Country Inn
Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing