We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The two big pluses for this establishment are the friendly service and the accommodation itself. W were greeted by a very friendly young man who booked us in and showed us to our room. This friendly service continued throughout our stay. We stayed in the family room which comfortably housed a double and two single beds. Many places shoe-horn in extra beds but this was very spacious. The room was very clean and tidy and totally met our needs. Breakfast was freshly cooked and by enjoyable.

This inn proved that you don't have to be a city centre four star hotel to be able to provide an excellent stay - service is king and this place has it in spades.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    67
    25
    11
    20
See reviews for
44
115
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for two nights, as it was close to dewsbury. Room was outside pub, quiet and clean . Nothing flash. Good basic pub food, not overpriced. Staff friendly.and accessible my pet peeve however shower over bath,needed to be a gymnast to get into it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

why is this place not packed to the rafters........
we stayed here on a friday night as a last min booking.
we arrived quite late and was shown to our room by a really nice guy that was on the bar. we were surprised by the room as it had its own access in the little court yard. the room was dated but clean and had everything we needed.
friday night is steak night 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £25 absolute bargain. i had a steak which was cooked perfect and hubby had the chicken which was beautifully cooked.
fully cooked english breakfast was good too. the guys that were serving were very polite and friendly, food was very good, yes i would stay again as the service and food made up for the tired rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently stayed at the wooly for 2 nights whilst visiting friends in Dewsbury - lovely quiet rural location & places to visit were easily accessible by car. The room was great value for money & very cosy... Almost seemed like a small apartment rather than 'just a room'. As for the food, we only sampled breakfast due to being out all day/night but both mornings it was lovely, fresh & well cooked! The staff & locals were friendly & welcoming so would certainly recommend it for a visit! We will almost certainly be back to stay when next heading 'Up North!'

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped off on or way to Scotland. It was a good choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very good. The steak we had for supper was good.Breakfast was also very good Excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My partner and I were visiting in the Yorkshire area and choose the Woolpack for an overnight stay. It was a good choice, and we were very pleased. The room was nice, the food excellent and the staff friendly.

We would certainly go back and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were in the area for a concert and decided to stay a couple of nights to visit york as well.
On arrival we decided to eat and the food was lovely. I had fish & chips and my other half had a burger. They were good portion sizes and tasted delicious. Our room was clean and furnished to a good standard, although not luxurious. We did have an issue with the noise from upstairs however. Every time the person moved the floor creaked which woke me up in the evening when they came in and the next morning when they got up. If you stay here I would ask for an upstairs room! Also the tray in the room was not replenished which meant we could not have a drink when we woke up in the mornings. Breakfast was well cooked and although the plate wasn't overloaded what was there was lovely. The service was a bit hit and miss however as we had to ask for juice glasses to have a drink and then the juice ran out. However the staff were friendly and overall I'd say it was good for the amount we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
3.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
284 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
314 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
237 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Property: Woolpack Country Inn
Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing