We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolpack Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Charlton Mackrell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great welcome, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only stayed 2 nights, clean, comfortable, good staff, good food. We would stay again. The guinea pigs were a hit with our 5 year old.
Spacious family room, on the road but not busy at night- the only thing was the squeaky floor above....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    25
    10
    20
See reviews for
40
108
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The two big pluses for this establishment are the friendly service and the accommodation itself. W were greeted by a very friendly young man who booked us in and showed us to our room. This friendly service continued throughout our stay. We stayed in the family room which comfortably housed a double and two single beds. Many places shoe-horn in extra beds but this was very spacious. The room was very clean and tidy and totally met our needs. Breakfast was freshly cooked and by enjoyable.

This inn proved that you don't have to be a city centre four star hotel to be able to provide an excellent stay - service is king and this place has it in spades.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for two nights, as it was close to dewsbury. Room was outside pub, quiet and clean . Nothing flash. Good basic pub food, not overpriced. Staff friendly.and accessible my pet peeve however shower over bath,needed to be a gymnast to get into it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

why is this place not packed to the rafters........
we stayed here on a friday night as a last min booking.
we arrived quite late and was shown to our room by a really nice guy that was on the bar. we were surprised by the room as it had its own access in the little court yard. the room was dated but clean and had everything we needed.
friday night is steak night 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £25 absolute bargain. i had a steak which was cooked perfect and hubby had the chicken which was beautifully cooked.
fully cooked english breakfast was good too. the guys that were serving were very polite and friendly, food was very good, yes i would stay again as the service and food made up for the tired rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently stayed at the wooly for 2 nights whilst visiting friends in Dewsbury - lovely quiet rural location & places to visit were easily accessible by car. The room was great value for money & very cosy... Almost seemed like a small apartment rather than 'just a room'. As for the food, we only sampled breakfast due to being out all day/night but both mornings it was lovely, fresh & well cooked! The staff & locals were friendly & welcoming so would certainly recommend it for a visit! We will almost certainly be back to stay when next heading 'Up North!'

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped off on or way to Scotland. It was a good choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very good. The steak we had for supper was good.Breakfast was also very good Excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My partner and I were visiting in the Yorkshire area and choose the Woolpack for an overnight stay. It was a good choice, and we were very pleased. The room was nice, the food excellent and the staff friendly.

We would certainly go back and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
3.2 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.8 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.2 mi away
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Metro Inns Huddersfield
#16 of 17 in Huddersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Property: Woolpack Country Inn
Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing