We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Mirfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regret”
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Ate here last night - Bank Holiday Saturday. The place was very quiet, which should have aroused our suspicions.

Food was average, although highly priced.

Service was dreadful - lots of staff busy doing nothing.

Ate up, drank up & got out of there within an hour.
Disappointing use of an all-too rare night out without the kids.

Went to the Flowerpot in Mirfield to salvage a bit of the evening.
Would not recommend the Woolpack - avoid.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fluidfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    66
    25
    11
    20
See reviews for
42
112
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DEWSBURY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

My Husband & I had a Sunday lunch there 26.11.06. It was terrible. The beef we had was virtually raw and tough. No one came over to us to see if the meal was ok. We just sat stoney faced. The owner did eventully come to us. An explanation was given that it was a bad piece of beef and they would be sending it back to the supplier and to be reimbursed. We did not get a penny piece back!!!!!!. The vegetable were very nice but went cold very quickly. The desserts were fine - best part of the meal. The service was very slow and served by nothing more than kids. We will not be going there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank niceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2006

I retired from work in July 2006 and booked a meal for 12 at this Inn. From the moment I arrived it was a great evening - complimentary drink, excellent service from the manageress, chef , bar staff and waitresses, and good food (apart from an ice cream turning out to be a sorbet) My vegetarian friend spoke with the chef and agreed a dish that was specially prepared for her, and was, she said, one of the best meals she had had at a restaurant.
A thoroughly good, memmorable evening.

  • Liked — The Ambience
  • Disliked — Car park across the lane
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good_Food_Researcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2006

My wife and I stayed overnight here and found it to be everything a traditional English Inn should be. Friendly staff, (especially the attractive landlady), good food, attentiveness, understanding at us arriving late and a spacious comfortable en-suite room where we slept like the dead after a long and tiring day.
Would highly recommend to anyone wanting an out of town location (I've already done so to family members).

Suggestions to improve: Update room fittings eg: taps and handles. Add vanity surfaces.

  • Liked — Style - traditional English inn
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have a detailed map of the area
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballybrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge. west Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2006

I have just had the misfortune to eat with four friends at this inn. When you see the prices on the menu, you expect a certain standard of service that was just not evident here. The food was very poor. Small portions served virtually dry (no sauces) by inexperienced young staff. My vegetarian friend was seved a dish containing chicken (which he ate a piece of by mistake) and the soup of the day was termed as carrot & coriander. in fact, it tasted like breakfast orange. Very disappointing soup at £4.00 a bowl! The manageress was made aware of the chef's gaff (chicken in a veggie meal) and yet still thought it was okay to charge the full price for all the meals. I was very dissapointed and will not be returning to this inn for food again.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank swimwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewsbury
3.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
103 reviews
4.0 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
282 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Healds Hall Hotel
Healds Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Liversedge
292 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
779 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Country Inn

Property: Woolpack Country Inn
Address: Whitley Road | Whitley, Dewsbury WF12 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Dewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolpack Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Country Inn has featured on the West Yorkshire landscape since the 1700’s. Still a traditional village Inn today, offering home cooked, locally sourced food in recently refurbished, cosy, surroundings. Our peaceful, village location is perfect for those wanting to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday living. With 10 en-suite bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Woolpack Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Country Hotel Dewsbury
West Yorkshire Country Inn
Country Inn West Yorkshire
Woolpack Country Inn Dewsbury, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing