We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing classy place!”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this fantastic boutique Bed & Breakfast after seeing a glowing review for it in the Irish Independent earlier this year.

We booked directly with Myles & David through their website & they were always prompt with replies on any queries we had.

It is situated less than an hour inland from Malaga in the picturesque town of Archidona.
Myles arranged for us to be picked up at Malaga airport as we did not want to hire a car.

The house is less than a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Plaza Ochavada - the octagonal plaza in the centre of the town.

There are many eateries around the Plaza - the best one we found was Bar Central.
Almohalla 51 has an arrangement with local eateries so that when you spend a certain amount on food - your wine is complimentary!

The town itself is lovely to walk around & very safe - be sure to walk to the hilltop church of The Sanctuary of the Virgen de Gracia, it's a good 30 minutes uphill but the views of the town when you reach the summit are stunning (picture attached).
The church too is beautiful.

We found the locals very friendly even though we do not speak any Spanish!

The House itself is a restored building - you can see the amount of time & effort that was put in to making it such a special place - a labour of love!

Myles & David are brilliant charming hosts who will give you all the advice you need on the locality.
The bedrooms are beautiful - you can choose whichever room you like by looking at it's website then emailing to guys to check availability.
We choose Room 1 with it's stunning beams.

There is a lovely terrace & an upper pool area which is an oasis of calm (picture attached).

Wi-Fi is available free of charge throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in the Dining Room during the cooler months & outside during the summer - lots of freshly baked bread/ fresh fruit/ yoghurt with honey/ grilled Spanish ham with tomatoes/ eggs whichever way you want them!

Myles also arranged transfers from Almohalla 51 to Antequerra (20 mins away) at the end of our visit as we were getting a train to Sevilla - by the way this is a beautiful 2 hour train journey through the Olive Groves.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough - we only stayed for 3 nights & in hindsight we should have stayed for longer!

Thank you Myles & David - we look forward to returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esquired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted a few days away from the Costa del Sol and selected Almohalla 51 based on TA reviews. Despite the small size of the town, Almohalla 51 competes with the best B&B s in more cosmopolitan locations. David and Myles have a created an oasis of understated comfort in Archidona. They have tastefully brought back to life two dwelling houses. A renovation that manages to maintain Andalucian rustic charm while still providing all the modern conveniences we now demand as travelers. Our bedroom was lovely and the public rooms and pool area are a great bonus. The breakfasts are excellent. But as always it is the little things you remember like getting met off the bus by David, being welcomed by a roaring log fire and the friendly, helpful emails ahead of our arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Almohalla in September of this year. It was the most relaxing welcoming place I think I've ever been to. David and Myles are the most thoughtful hosts who think of everything, this leads you to feel they have been running the little gem of a hotel for many years not just a few months. The room was more than comfortable with everything you'd expect and some great extras; iPod Dock station was great addition! It was also very difficult to get out of the extremely comfy bed every day :)

Archidona itself is a lovely little town, very typical of the region with some great local restaurants! There are other town a short drive away but we didn't venture out a great deal, as we were very happy slowly exploring everything the town had to offer.

At the end of our stay we were given a guest feedback card. We were meant to write (amongst what we enjoyed) what we felt could be improved at Almohalla 51, and we drew a blank. I honestly couldn't think of anything to improve.

If your planning a relaxing get away; a trip of good food, welcoming people and a beautiful place to stay , you cannot go wrong with Almohalla 51.

Duncan and Lucy

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A wonderful small hotel that exceeds expectations and fully deserves all the glowing reviews. Book it now..........what can you be waiting for?
By the way, Archidona is a great little Spanish town with a nice selection of bars and restaurants. Barely an English word heard as we pottered around. Very friendly & welcoming. We'll definitely be returning to Almohalla 51.

Room Tip: All looked lovely. Not all the rooms have baths but the showers are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrogoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hosts were extremely helpful and very easy to deal with. Breakfasts great, dinners excellent. Lovely room at front of house (we weren't bothered by traffic).
We wanted two relaxing days: with David and Myles' help we exceeded our expectations.
Enjoy your stay(s).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are traveling to the Andalucía area, and looking for something central, rustic, charming, and an exceptional stay - Almohalla 51 is perfect. Located in Archidona, you will definitely experience authentic Spanish food and culture with plenty of places in walking distance to eat and drink. Almohalla 51 itself is a charming boutique B&B that is cozy and inviting. The décor is country and chic, the bed was extremely comfortable (best night sleep during our 2 week tour of Spain), and their terrace with a pool was a great place to just lounge and relax. In all the B&B's my husband and I have stayed at, Myles and David were the most wonderful hosts we have encountered. They provided information on all places of interest out of town, and in town, they made themselves available for anything you could possibly need, but didn't hover. They even helped us reserve our train tickets for a few days later, it seemed nothing was too much trouble. They served an excellent breakfast each morning on the patio, fresh coffee, fruits, bread and jams, meats and cheeses and your choice of eggs - any way you like them. The B&B is situation within an hours drive to Malaga, Cordoba, and Granada - which Myles and David will provide turn by turn directions for you. They do not have a private parking lot, but there is plenty of free street parking next to the B&B. We didn't want to leave, and wished could of spent the rest of our trip at Almohalla.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, it had a private bathroom that included a shower and tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is utterly gorgeous, the scenery was stunning and the owners are charming. My boyfriend and I couldn't of asked for a better place to finish off the summer. Not to mention, the town itself is beautiful and the breakfast was lovely.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
7.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
10.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
812 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#6 of 15 in Antequera
130 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
213 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing