We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
267
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts attention to detail honesty bar fresh fruit eggs local restaurants few days southern spain places to visit each morning malaga airport warm welcome perfect stay spanish town delicious breakfast an oasis comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this fantastic boutique Bed & Breakfast after seeing a glowing review for it in the Irish Independent earlier this year.

We booked directly with Myles & David through their website & they were always prompt with replies on any queries we had.

It is situated less than an hour inland from Malaga in the picturesque town of Archidona.
Myles arranged for us to be picked up at Malaga airport as we did not want to hire a car.

The house is less than a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Plaza Ochavada - the octagonal plaza in the centre of the town.

There are many eateries around the Plaza - the best one we found was Bar Central.
Almohalla 51 has an arrangement with local eateries so that when you spend a certain amount on food - your wine is complimentary!

The town itself is lovely to walk around & very safe - be sure to walk to the hilltop church of The Sanctuary of the Virgen de Gracia, it's a good 30 minutes uphill but the views of the town when you reach the summit are stunning (picture attached).
The church too is beautiful.

We found the locals very friendly even though we do not speak any Spanish!

The House itself is a restored building - you can see the amount of time & effort that was put in to making it such a special place - a labour of love!

Myles & David are brilliant charming hosts who will give you all the advice you need on the locality.
The bedrooms are beautiful - you can choose whichever room you like by looking at it's website then emailing to guys to check availability.
We choose Room 1 with it's stunning beams.

There is a lovely terrace & an upper pool area which is an oasis of calm (picture attached).

Wi-Fi is available free of charge throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in the Dining Room during the cooler months & outside during the summer - lots of freshly baked bread/ fresh fruit/ yoghurt with honey/ grilled Spanish ham with tomatoes/ eggs whichever way you want them!

Myles also arranged transfers from Almohalla 51 to Antequerra (20 mins away) at the end of our visit as we were getting a train to Sevilla - by the way this is a beautiful 2 hour train journey through the Olive Groves.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough - we only stayed for 3 nights & in hindsight we should have stayed for longer!

Thank you Myles & David - we look forward to returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esquired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted a few days away from the Costa del Sol and selected Almohalla 51 based on TA reviews. Despite the small size of the town, Almohalla 51 competes with the best B&B s in more cosmopolitan locations. David and Myles have a created an oasis of understated comfort in Archidona. They have tastefully brought back to life two dwelling houses. A renovation that manages to maintain Andalucian rustic charm while still providing all the modern conveniences we now demand as travelers. Our bedroom was lovely and the public rooms and pool area are a great bonus. The breakfasts are excellent. But as always it is the little things you remember like getting met off the bus by David, being welcomed by a roaring log fire and the friendly, helpful emails ahead of our arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Almohalla in September of this year. It was the most relaxing welcoming place I think I've ever been to. David and Myles are the most thoughtful hosts who think of everything, this leads you to feel they have been running the little gem of a hotel for many years not just a few months. The room was more than comfortable with everything you'd expect and some great extras; iPod Dock station was great addition! It was also very difficult to get out of the extremely comfy bed every day :)

Archidona itself is a lovely little town, very typical of the region with some great local restaurants! There are other town a short drive away but we didn't venture out a great deal, as we were very happy slowly exploring everything the town had to offer.

At the end of our stay we were given a guest feedback card. We were meant to write (amongst what we enjoyed) what we felt could be improved at Almohalla 51, and we drew a blank. I honestly couldn't think of anything to improve.

If your planning a relaxing get away; a trip of good food, welcoming people and a beautiful place to stay , you cannot go wrong with Almohalla 51.

Duncan and Lucy

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A wonderful small hotel that exceeds expectations and fully deserves all the glowing reviews. Book it now..........what can you be waiting for?
By the way, Archidona is a great little Spanish town with a nice selection of bars and restaurants. Barely an English word heard as we pottered around. Very friendly & welcoming. We'll definitely be returning to Almohalla 51.

Room Tip: All looked lovely. Not all the rooms have baths but the showers are great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrogoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hosts were extremely helpful and very easy to deal with. Breakfasts great, dinners excellent. Lovely room at front of house (we weren't bothered by traffic).
We wanted two relaxing days: with David and Myles' help we exceeded our expectations.
Enjoy your stay(s).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews