We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Relaxation”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Perfect place for some luxury grown up relaxation.

David and Myles have got it spot on. Fantastic hosts, fantastic fresh food and an amazing house!!

We never ventured further than the local town, spending most of our time by the pool, bathing and reading. If your looking for the perfect getaway and an amazing nights sleep, well you just found it.

Thanks guys, we loved it.

Ian and Aimee

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJocksEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came across this boutique hotel when looking for a tranquil spot earlier this Summer. I still can't believe what an incredible find Almohalla 51 is and how lucky we were to spend a week here in August. David and Myles absolutely deserve all of the glowing holiday reviews (and Sunday Times), the hotel is a hidden getaway, a stunning sanctuary they have created that we have only wonderful memories from.
From initial email contact, to meeting on arrival, David and Myles were the perfect hosts!! They have mastered the balance of being completely attentive without being fussy or over the top. They have lots of information on trips and things to do, from restaurants, to interesting days out. Nothing is too much trouble for them and each interaction is warm and welcoming.
The hotel is located in Archidona, a beautiful and very authentic Spanish town. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk up hill from the centre, where there is a vast selection of Spanish restaurants and some bars. The food in each restaurant is delicious, in the week we were there, we tried new places each day for lunch and dinner. We met lovely people at the hotel and found ourselves going out for dinner with different people each night - I cannot stress out relaxing the hotel is. We were also lucky enough to enjoy the Feria Festival during our stay, which means more food, and a Spanish party like atmosphere for a few days in Archidona.
The hotel itself is beautiful and takes you back in time, rustic Spanish interior design but with the cool modern comforts that include an ipod dock in your room, power shower and unbelievably comfortable bed - my boyfriend and I were in room 4, and had the best sleep of the year on those 5 nights! The decor is stunning, benefitting from extra inside communal spaces and the gorgeous roof terrace with pool. The daily breakfast is definitely worth mentioning too, from delicious poached eggs, local ham and cafetiere coffee and fruits, each day we were beyond spoilt!
The hotel is perfectly located to explore lots of the surrounding areas including Malaga, Granada and Cordoba, or should you wish to, just enjoy the relax at the hotel. My boyfriend and I had high hopes of exploring such sites, but once the relaxing kicked in by the secluded terrace pool, we found it very hard to tear ourselves away, managing only one day trip!!
David and Myles also arrange massages on site, where a masseus comes in one day a week. All options are very reasonably priced - the indian head massage was wonderful!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough - David and Myles are the perfect hosts, the hotel is beautiful in a stunning authentic Spanish location. It really is the ideal sanctuary, and we are looking forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeekerSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having read a great review in the Sunday Times we decided to book ourselves in for a few days. Frankly the review didn't go far enough, David and Myles have created the perfect getaway. A lovely place run by lovely people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked Almohalla 51 hardly believing that the reviews could be true - but what we found on our 5 day stay was so much better than that! From the moment we made our enquiry to our final day when David accompanied us to the car with our luggage, everything was perfect. The accomodation - indoor and outdoor spaces and bedroom - is beautiful. The attention to detail from David and Myles - who were never intrusive but always around to provide just what we needed - ensured that we made the most of our time in Archedona and the surrounding area. So many little personal touches from beginning to end, which make you feel you are really welcome. We absolutely loved our stay - we rarely 'go back' but there is absolutely no doubt we will this time! in fact we can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this fantastic boutique Bed & Breakfast after seeing a glowing review for it in the Irish Independent earlier this year.

We booked directly with Myles & David through their website & they were always prompt with replies on any queries we had.

It is situated less than an hour inland from Malaga in the picturesque town of Archidona.
Myles arranged for us to be picked up at Malaga airport as we did not want to hire a car.

The house is less than a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Plaza Ochavada - the octagonal plaza in the centre of the town.

There are many eateries around the Plaza - the best one we found was Bar Central.
Almohalla 51 has an arrangement with local eateries so that when you spend a certain amount on food - your wine is complimentary!

The town itself is lovely to walk around & very safe - be sure to walk to the hilltop church of The Sanctuary of the Virgen de Gracia, it's a good 30 minutes uphill but the views of the town when you reach the summit are stunning (picture attached).
The church too is beautiful.

We found the locals very friendly even though we do not speak any Spanish!

The House itself is a restored building - you can see the amount of time & effort that was put in to making it such a special place - a labour of love!

Myles & David are brilliant charming hosts who will give you all the advice you need on the locality.
The bedrooms are beautiful - you can choose whichever room you like by looking at it's website then emailing to guys to check availability.
We choose Room 1 with it's stunning beams.

There is a lovely terrace & an upper pool area which is an oasis of calm (picture attached).

Wi-Fi is available free of charge throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in the Dining Room during the cooler months & outside during the summer - lots of freshly baked bread/ fresh fruit/ yoghurt with honey/ grilled Spanish ham with tomatoes/ eggs whichever way you want them!

Myles also arranged transfers from Almohalla 51 to Antequerra (20 mins away) at the end of our visit as we were getting a train to Sevilla - by the way this is a beautiful 2 hour train journey through the Olive Groves.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough - we only stayed for 3 nights & in hindsight we should have stayed for longer!

Thank you Myles & David - we look forward to returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esquired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted a few days away from the Costa del Sol and selected Almohalla 51 based on TA reviews. Despite the small size of the town, Almohalla 51 competes with the best B&B s in more cosmopolitan locations. David and Myles have a created an oasis of understated comfort in Archidona. They have tastefully brought back to life two dwelling houses. A renovation that manages to maintain Andalucian rustic charm while still providing all the modern conveniences we now demand as travelers. Our bedroom was lovely and the public rooms and pool area are a great bonus. The breakfasts are excellent. But as always it is the little things you remember like getting met off the bus by David, being welcomed by a roaring log fire and the friendly, helpful emails ahead of our arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Almohalla in September of this year. It was the most relaxing welcoming place I think I've ever been to. David and Myles are the most thoughtful hosts who think of everything, this leads you to feel they have been running the little gem of a hotel for many years not just a few months. The room was more than comfortable with everything you'd expect and some great extras; iPod Dock station was great addition! It was also very difficult to get out of the extremely comfy bed every day :)

Archidona itself is a lovely little town, very typical of the region with some great local restaurants! There are other town a short drive away but we didn't venture out a great deal, as we were very happy slowly exploring everything the town had to offer.

At the end of our stay we were given a guest feedback card. We were meant to write (amongst what we enjoyed) what we felt could be improved at Almohalla 51, and we drew a blank. I honestly couldn't think of anything to improve.

If your planning a relaxing get away; a trip of good food, welcoming people and a beautiful place to stay , you cannot go wrong with Almohalla 51.

Duncan and Lucy

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
35 reviews
7 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
217 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#5 of 6 in Archidona
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Escua
Hotel Escua
#3 of 6 in Archidona
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Santo Domingo Rural
#1 of 2 in Archidona
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing