We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
262
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsattention to detailhonesty barfresh fruiteggslocal restaurantsfew dayssouthern spainplaces to visiteach morningmalaga airportwarm welcomeperfect stayspanish towndelicious breakfastan oasiscomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Perfect place for some luxury grown up relaxation.

David and Myles have got it spot on. Fantastic hosts, fantastic fresh food and an amazing house!!

We never ventured further than the local town, spending most of our time by the pool, bathing and reading. If your looking for the perfect getaway and an amazing nights sleep, well you just found it.

Thanks guys, we loved it.

Ian and Aimee

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJocksEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came across this boutique hotel when looking for a tranquil spot earlier this Summer. I still can't believe what an incredible find Almohalla 51 is and how lucky we were to spend a week here in August. David and Myles absolutely deserve all of the glowing holiday reviews (and Sunday Times), the hotel is a hidden getaway, a stunning sanctuary they have created that we have only wonderful memories from.
From initial email contact, to meeting on arrival, David and Myles were the perfect hosts!! They have mastered the balance of being completely attentive without being fussy or over the top. They have lots of information on trips and things to do, from restaurants, to interesting days out. Nothing is too much trouble for them and each interaction is warm and welcoming.
The hotel is located in Archidona, a beautiful and very authentic Spanish town. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk up hill from the centre, where there is a vast selection of Spanish restaurants and some bars. The food in each restaurant is delicious, in the week we were there, we tried new places each day for lunch and dinner. We met lovely people at the hotel and found ourselves going out for dinner with different people each night - I cannot stress out relaxing the hotel is. We were also lucky enough to enjoy the Feria Festival during our stay, which means more food, and a Spanish party like atmosphere for a few days in Archidona.
The hotel itself is beautiful and takes you back in time, rustic Spanish interior design but with the cool modern comforts that include an ipod dock in your room, power shower and unbelievably comfortable bed - my boyfriend and I were in room 4, and had the best sleep of the year on those 5 nights! The decor is stunning, benefitting from extra inside communal spaces and the gorgeous roof terrace with pool. The daily breakfast is definitely worth mentioning too, from delicious poached eggs, local ham and cafetiere coffee and fruits, each day we were beyond spoilt!
The hotel is perfectly located to explore lots of the surrounding areas including Malaga, Granada and Cordoba, or should you wish to, just enjoy the relax at the hotel. My boyfriend and I had high hopes of exploring such sites, but once the relaxing kicked in by the secluded terrace pool, we found it very hard to tear ourselves away, managing only one day trip!!
David and Myles also arrange massages on site, where a masseus comes in one day a week. All options are very reasonably priced - the indian head massage was wonderful!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough - David and Myles are the perfect hosts, the hotel is beautiful in a stunning authentic Spanish location. It really is the ideal sanctuary, and we are looking forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeekerSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having read a great review in the Sunday Times we decided to book ourselves in for a few days. Frankly the review didn't go far enough, David and Myles have created the perfect getaway. A lovely place run by lovely people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked Almohalla 51 hardly believing that the reviews could be true - but what we found on our 5 day stay was so much better than that! From the moment we made our enquiry to our final day when David accompanied us to the car with our luggage, everything was perfect. The accomodation - indoor and outdoor spaces and bedroom - is beautiful. The attention to detail from David and Myles - who were never intrusive but always around to provide just what we needed - ensured that we made the most of our time in Archedona and the surrounding area. So many little personal touches from beginning to end, which make you feel you are really welcome. We absolutely loved our stay - we rarely 'go back' but there is absolutely no doubt we will this time! in fact we can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked this fantastic boutique Bed & Breakfast after seeing a glowing review for it in the Irish Independent earlier this year.

We booked directly with Myles & David through their website & they were always prompt with replies on any queries we had.

It is situated less than an hour inland from Malaga in the picturesque town of Archidona.
Myles arranged for us to be picked up at Malaga airport as we did not want to hire a car.

The house is less than a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Plaza Ochavada - the octagonal plaza in the centre of the town.

There are many eateries around the Plaza - the best one we found was Bar Central.
Almohalla 51 has an arrangement with local eateries so that when you spend a certain amount on food - your wine is complimentary!

The town itself is lovely to walk around & very safe - be sure to walk to the hilltop church of The Sanctuary of the Virgen de Gracia, it's a good 30 minutes uphill but the views of the town when you reach the summit are stunning (picture attached).
The church too is beautiful.

We found the locals very friendly even though we do not speak any Spanish!

The House itself is a restored building - you can see the amount of time & effort that was put in to making it such a special place - a labour of love!

Myles & David are brilliant charming hosts who will give you all the advice you need on the locality.
The bedrooms are beautiful - you can choose whichever room you like by looking at it's website then emailing to guys to check availability.
We choose Room 1 with it's stunning beams.

There is a lovely terrace & an upper pool area which is an oasis of calm (picture attached).

Wi-Fi is available free of charge throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in the Dining Room during the cooler months & outside during the summer - lots of freshly baked bread/ fresh fruit/ yoghurt with honey/ grilled Spanish ham with tomatoes/ eggs whichever way you want them!

Myles also arranged transfers from Almohalla 51 to Antequerra (20 mins away) at the end of our visit as we were getting a train to Sevilla - by the way this is a beautiful 2 hour train journey through the Olive Groves.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough - we only stayed for 3 nights & in hindsight we should have stayed for longer!

Thank you Myles & David - we look forward to returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esquired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews