We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”
Review of Taray Botanico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taray Botanico
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orgiva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel Botanico is a nice little hotel with beautiful views of the mountains.The staff although not speaking a lot of English were patient and helpful, nothing seemed to much trouble.Very good breakfast and and lunch served outside with views of the maountings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heddytopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Taray Botanico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my second stay at this delightful hotel in Orgiva, the hotel offers tranquility and great views of the surrounding mountains, it's perfect for short or long stay with friendly and accommodating staff and a lovely restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Eladio is a charming host. Ever helpful and eager.
The Taray has an amazing breakfast spread. Clean rooms. Lovely pool. splendid garden. Super meals too,

Its very close to the town of Orgiva if that's where you want to be - i cant imagine why you would want to leave the hotel at all :)

100% reccomended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace if he has it free. Its lovely to watch the stars at night :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiK-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Hotel Botanico is a lovely little hotel with beautiful views of the mountains. Last week we returned from a 16 day road trip around Spain. We stayed in a variety of places on the coast and in the mainland and of the 14 hotels we stayed I can honestly say that this was both mine and my wife's favourite. We found the manager/owner Eladio to be very gratious and all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, our room was spotless and the dinner and breakfast we had in the restaurant were both superb. May I recommended the wine we chose, by Barrancos Oscuro, which was so good that I had to locate one of the only two distributers I could find in Spain (in Seville). There were wonderful views from the terrace outside of our room and the terrace stepped down into a beautiful little orchard full of fruit trees. We also found a small lake and small holding with animals and of course the two lovely swimming pools (one big pool with a shallow bit in the middle really). This place is a lovely top end guest house / small country hotel and we will definitely be back next time we are in that part of spain. This area of Granada is stunning and has wonderful roads and scenery (perfect for touring in a classic car). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My brother and I (60 years and 70 years) were on a long weekend climbing trip. After a bad hotel experience in Malaga we were delighted with the Taray Botanico. Our apartment was clean with lounge, bedroom (E/S) and roof terrace. The hotel was well laid out in a splendid garden with large pool. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant which we used every night was excellent in cuisine, choice and value for money. The view from the roof terface in an autumn dawn was worth the tarriff all by itself.

Room Tip: No problem. Lay-out gives all rooms equal views of garden and mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I can only warn you to STAY AWAY. The owner was extremely hostile/aggressive to me/my wife & 5 month baby. I had to physically remove him from our room, even then he forced the door open & continued shouting within inches of my wife/baby. I physically moved him again & he said he would call the police. We packed up/left immediately. He went crazy after I asked politely if the fridge could go colder to chill baby's breast milk, and if the air con could go cooler as it appeared to not work. **Please don't risk ruining your holiday and please do not give this man your money**. This is seems to be a regular problem here if you read other reviews, I see 3 times. The 'junior suite' was v.small, dark, hot and had spiders. The pool looked milky/dirty.

Room Tip: Air Con is very poor. Junior Suites are very small/hot. Spiders in room. Pool milky/dirty.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We ate at the Taray, which is now noted in the Michellin Guide. The food was excellent, and extremely good value. It would seem that they price meals based on the cost of the ingredients to them (rather than what they can get away with charging), as there is a wide variation in prices (6 Euro's for beautiful swordfish for example), but the quality is the same.

The setting for dinner is tranquil, the service good, and at the overall cost, this is, I would suggest, the best value restaurant in Orgiva, if not the wider region.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orgiva
4.3 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirasol
Hotel Mirasol
#3 of 3 in Orgiva
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
5.9 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
90 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario de Lanjaron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taray Botanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taray Botanico

Address: Carretera A - 348, 18, 18400 Orgiva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Orgiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orgiva
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taray Botanico 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hotel authentic, high quality. It is located in La Alpujarra, with incredible landscapes where you can relax and enjoy a stay you will never forget. We hope you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taray Botanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taray Botanico Granada
Taray Botanico Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing