We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, if a little quirky”
Review of Hotel Mirasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirasol
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orgiva
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Some other reviews were posted during a massive refurbishment of the adjoining bar and understandably less than enthusiastic.
For the area the hotel is reasonably priced and operates to a standard well above its 2 star Rural rating. At 30-40 euros for a double room it comapres very favourably with the 68-90 offered by the only competition. Which, to be fair has grounds and pool.

If one doesn´t speak Spanish it is important to make a note (preferably initialled by whoever does the deal) of any special deals struck if one is to avoid misunderstandings. Caveat Emptor rules apply as everywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights in late December and appeared to be the only guests. The staff were friendly enough and the basic double room, which had a tv and en suite bathroom was clean - but overpriced at 45 euros compared to the other places we stayed during our trip. Being awoken by the noise of workmen shovelling rubble into a skip via a shute was an unwelcome feature of our stay. They are rennovating the cafe attached to the hotel; once finished this might improve the slightly odd ambience of the place.

Orgiva has a vibrant market on Thursdays which brings out both the townsfolk and contingencies of New Age traveller types. God only knows where the crowds disappear to once the market packs up...by evening time the town is unnervingly quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel because I had a quite displeasing experience there. I came with my little son to ask about the rates:

The woman on the reception answered: Do you need a single or a double room?
I: A single is enough.
She: The normal rate is 35, but as you have a little child, I give it for 25 Euros.
I: That's great, thanks a lot.

Then she filled in a paper and let me sign. There she mentioned a rate of... 35 Euros. I was shure that this was only formal, because 1 minute before, she assured me to give the room for 25. I got the key and the room was... a double room. That was strange, but of course, I only used one of the beds as I only had ordered a single.

The next day another woman was at the reception. When I gave her 25 Euros, she became immediately very, very unfriendly. In the end, I had to pay 35, as I could not proof the arrangment of the day before. She was not even willing to telephone her colleague.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mondialisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed at this hotel to go to the Thursday market in Orgiva.

The hotel is a very nice hotel in typical Spanish style - marble everywhere! We got a room on the 4th floor (room 402) which had a very large bedroom, fairly large bathroom and a huge terrace where we saw an amazing sunset.

Everything was clean but the bathroom could do with a little TLC (a missing wall tile and the shower curtain should be replaced).

The room was inexpensive too - 45 Euros/night.

Unfortunately Orgiva didn't fill us with any sense of wanting to stay there for the original two nights we'd planned. We wanted to see Spain without the expats (ie avaoiding the Costa del Sol) and this place is full of New Age expats from the South East of England! Luckily we were able to escape after only one night without having to pay for the second.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pixxie_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorena31586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Manolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orgiva
0.2 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
340 reviews
5.6 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#2 of 4 in Capileira
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
6 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Balneario de Lanjaron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirasol

Address: Avenida Gonzalez y Robles 5, 18400 Orgiva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Orgiva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orgiva
Price Range: £36 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirasol 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mirasol Hotel is a family run hotel situated just 50 meters from the center of Órgiva. From here there are stunning views of the surroundings of The Alpujarra and its breathtaking mountains. The Mirasol Hotel has 15 functional rooms, simply furnished, arranged over 5 floors. The rooms are very spacious, have bathrooms with bath, air conditioning, heating, flat screen TV and free WiFi. The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting La Alpujarra and do many activities such as horseback riding, hiking, biking (BTT) and quads. At the reception, open 24 hours, you have available all kinds of information about activities. Órgiva is well connected by dirt road with the coast of Motril and the capital, Granada. By public bus the journey takes about 30 minutes to Motril and 45 minutes to Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mirasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing