We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic! Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
The Stables, Manor Farm, TIngrith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tingrith, Bedfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Taipei101
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great property and very suitable for larger groups. It was perfect for my group of 6 pax with 3 bedrooms. All rooms are ensuite and have a tv attached. Each room is suitable for 2 pax with 2 double rooms and 1 twin. The kitchen is very well equipped and suitable for cooking even for 6 pax. We arrived at the unit with a serious problem, no hot water!!! This was due to a faulty boiler. Claire, the owner forewarned us and was even agreeable to cancel the booking if we decide to reject the unit. However, we decided to stay on and was very glad we did. Claire and her husband tried their best to fix the problem and got parts delivered and repaired by handymen up to 8.30 pm at night. But the problem was fixed...we were so relieved and thereafter our holiday actually started!! The location of the unit is a bit far and a car is necessary to get there. It was not a problem for us as we had a rented car. The distance to the nearest supermarket was convenient as there is a huge Tesco at Flitwick, a nearby town, 8-9 minutes away. We got all our groceries and necessities from there. It is also close to the highways and we got to St Albans easily (this was our destination but decided to stay out in the farmlands). We loved the rustic feel of the converted stable and it was comfortably warm throughout our stay. Whiskers the cat was good entertainment (we had to get him out of our stable many times!) but he is such a lovely cat (22 years old grandfather cat). Thank you Claire for a lovely stay. The brownies were delicious and thank you for providing the extra milk! Highly recommended for a comfy and rustic stay!! Go for it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unit is very comfortable and rustic. All amenities provided and even had wifi. The young ones loved it.
Liked least: Maybe upgrade the cooking utensils (an electric frying pan would be great!!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank v
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay at the Stables. Kind owners who helped us getting our flat car tyre repaired in the weekend after 5pm. Bedrooms are spacy en each have their own comfortable bathroom. TV and wifi works fine. From the Stables we have been to London several times. Drive to London Edgware, park all day for only four pounds at the Broadwalk shopping Centre and take the tube to central London. If you travel by plain choose London Luton instead of London Stansted because that's at least an hour drive and depending on the traffic on the M1/M25/M11much longer. Oxford and Cambridge both are about an hour drive. A car is a need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: three spacy bedrooms each with its own bathroom and great showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, would definitely stay again”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Claire and David for making us feel so welcome. The Stables are absolutely gorgeous, beautiful decorated and maintained. The welcome pack of milk bread etc were great and the brownies a hit! It was the perfect place to stay and made my 50th birthday celebration with my twin brother even more special.

Having ensuite bathrooms with each bedroom saved a lot of arguments with 2 teenage children!!!!!! They are all beautiful appointed. The beds were amazing, soft luxury linen and towels.

For anyone who wants a home away from home The Stables is it. The proof in the pudding was being able to cook a meal for 8 people!!!!!

Again, thank you so much for a wonderful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, and the way it was presented and decorated
Liked least: Nothing- couldn't find a fault
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grockles6...
Haute Pyrenees
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Following our 10 day stay at the end of June, we are a bit mystified as to why The Stables has consistently been awarded top marks on Trip Advisor (particularly as one of the reviewers lives just down the road in St Albans).

It certainly isn't horrible, but neither does it warrant effusive praise. We would have awarded three stars but for the fact that it took one note, an e-mail and a week to recover our security deposit.

We booked The Stables as it fulfilled several criteria: its close proximity to Bedford, where our daughter was getting married, space to entertain other family members and room to store decorations & wedding gifts for the reception.

Before we arrived the owner advised us that there would be nobody around when we got there, but gave instructions on how to access the property, which was fine. The cottage is spacious, and pretty clean and there was a welcome package of bread coffee, etc., which was a nice gesture. On closer inspection however, there are certain elements that made our stay less enjoyable than it otherwise could have been.

There are three bathrooms in the property - great for families - but all three smelt damp, the shower screen in the master suite leaked badly and each shower needs a good steam-clean. Also, the lighting was terrible, and the towels provided were so rough, it was like trying to dry yourself with a Rivita.

In the sitting room, which is a great space and could have been lovely, the couches are SO uncomfortable, we ended up sitting at the dining table.

The kitchen is well-equipped, but the kettle is lethal - it leaks badly when you lift it after it has boiled.

Our main gripe is that we were not made to feel like welcome guests. On three different occasions, by three different people (the owner and various other family members) we were asked on which date we would be leaving (only once were we asked if everything was OK - but not if we were enjoying our stay) and on the evening prior to our departure, the owner's husband decided that it would be appropriate to start strimming and mowing (loud and unneccessary) the guests' lawn right outside the property at eight in the evening.

In conclusion, The Stables is an economical alternative to a Premier Inn-style experience and for a weekend, it's fine, but if we were asked if we would stay there again, then the answer would have to be no.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spacious
Liked least: Inhospitable hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
I can only apologise The Stables did not live up to your expectations. I would have welcomed the opportunity to correct the problems during your stay. I shall certainly ensure that the matters you raised are dealt with. It is paramount to both my husband and I that our guests have an enjoyable and trouble free stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
Allenwood, Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a long weekend at The Stables and cannot give anything but praise for the accommodation, the location and Claire and David for their hospitality.

The location is ideal, close to the motorway but without any noise issues, handy for shops in the next village and set in a beautiful village. The accommodation was spacious, clean and very well equipped. We were easily able to entertain friends who visited with the well equipped kitchen and spacious living area. The rooms were all fantastic, each with en-suite equipped with superb power showers.

Our only regret was that we could not have stayed longer and would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was very clean and fresh and welcoming
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbHudde...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean,quiet and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal for family group,close to M1 motorway but peaceful and rural location. Good for local attractions - Whipsnade Zoo was excellent for all ages and Bletchley Park very interesting and well presented. Attractive countryside such as Woburn park and Dunstable Downs.
Accommodation is well furnished,clean and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal for short break
Liked least: No washing up liquid
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wjdeedee
St albans
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent value, great find would recommend”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this as a 3 night stay for myself and husband, and family with 3 young children. Accomodation is spacious, clean, room for kids to play and garden fenced off. The owner ensured our stay got off from the start. Milk, bread, butter, tea, sugar was ready for our arrival and much to the grandchildrens delight a tin of home made shortbread. This accomodation was cheaper than us all staying in hotels for few nights with added benefit of space and garden for the young ones. Would highly recommend for those attending functions nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space , all rooms were big with en suites
Liked least: leaving, could easily move to property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing