We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Missing it already!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Stylish, comfy Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stylish, comfy Living room
Kitchen - Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Stylish, comfy Living room
Kitchen - Diner
Open plan Kitchen
Entertainment Room with Wood burning stove, Darts & Karaoke!
Cosy-up with the wood-burning stove
Upstairs......
The bedrooms sleep 9 plus sofa bed sleeps an extra person
Master bedroom with en-suite
Bathroom with corner bath and dressing table
Bedroom 2: Hollywood Bedroom
Bedroom 3: Double bed with bunk beds
The bunk beds!
Luxury tiled shower room
Hot tub and patio
Hot tub and seating
Private garden
View of property
Shotover Park - a short walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Horspath, Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirby2806...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Missing it already!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

There aren't enough good words to describe the weekend we spent at ferndale house.
The house is beautiful, the garden is lovely. Short drive to Tesco and we didn't visit the pubs but they're only a 2 min walk away so location was great.
There were 9 of us and not once did we feel cramped, the rooms are so spacious. The beds were comfy and the sheets smelt lovely.
We booked beauty treatments at the house and had Colin the chef cook our meal on the second night. The food was amazing!!
My only thought over the weekend was that we maybe could have benefitted from some bean bags or cushions in the conservatory, but this isn't meant as a negative at all.
We all had such a great time and would most definitely book again in a heartbeat, Thank You Ferndale House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandmaja...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The PERFECT House for the PERFECT Party”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Being the sister of the Bride, I had many responsibilities to throw the Hen Party of the Century for her so the pressure was on when searching for somewhere to go and what to do...

We came across Ferndale house and it immediately looked like the perfect hideaway (I mean - there was a hot-tub!) so I gave them a call! From that moment, my stress and worries disappeared as the helpful team gave me plenty of options to chose from and basically did the work for me us all!

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a friendly face and immaculately clean house. There is plenty of room for 10 hens and lots of activities which are there already for you (although we stayed away from karaoke!)

The Friday evening consisted of a Mexican themed evening finished by a relaxing session in the hot tub!

Saturday, all of the hens had beauty treatments which were thoroughly enjoyed by all - especially the bride! During treatments, we had afternoon tea and played some of the games provided by the house. then, at around 4pm, the lovely Colin came and took over the kitchen preparing a 5* three course meal for us all - we didn't have to worry about a thing - not even the washing up!

As you can see, we had a great weekend - I will say that the house is in a residential area so you have to have respect for the houses around you but this didn't affect the weekend of fun at all!

If you're the Maid of Honour looking for the perfect location for your hens - look no further!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilybath...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice, spacious house, great for large groups!”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house is perfect for large groups to get together - we were a group of 11 friends/family on a hen party and had plenty of space to hang out, eat together, and sleep. Hot tub and karaoke were great additional extras for our weekend!
Rooms are a mix of doubles, singles, bunk beds and sofa beds*/futons.
The 2 main bathrooms worked for what we needed during our stay (although some of the plumbing is quite loud!) and the kitchen area (although small) had all the amenities that we needed. There is plenty of space to dine/relax in dining area & lounge.
Booking was super easy and the owner (Sian) and housekeeper (Helen) were easy to get hold of to answer any questions in advance and during our weekend.
The house is in a large quiet cul-de-sac, but there was plenty of room to park on the driveway/surrounding roads. It is about a 20min car journey from oxford (taxi cost about £20 to the centre) - which meant it was easy to access the city and surrounding areas that we needed to get to.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casseymar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, home away from home.”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely two night stay at this great house. It was beautifully kept and clean. It was stocked with everything we needed, with a great fireplace and conservatory as a bonus, it felt like a home away from home. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic property! Beautifully decorated and perfect for our hen do. Suprisingly large house - we had every bed occupied and it didn't feel at all crowded. Hot tub and karaoke were great fun too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jfey1989
1 review
“Highly recommend for Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booked accommodation for 9 people for a hen do, everyone was gobsmacked when we arrived the house is pure luxury with an added bomb of a hot tub and games room! Only 15 mins from Oxford city centre and there is a lively pub on the corner. The house was well equipped with everything you could think of! I will be using again and will be recommending to others

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“A beautifully presented spacious house”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our hen weekend in Ferndale house.
It is lovely, clean, well equipped with lots of living space and a lovely kitchen. There are 3 toilets and lots of mirrors which is essential for a group of girls!
We particularly enjoyed the lovely garden and luxury hot tub.
The owner was very helpful, and waited for our late arrival to show us round.
Oxford itself was great- lots of bars/restaurants and would thoroughly recommend the punting! Taxis in to the centre of Oxford were convenient, took less than 15 mins and cost about £20 per trip for a 8 seater.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing