We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent break”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We needed a short break and chose The White Horse at Sibton because we hadn't visited this part of the country for some years. The location was quiet and peaceful, the accomodation warm and comfortable, the food superb and the staff friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in an annexe a few yards from the Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    47
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
316
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our first visit to Suffolk and we were not disappointed. We had an extremely relaxing stay at The Sibton White Horse. It is in a peaceful setting and we were welcomed by the sound of birdsong and that of a busy woodpecker! The accommodation was very comfortable and we ate in the pub every evening. We were drawn by the pub's good food awards and we were duly impressed with the quality of the food each evening. Gill and Neil were were good hosts and their staff were wlcoming and helpful. We would definately go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just enjoyed 3 night break at this very warm and welcoming pub. Food was excellent and the service was very efficient. Room was very clean and large and you could hear the woodpecker every morning. Very quiet and peaceful area to stay. Would certainly recommend this inn if you want to visit Minsmere bird reserve. Many thanks to Neil and Gill for making us welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Sibton White Horse Inn is situated on a quiet road, a short walk from Peasenhall. The counrtyside around it is really quite lovely, and the Inn reflects the surroundings. Low beams, open fires and some good beer like Adnams (so my husband says, as I don't drink beer). The owners, Gill and Neil, are welcoming and chatty and made us feel from the outset that nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in (Room 4) is a moderately-sized double and - we found out afterwards - the smallest of the large bedrooms. Having said that, it was big enough...we only wanted it to sleep in! The room was comfortable and it had a great en-suite shower (very important!). They might need a man with a screwdriver to fix the hand-towel rail, though (it kept falling off when we dried our hands), and the top of the radiator in the bathroom was sticky and flecked with something - not sure what.

The food (probably the item that is top-most on our list when choosing where to stay) was mostly excellent. The only thing that didn't quite work for me was the mussels in cream - I had expected just a dash of cream in the wine stock/liquor, but it tasted as if half a tub of cream had been added. This was followed by some quite dry and over-cooked pork cheeks on a bed of risotto with cream, which I hadn't expected and which spoiled the meal for me somewhat.
However, it didn't stop me from giving it a 5, as ALL other meals we had were delicious (the fish and chips, for instance, were perfect and the sticky-toffee pudding is to die for) and I believe the score should reflect the overall experience...the place deserves a 5! It also hasn't stopped us booking again for their beer festival over the Jubilee weekend this year - a perfect place to eat, drink and be merry!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has twin beds. The other large rooms are doubles, some with a separate dressing area. I am no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjalee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We've visited the Sibton White Horse on quite a few occasions now. The food is excellent, as is the welcome and service. When people ask "where's a good place to eat?", the Sibton White horse is always the place we recommend first (and we're not ones to be satisfied easily!) The food really is outstanding and the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful, especially with Daddy 92 & in a wheelchair. The pub itself is beautifully un-modernised. It's impossible to speak highly enough of the landlord & landlady who obviously pick their staff very carefully. With perfect food served by friendly & efficient waitresses, it's such a treat.
Philip, Louise, Daddy & Chloe

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a really nice place to stay and eat. We normally are Suffolk self-catering cottage hard-cores, but decided this time we were coming to do some antique shopping and would stay in the inn and have our dinners cooked for us.

It was such a nice experience from the great view out to farmlands from our room to eating in the pub. The room is simply and tastefully done up with a bonus extra "office" room with a chair and desk. It was so quiet when we stayed. I think there may have only been one other occupied room.

The pub has a small cosy atmosphere that you would hope for in an English country pub. As a Canadian, I loved it, with the wood burning fires and locals coming in for a drink and listening to all the local news. Jill and Neil, the owners are the nicest couple, extremely hospitable. It was great to watch their teenage son sit at the bar in the one evening doing his Shakespeare homework (and asking for input/answers from other locals that came in). The staff that work for them all seem like a big family and were so extremely nice that my husband now wants to move out to Suffolk.

Now for the food... The food was absolutely amazing. The breakfast buffet has excellent fresh fruit, yogurt, nuts and dried fruit, along with cereals, jams and fresh squeezed juices. Then there is the hot breakfast which was excellent and had a vegetarian option (something I appreciate). This is included in the price of the room. We stuffed ourselves every day only to eat again in the evenings.

The food in the evening at the pub was even more amazing. We ate there 2 nights and I tried both the vegetarian options. Both were excellent, well thought out flavours and well rounded meals. I have to give 5 stars to the vegetarian soufflé! As a vegetarian and past sous chef, I thought the flavours absolutely amazing. It was one of those rare moments were you eat as slow as you can to just savour the flavours. My husband (the meat eater) had two evenings of good meat and absolutely loved the liver dish. As a result he has announced he is eating more meat again since coming home.

The Sibton White Horse Inn really is a great little place to stay, eat, and chat with the owners and staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We wanted to have a short break for my 40th Birthday as it's also Febrary 29th, so quite a big one! I really enjoy bird watching, so we decided to stay near RSPB Minsmere in Suffolk. We always rely on Trip Adviser reviews to get peoples honest opinions about accommodation. Our main requirement is a B & B with good quality accommodation, nice breakfast & off road parking. We did a search local to Minsmere & found the Sibton White Horse, which matched all our requirements, it had great reviews & a special offer for short breaks! The earliest check in is 2pm, we arrived a little early, but our hosts Neil & Gill were very welcoming. Neil advised us that the electricity wasn't working in the B & B accommodation, but we could take our luggage to the room. The electrician had been called, so we knew the problem was in hand. Neil apologised for any inconvenience caused & bought us a complimentry drink in the bar. We asked about locals walks to fill the afternoon & get some exercise, so Neil kindly printed of some information about a local 5 mile circular walk. When we arrived back from our walk we had power! We do understand problems like this can crop up, but it was resolved promptly. Our room was en suite, clean & spacious with a separate dressing room. Plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, complimentry toiletries & bottled water provided. We decided to eat at the Sibton White House Inn on the first night, the service & food were excellent including breakfast. If we go to Minsmere again we would consider staying at the Sibton White Horse again & thoroughly recommend it to others

Room Tip: Rooms clean & spacious, excellent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaH299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibton
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
10.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
990 reviews
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibton White Horse Inn

Property: Sibton White Horse Inn
Address: Halesworth Road, Sibton, Saxmundham IP17 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Sibton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibton White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sibton White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibton White Horse Hotel Saxmundham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing