We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the White Horse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed on the five site pitch behind the White Horse in our motorhome. We had a great welcome and had lunch on our first day - ham, eggs and bubble and squeek. Superb for flavour and quantity and it was only a lite lunch!!
We joined in the quiz night (Mondays only) and had a great night with locals and other campers.
On our last night we ate in the restaurant and were not disappointed. I had the crab and coriander risotto starter; my husband had the mushroom risotto - very creamy. I had the Pimms and mint jelly with ice cream and we shared a cheese board. There was a range of local cheeses, good biscuits and fruit also. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate that I only wanted a starter and a pud whilst hubby had main course and cheese.
We were very well looked after and it was a joy just to wander across the lawn - no worries about drink and drive.

Room Tip: We stayed in our motorhome but did get chance to look at the rooms and they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

The brochure looks good thats why i booked, but a bit disappointed on the outside when we arrived. Hotel room was ok, breakfast was great , good choice on menu . Gives you a start for the day. Dinner not so good, onion rings were just big fatty batter rings.hardly any taste of onion. The French apple tart was very poor, puff pastry with apple in the middle of it,can't believe the chef put his name to it. T.V. Didn't work to well. I think the chef might of left, perhaps that's why we were unlucky

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Not just a return visit but one of many made to this fabulous establishment. As always a very warm welcome and an offer to show us to our room. We had booked room 1 this time, 1 and 3 are our favourites although I have to say we have never stayed in the others. After settling in we went across to the pub for a drink before dinner, in no time at all we were in the restaurant eating a gorgeous meal. Oh the lamb just melts in the mouth and was worth every penny. On the second evening I had the duck which was every bit as good. The desserts are just something else, very difficult choice. The breakfast selection is amazing, you couldn't want for more.
All the staff are very friendly. The White Horse thoroughly deserves the recent award as the friendliest place to stay in East Anglia. We will return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with a garden view. What I really like is the fact that the accommodation is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for two nights in May 2012 and were made to feel welcome and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. An example of this is that we had my mother staying with us who is in her 80's. The staff took special care of her....her room was really warm and cosy and she had no stairs to climb. The food is really delicious, piping hot and generous portions and the breakfast is fabulous! We will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We ate here on a saturday evening - it was nicely busy. service was prompt and friendly. Starter of goats cheese fritter was tasty but expensive (3 marble size balls), the rack of lamb was so tasty with a garlic creme brulee that was unusual but delicious, side order of onion rings were the great (my husband doesnt nomally eat them,but polished off half). He had grey mullet which he enjoyed but didn't think worth the price.

It's a place for a treat rather than a regular haunt for dinner but my lamb was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eve-boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having read the reviews I was really looking forward to eating here.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the pub itself is very traditional and cosy. There was a lovely outside area and you could see the produce garden, just shows how keen they are. Service was very good.
However the food failed to meet expectation by quite a way.
My partner made better choices than me however he felt he couldn't see what all the fuss was about and felt it was just ordinary pub food. I had tempura which had thick batter and was unevenly cooked, a ribeye which was cooked in such a way to make its credentials pointless. It had a "boiled" texture and no caramelisation and it was overcooked, I had asked for medium. The chips were excellent onion rings quite oily.
My pud was a pannacotta with local strawberry and kiwi salad. The pannacotta was solid and rubbery the fruit less than one chopped strawberry and a half teaspoon of yellowing kiwi and a dribble of purée. overall unpleasant and miserly.
Shame really, must have caught them on a bad day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CBBDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, Gill and Neil, on our arrival, who were available at all times to help us out, if needed. We had a bedroom with a separate bathroom and separate dressing room so the accommodation was very spacious. The hotel was in a great location for local attractions and situated in very peaceful surroundings. The food was excellent. We would certainly recommend the White Horse Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibton
2.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
9.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
340 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Griffin Inn
Griffin Inn
#2 of 5 in Yoxford
108 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bell At Sax'
The Bell At Sax'
#7 of 23 in Saxmundham
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibton White Horse Inn

Address: Halesworth Road, Sibton, Saxmundham IP17 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Sibton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibton
Price Range: £98 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibton White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sibton White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibton White Horse Hotel Saxmundham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing