We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B with some flaws...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall we had a good 2 night stay at the White Horse Inn, using it as a base to visit the Shawsgate Vineyard which is about 6 miles away. (Vineyard experience is highly recommended, entertaining tour for those interested in wines and generous tastings).

With the White Horse there were positives and negatives as in any establishment. For the positives, the pub is in a quiet, pretty location, and the staff were unfailingly polite and friendly. The owner Gill was welcoming and friendly, also efficient with booking taxis for our trip to the vineyard (her husband had taken a short break so we did not meet him). The pub is old and atmospheric, with a newish outdoor seating and BBQ area ideal for families. The previous reviews about the pub not welcoming children were noted by us, and obviously this is probably a sore point with locals. The owners have put up a Child Policy document on the notice board outside to clarify matters but I suspect some folk have taken umbrage - children under 6 are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 6 p.m. The diners when we were there tended to be mature and the food is expensive so possibly small children running about has caused problems in the past (just guessing).

We had Room 3 @ £90 per night which was clean, nicely decorated, large bed, and good sized bathroom. The room however did have some maintenance issues being the mould around the windows which needs cleaning off and the window needs repairing and repainting. Blinds would be nicer than net curtains also, just personal preference. The mastic around the bath also could do with raking out and renewing with fresh mastic.

We ate at the restaurant both evenings, and the food is very good although there are some niggles. Some dishes such as the crab risotto and pork tenderloin were outstanding but the apple tarte tatin was very disappointing and not how it should have been. The goats cheese starter portion was a bit mean - 3 small balls of cheese. Breakfast was first class, no complaints whatsoever - fabulous granary bread which made the bread served at dinner seem all the more strange, it was sliced and not appealing.

Be aware the White Horse is in a fairly isolated village/hamlet and there is not much around. However, that will appeal to some who like tranquillity (like us). This B&B /pub is recommended and once the maintenance issues are sorted, our room would have ticked most of the boxes.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed for two nights at The White Horse, both Neil and Gill were helpful and friendly hosts. The room was very clean and well presented with a comfortable bed and pillows, nice extra's, bottled water also filter coffee was available to make in the room. The excellent breakfast was freshly cooked using good quality produce, there was plenty of choice, even the bread was homemade. Would recommend to people visiting the area and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Totally unsuitable for families. The garden is full of safety hazards with absolutely nothing for children. Landlord totally miserable and clearly couldn't be bothered. Don't be fooled by the lovely green field attached to the pub, it's not his. Food was expensive, chicken curry in particular was watery, luke warm and tasteless. Chips not on the menu because it was a Sunday. Overall you were made to feel awkward for being at his pub. 3rd time we have had a disappointing experience of a similar nature with and without children with us. Won't be a fourth.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tcoe573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having visited this pub many times over the past few years we were very disappointed today and will not be returning. If a pub does not want families there it should have a no children policy which is clear for all to see. If they do not want a party of six turning up unexpectedly for Sunday lunch they should have a booking only policy. We spent nearly £100 at this pub for Sunday lunch today and felt very unwelcome. We were there as a family as there was a family fun day in the next village (the pub were sponsoring this) and we thought it would be nice to have a pub lunch beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 31CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed on the five site pitch behind the White Horse in our motorhome. We had a great welcome and had lunch on our first day - ham, eggs and bubble and squeek. Superb for flavour and quantity and it was only a lite lunch!!
We joined in the quiz night (Mondays only) and had a great night with locals and other campers.
On our last night we ate in the restaurant and were not disappointed. I had the crab and coriander risotto starter; my husband had the mushroom risotto - very creamy. I had the Pimms and mint jelly with ice cream and we shared a cheese board. There was a range of local cheeses, good biscuits and fruit also. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate that I only wanted a starter and a pud whilst hubby had main course and cheese.
We were very well looked after and it was a joy just to wander across the lawn - no worries about drink and drive.

Room Tip: We stayed in our motorhome but did get chance to look at the rooms and they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The brochure looks good thats why i booked, but a bit disappointed on the outside when we arrived. Hotel room was ok, breakfast was great , good choice on menu . Gives you a start for the day. Dinner not so good, onion rings were just big fatty batter rings.hardly any taste of onion. The French apple tart was very poor, puff pastry with apple in the middle of it,can't believe the chef put his name to it. T.V. Didn't work to well. I think the chef might of left, perhaps that's why we were unlucky

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Not just a return visit but one of many made to this fabulous establishment. As always a very warm welcome and an offer to show us to our room. We had booked room 1 this time, 1 and 3 are our favourites although I have to say we have never stayed in the others. After settling in we went across to the pub for a drink before dinner, in no time at all we were in the restaurant eating a gorgeous meal. Oh the lamb just melts in the mouth and was worth every penny. On the second evening I had the duck which was every bit as good. The desserts are just something else, very difficult choice. The breakfast selection is amazing, you couldn't want for more.
All the staff are very friendly. The White Horse thoroughly deserves the recent award as the friendliest place to stay in East Anglia. We will return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with a garden view. What I really like is the fact that the accommodation is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibton
2.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
737 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
113 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bell At Sax'
The Bell At Sax'
#7 of 23 in Saxmundham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibton White Horse Inn

Address: Halesworth Road, Sibton, Saxmundham IP17 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Sibton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibton
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibton White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sibton White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibton White Horse Hotel Saxmundham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing