We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbara and Ashley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Fantastic inn which we would thoroughly recommend. Quiet location, rooms excellent and spotless. It was wonderful to be able to choose from a menu which was not normal 'pub grub' the food was superb and beautifully presented. Staff were friendly and helpful and obviously well trained. Despite the fact that Neil was coping on his own as his wife was away, we were very impressed with the fact that he would always stop for a chat on what was a very busy weekend for him - well done Neil!. Sorry, we didn't take any photos we always take the camera and forget to use it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 564barbaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Having read previous reviews we thought we would try it. We are so pleased we did. It is a fantastic pub with rooms, all excellent, spotlessly clean with everying you could wish for. The food is outstandingly good and the service superb. The hosts Neil & Gill set high standards and it shows, with both staff and customers happy. The no children policy is refreshing and more pubs, restaurants etc. should take note. Thank you for making our time with you so enjoyable, we will certainly be back, you are a hard act to follow.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

It is hard to find fault with the this property,which is highly recommended for anyone who wants B@B accomodation in a quiet rural area within easy reach of the many attractions in this part of Suffolk.The proprietors and staff were always friendly and helpful,and the food was excellent .In particular,the Breakfast menu was varied and more than adequate,and it was a pleasant surprise to have home made bread for toast. Our room was clean and well maintained and very roomy with a modern TV and en suite facilities.It was particularly pleasing too,that children were not allowed in the bar in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall we had a good 2 night stay at the White Horse Inn, using it as a base to visit the Shawsgate Vineyard which is about 6 miles away. (Vineyard experience is highly recommended, entertaining tour for those interested in wines and generous tastings).

With the White Horse there were positives and negatives as in any establishment. For the positives, the pub is in a quiet, pretty location, and the staff were unfailingly polite and friendly. The owner Gill was welcoming and friendly, also efficient with booking taxis for our trip to the vineyard (her husband had taken a short break so we did not meet him). The pub is old and atmospheric, with a newish outdoor seating and BBQ area ideal for families. The previous reviews about the pub not welcoming children were noted by us, and obviously this is probably a sore point with locals. The owners have put up a Child Policy document on the notice board outside to clarify matters but I suspect some folk have taken umbrage - children under 6 are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 6 p.m. The diners when we were there tended to be mature and the food is expensive so possibly small children running about has caused problems in the past (just guessing).

We had Room 3 @ £90 per night which was clean, nicely decorated, large bed, and good sized bathroom. The room however did have some maintenance issues being the mould around the windows which needs cleaning off and the window needs repairing and repainting. Blinds would be nicer than net curtains also, just personal preference. The mastic around the bath also could do with raking out and renewing with fresh mastic.

We ate at the restaurant both evenings, and the food is very good although there are some niggles. Some dishes such as the crab risotto and pork tenderloin were outstanding but the apple tarte tatin was very disappointing and not how it should have been. The goats cheese starter portion was a bit mean - 3 small balls of cheese. Breakfast was first class, no complaints whatsoever - fabulous granary bread which made the bread served at dinner seem all the more strange, it was sliced and not appealing.

Be aware the White Horse is in a fairly isolated village/hamlet and there is not much around. However, that will appeal to some who like tranquillity (like us). This B&B /pub is recommended and once the maintenance issues are sorted, our room would have ticked most of the boxes.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed for two nights at The White Horse, both Neil and Gill were helpful and friendly hosts. The room was very clean and well presented with a comfortable bed and pillows, nice extra's, bottled water also filter coffee was available to make in the room. The excellent breakfast was freshly cooked using good quality produce, there was plenty of choice, even the bread was homemade. Would recommend to people visiting the area and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Totally unsuitable for families. The garden is full of safety hazards with absolutely nothing for children. Landlord totally miserable and clearly couldn't be bothered. Don't be fooled by the lovely green field attached to the pub, it's not his. Food was expensive, chicken curry in particular was watery, luke warm and tasteless. Chips not on the menu because it was a Sunday. Overall you were made to feel awkward for being at his pub. 3rd time we have had a disappointing experience of a similar nature with and without children with us. Won't be a fourth.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tcoe573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having visited this pub many times over the past few years we were very disappointed today and will not be returning. If a pub does not want families there it should have a no children policy which is clear for all to see. If they do not want a party of six turning up unexpectedly for Sunday lunch they should have a booking only policy. We spent nearly £100 at this pub for Sunday lunch today and felt very unwelcome. We were there as a family as there was a family fun day in the next village (the pub were sponsoring this) and we thought it would be nice to have a pub lunch beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 31CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibton
2.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
737 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
113 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bell At Sax'
The Bell At Sax'
#7 of 23 in Saxmundham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibton White Horse Inn

Address: Halesworth Road, Sibton, Saxmundham IP17 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Sibton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibton
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibton White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sibton White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibton White Horse Hotel Saxmundham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing