We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blooming Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sibton White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Like other reviewers we havebeen drawn back to this excellent inn. We stayed for four nights in mid July taking in the al fresco Shakespeare play Taming of the Shrew on the Saturday evening which made for a very enjoyable evening. As always the service was excellent especially from the hosts, the food great and a good choice of real ales and wines. The accommodation has been improved year on year and is all you need being tidy clean and organised. The inn is surrounded by an array of amazing blooms and a kitchen garden which is the source of much of the fresh food on offer. I can only advise any reader to try it themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is our third review of Sibton White Horse, (previous 02/04/13 and 12/10/11) so it is perhaps natural to suspect some insider trading here. Not so, this is just an honest review following our recent July stay (three nights) at this endearing establishment. It’s like a magnet - it draws us back time and time again.

The downside of having experienced owner’s Gill and Neil’s hospitality is that you have a yardstick by which all other establishments will be measured. Apply that yardstick, and you’ll then understand why we keep returning to SWH.

Winter or summer, the rooms are welcoming, well equipped, comfortable, cosy, and absolutely spotless.

Dining is in either the dedicated dining room or in the bar area, both areas being relaxing and allowing you to soak up the atmosphere of a 16th century inn. Through the summer period there is an additional choice of dining al fresco on the terrace or in the garden.

The lunch and/or dinner menu is varied, with (usually) half a dozen or so specials. Chef James makes much of the home grown ingredients, making for a culinary treat. Food is a personal thing, so I shan’t make any particular recommendation, but suffice to say you’re guaranteed to find something to tickle your taste buds.

Staying at SWH is something you'll neither forget nor regret.

Brian and Sandy stayed as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slkher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Four of us stayed recently (rooms 1 + 4) with two of the party on holiday from Australia, one UK-resident Australian and a lonely Yorkshireman. We had the most marvellous time and have absolulely no negative feedback at all. Our hosts (Neil & Gill) couldn't have been more welcoming and generous with their time, despite one chef being on holiday. The food was consistently excellent thanks to Gill's skills in the kitchen.

Our rooms were inviting and had excellent showers (a must to Australians!) and were always clean and re-stocked. Even the hair dryer was of a good quality rather than the usually ineffective models in most other B&Bs.

The locals were also very welcoming when we 'door stepped' their quiz night and didn't laugh too loudly at our poor attempts at UK TV knowledge from the last century. Thanks guys.

Lastly, thanks Like (er...sorry Luke) for taking the time out from socialising with your friends to spending time talking to us oldies. We thoroughly enjoyed our chats.

Overall, we can't recommend the Sibton White Horse more highly for a relaxing break in Suffolk.

Room Tip: All rooms face away from the road so are quiet - if you like to have open windows, ask for an upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALCLS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a find, this place is brilliant ,we have just had a 4 night stay and cannot speak highly enough of the Sibton White Horse,well sited for visiting the area, our room was very clean with good quality furnishing, the shower was perfect , with a wonderful outlook to the grounds , very quiet with no road noise ,room (4). The quality and selection of the breakfasts ,not to mention Gill`s fabulous home made jams,followed by lots of choice for Dinner you really cannot want for more!
The service was seamless and superb. Will not look for anywhere else when visiting the area again.Thanks go to Neil,Gill and staff.

Room Tip: All room face the grounds away from the road so if you like a quiet good nights rest you will get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lindabaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

short 2 day stop. It was great. Room excellent everything you need. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was fantastic. Will definitely return.Area close for beach trips to East coast and nature reserves

Room Tip: try room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Once again another wonderful weekend at the White Horse, never dissapointed. The warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere, cheerful professional staff make everyone feel at ease from the start.
The rooms are spotless and very comfortable, well stocked hospitality tray means a hot drink is always available.
Breakfasts are always plentiful with something for everyone. We always dine in the evenings and we look forward to a freshly prepared, well presented and extremely tasty meal. Find it very hard to read negative comments regarding poor food and attitude. We have all become increasingly critical when we are away from home but in most cases if there is a genuine cause for complaint most businesses including this one will remedy the situation to ensure you will visit again.
Highly recommend the White Horse to everyone, its position means you get the best of the countryside for walking, but you are only 25 mins from the coast. How nice is that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having read the reviews I was really looking forward to eating here with family who were visiting from another part of the country. Our waitress was amazing and the outside area where we ate was pleasant.

However, the food failed to meet expectation by a long way and can't see what the fuss is about. The majority of our meals were mediocre but unfortunately one meal was inedible. The lamb was overcooked and in a way to make it's credentials pointless. The meat was overcooked and had the chewy consistency of a shoe sole.

We mentioned this to the waitress once we had finished our meal and she couldn't be more accommodating and apologetic and said she would pass this on to the Chef. After five or ten minutes the landlord emerged and this is when our time went from bad to worse. Rather than apologising regarding our experience he was extremely rude and told us that both he and the Chef had tried the meat and there was nothing wrong with it despite the whole party of ten trying to cut the meat!! Whatever happened to customer service?

Shame really, must have caught the landlord on a bad day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefoodiewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibton
2.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
9.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Griffin Inn
Griffin Inn
#2 of 5 in Yoxford
108 reviews
18.0 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibton White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibton White Horse Inn

Address: Halesworth Road, Sibton, Saxmundham IP17 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Sibton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibton
Price Range: £98 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibton White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sibton White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibton White Horse Hotel Saxmundham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing