We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, let down by restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Marijampole
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marijampole
Certificate of Excellence
Chaddesden Derby United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice hotel, let down by restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was well positioned for sightseeing around Marijampole, the first impressions were very good, with a modern lobby and reception, the receptionists were very efficient, and spoke very good English, (well done Skaisty) and checked us in very quickly. The room was very clean and modern, with a queen size bed, and plenty of wardrobe space, although this was not an issue, not carrying a lot of clothes (Ryanair) The view from our room on the sixth floor was very good, with views of the statues and fountains in the square and the park beyond, which was lit with coloured lights at night. The room was equipped with a safe, which was free to use, a minibar, which was on a trust basis, and a large shower room, with a good selection of soaps and shower gels etc. A slight disappointment was that the room did not have a maid service whilst we were there.
The stay was on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was quite adequate, with a good section of cereals, fruit, cheeses etc, and also hot food - bacon, sausage, eggs and also boiled vegetables, the only downside was that the coffee ran out, and it took a long time to get a further supply.
There was a restaurant in the hotel for evening meals, this unfortunately turned out to be a Pizza restaurant, so if you didn't want pizza it was a trip to an outside restaurant, which we did on the second and last nights stay. Cost wise, this was a nice hotel, for comparatively small outlay, and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Marijampole, with the caveat if you have a car, parking can be a little fraught, although some minor repairs were being carried out on the car park at the time, but the hotel also acts as a convention centre, and during the day it is extremely blocked up. There is a very nice glass lift that runs up the outside of the hotel, but it appears that the only people that can access it are the candidates going to the top floor centre - pity really, it would have given further views of the city.

Room Tip: room 610, facing the square and parks, very scenic, and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
15
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked the hotel for one night during the via baltica crossing, and found the hotel and the stuff really great. It is located in the center of the town, well, hotel is the center of the town, in front of a big market. Got big room to accomodate two adults, one child and one infant. Room had a big bathroom too.
We got free access to SPA, unfortunately no services where available that saturday night so only hot tub, two sauna types and fitness was available.
Surprisingly nice was the hotel restaurant and terrace on the ground floor. Great food selection, great service, good beer and from our point of view, really, really cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pai500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Absolutely nice 1 night stay. With my husband we have decided to stay there over the night while travelling to Poland.
Check in went really smoothly. We got spacious room which was clean and well equipped. The only thing I was missing was bottled water. For the one available you gotta pay 3euros per bottle.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, probably even overdoing their job by smiling at you all the time and having small talks with all guests. Nothing bad about it, but maybe some can find it annoying;)
Breakfast was basic, tasty with OK coffee. Everything was nicely served and nothing was missing (we ate few minutes after their opened restaurant's door).
In general I warmly recommend the place for business trips and stays during travels. Otherwise there is nothing to do, town is really tiny.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed in the very cold winter time, so the most important advantage is a really warm room, which is a huge advantage in comparison with mostly terribly cold hotels in Lithuania.
The hotel is very well located in the town center, facing the main square. This is a modern 8 floors building, the guest rooms are located in the 4th - 8th floors and have nice city views.
The hotel featured a contemporary interior, really good and moderately priced SPA facilities in the 3rd floor, also a lobby bar and cozy restaurant Pizza Jazz in the ground floor. There is a spacious free car parking in front of the hotel's entrance.
The room is quite compact, but clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated, very comfortable bed, a big work-desk and a fridge with a minibar.
The staff is very kind and courteous.

To be unbiased, I must point the negatives too:
- insufficient water pressure all time, so it's very uncomfortable to use a shower;
- no towel heater in the bathroom, so the bathroom is cold (had to bring a portable electric heater);
- insufficient lighting in the room: only two weak lamps: one at the work-desk, another at the bed, so there is the twilight all time, when I always prefer the brightness.

Overall the positive things certainly outweigh the negatives, so can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libra1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Europa Royale Marijampole hotel is not only in the centre of the city. It is in many ways the centre of the city. Marijampole is the 7th largest city in Lithuania (or something like that). We spend a night there on our tour around the country. The city is a cosy, with a small city centre - rebuild after 2. World war. Currently they are investing a lot in new pedestrian streets etc., so soon it will look fantastic. The hotel itself has a great view over the city. The rooms are average of city but you find everything you can expect. Flat screen TV with international TV channels, wireless internet for free. For a small fee you can get access to sauna and spa (we did not use this opportunity). There is a restaurant at the hotel - Pizza Jazz. It is actually a chain that you find in different cities in LT, but quite okay. Food is cheap but absolutely worth the money. Spend a bit extra on a bottle of wine instead of the house wine and get a real good deal. They money we spend compared to what we got where small. High quality and low prices. That was the right combination. I would not say that Marijampole offers a waste number of attractions so we kind of felt that the hotel was the centre itself of the city. For sure worth a visit. Staff was nice, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper Schou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 night. It's a nice place. It's located in the center. Room was big and clean. TV has many channels in Lithuanian, English, Polish, French an Russian. There is a safebox in the room. There is a restaurant (not bad) on the 1st floor. 2 minutes walking there is a big supermarket (Maxima). Wireless Internet works fast. Breakfast was good. But fee for using the fitness corner is not included in a room rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Nice and clean hotel and really good restaurant, overall compared with rest of Marijampole restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marijampole hotels
6.3 mi away
Rezidencija Grizulo Ratai
Rezidencija Grizulo Ratai
#2 of 2 in Marijampole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eiva Hotel
Eiva Hotel
#2 of 5 in Marijampole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 5 in Marijampole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Keta
Keta
#1 of 5 in Marijampole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Zilina
#2 of 5 in Marijampole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Vingis
Hotel Vingis
#3 of 5 in Marijampole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marijampole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marijampole

Property: Mercure Marijampole
Address: J. Basanavichiaus a. 8, Marijampole 68308, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Marijampole County > Marijampole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marijampole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marijampole 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star MERCURE Marijampole hotel located in the center of the city. 47 state-of-the-art modern hotel rooms available for the memorable stay. Marijampole Hotel offers top quality services. Popular restaurant 'Pizza Jazz' located at the premises. 3 conference rooms for your business and social needs. Relaxing SPA & fitness center facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Lastminute and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Marijampole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing