We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to chill!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok
suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to chill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

After returning from a 2 week ski across the Finnmark plateau, the lodge was the perfect place to finish. We enjoyed the warm welcome, incredible rooms, delicious breakfast and dinners and fantastic puppy training sled rides!
A quality place with a great heart. Thanks for having us. We would come again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank localshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    1
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Paulowna, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hahahahhahaa is a way to let others know i still have a smile on my face from my stay here.

This place is great. Along with Sven and Liv (Sven's daughter) we had a amazing time.
We have done just about every day activity that was available.

From Reindeer herding to cross country skiing and from snowshoe hiking to dog marching.

The cabin was really cosy and nice.
A bit hard to keep warm during -30 celsius, but that is mostly our lack of woodburning experience ;-). Some cabins have running water and others do not. A real "back to basic experience" if you don't count the WiFi and electricity.
And with the dogs howling and barking in the background you can only be happy. They do not do that all day long by the way and most of the night they are quiet.
The night after our stay here we started howling ourselves just for the sake of getting that special feeling again.

Food was great. Eventhough we cooked ourselves for most of our stay.

Luckely this is not a place for people that don't like the outdoors, nature and dogs. So that makes it a very nice place.

Room Tip: If you book via booking.com or something simular, please contact the Farm. They can then prepare a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

wonderfull place where you can be an ''artic explorer with your own dog team'' but in safe hands with your guide. the cabins are exellent with woodburners and all handcrafted furniture , meals are eaten in the communial dinning area where the home cooked food is 5*****...take a trip up to the mountain huts with your guide and experience Silence...starry skies and tme to draw breath from the stress of modern living ( i'm going back in january 3rd time) eric malcolm

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docker164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A family of 5 we stayed one night on our road trip around Norway this August. The welcome was great - the owners daughter and Thomas answering all our questions and welcoming us like we were their only visitors ever.
We loved the cabin, We were at the edge of the site in a lovely woodland setting, and I was so happy sitting on the handcrafted swing o the porch with a glass of wine in hand. it was really warm with the wood burner. We did need to walk to the bathroom - but it was a great bathroom - and spotless - and the short walk was no problem as always something else to notice. Once the boys were asleep we enjoyed looking through the lovely books in the cabin. Everything indside is handmade and rustic and lovely. We self catered but of we had been there as a couple we would have eaten in the small restaurant especially breakfast- it is more of a dining kitchen but beautiful.

Our boys adored the puppies and the dogs - we watched them go off on a training run in the morning and we were allowed to pet the remaining ones. The huskies did a bit of a howl just before bedtime - we recorded it as i was a great experience - no more sound from them until feeding the next morning at 10 I think.

If the weather had been better and our youngest son not had a plaster cast on his arm we would have done their kayak trip however our stay there was impromptu and we couldnt linger too long.

It was the best place we stayed by far and just the peace, the people and the huskies made it a highlight of our trip. I long to return, maybe a husky sled trip!

Room Tip: They will show you the cabins for you to choose from any that are free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Dont let the title mislead - the husky dogs were very quiet and did not disturb us in any way. This place is magical - set in a wooded haven just outside of Karasjok. Our cabin was the Danskar which has ensuite facilities. Sven Engholm has truly created a wonderland here. We enjoyed every minute of our stay including the two meals which Thomas prepared for us - moose one night, reindeer the other - both delicious. The cabin itself was astounding - it and everything in it made with natural materials and the attention to detail was amazing. We kept thinking - right we will catch him out - he will have missed something - but no. Everything you needed was right there. Do stay - this should be on everyones bucket list. We shall surely return - maybe in the winter when we can fully appreciate those magnificent dogs. Regret not being able to spend more time with Sven as I wanted to hear his tails of Iditerod and dog racing - but for another time! There are some beautiful walks nearby and Karasjok village is lovely. Last word to Jenny the yard dog - she was amazing, we really felt she was watching over us - she made us feel welcome and safe here.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more comfort go ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polargirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

A "DIFFERENT PLACE Engholm's Husky design Lodge is situated next to Karasjohka river, 6 km outside of Karasjok. The designed log houses here at the lodge were built by Sven himself and has a special charm. Sven has made all the interior furnishing and decoration in order to create a unique and personal atmosphere in each house. Interesting "dogmusher library". The wood heated sauna is cosy, it has separate room for relaxing and our outdoor hot tub is very popular. The ‘Barta' – a special turf covered log house where we gather around the open fire sitting on reindeer furs with special food and good drinks. ‘Barta' is frequently used for a "different" social events. Engholm Husky farm consists of 40-50 highly trained sled dogs for long-distance racing, expeditions and tours. Conditions are very good for fishing salmon, and grayling in Karasjok river (200m). Char, trout and pike in the lakes nearby.
Come alone or bring your family, friends, partners, your special guests, your board or leader group. a course, seminar, leaders meeting, incentive tour. Look at Photos and videos from previous guests and reviews on Tripadviser.com

Room Tip: All rooms/loge houses are nice. An incredible nice place to by. Fantastic owner and staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaseberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was really in two minds about whether I should actually tell anyone how good this place actually is. But as it is hard to get to, I suspect that the day trippers, and the Guccies and those who think an adventure is having to go out to buy a drink as opposed to raiding the minibar will give up at Oslo, I suspect that it will stay exclusive.

This was a perfect trip and everything and more that I expected. The purpose was to spend some days with the Huskies, and that and all else surpassed my expectations. As a solo traveller I had little idea what to expect of the trip; and after many flight connections arrived at Sven's place. All of the staff were absolutely efficient, friendly, and welcoming to everyone. We were provided with necessary information when we needed it in a clear way, but this was all about fun.

The accommodation was absolutely charming. How can one describe it? The property is a sprinkling of log cabins in the woods. Each has been individually constructed by Sven and the interior is a masterpiece in individuality. Every table, every chair, shelf, bed etc has been constructed beautifully by hand by Sven the craftsman. The tables in the main lodge where everyone eats are works of art, rather than an item of furniture. The base is constructed of tree roots which are just amazing, as though the tables are growing out of the floor. I was completely blown away by the way things have been made. And this is trying to make things lying about outside being put to use. Everything is crafted to a standard that it should be sold in the best shops in London. The man could make a fortune if he gave up the dogs.

Krystal and Thomas who were in charge of us were equally fantastic. After a hard day for us, all we wanted to do was collapse in a heap but Thomas and Krystal were working hard, running chains for the dogs to be tied to, pushing sleds up hills with our food in it, checking the dogs and putting ointment on their paws.... they have the stamina of a husky these two.

When on the trail, it is simply indescribable how fantastic it is. The group of about 8 of us each had a team of dogs. You are taught how to remove and refasten the harnesses; secure the sled; pack it etc etc. The dogs of course are the stars of the show. I must say I was surprised to read another review of this place complaining about the noise from the dogs. At night and most of the day they are absolutely quiet. In fact, even if you walk in the yard, they are all quiet, tails wagging, just wanting to be stroked. The only noise is when they are tethered to the sleds and they are anticipating running with the pack again. Then it is noisy!!!

The dogs are super friendly. And you quickly get to know them and they get to know you. All they seem to want is to run, be fed, and be hugged. Then next day, they can't wait to run again. They are looked after so, so well by Krystal and Thomas. I never heard them even raise their voices to the dogs and the dogs respect them without any coercion.

You are provided with all the equipment you really need. One of our team had his luggage lost in transit and everything was provided to him. I would recommend taking two base layers to be worn at the same time; and two over layers of winter clothing such as crag hoppers type trousers and the best quality ski jacket you can get. You are provided with musher boots (basically large wellingtons with thermal linings), thick socks, ski salopettes, a hat and gloves. The other recommendations I would have are to buy thin liner gloves and take lots of hand warmer things as it can get very cold. The gloves could be better in their effectiveness even though they are military gloves. Also a balaclava for under the hat, and your own hat would be better than the ones provided. Last they provide a leather parka musher's jacket that is essential to keep out the wind and also to protect you from low lying branches that occasionally you run in to.

On the trail we stayed in mountain lodges. The accommodation is shared so it is a bit like youth hosteling in a way and everyone is expected to help with the dishes, bringing in wood etc. But that is all part of the fun. Toilet facilities are basic but adequate. There is no provision for showers, but plenty hot water to make yourself respectable and functional. The lodges were wonderfully warm, with a stove in each room and plenty of wood. In fact, I was over warm during the nights and slept well.

On the trail, we stopped for lunch and fires were lit on two days. Toasting sandwiches on an open fire beats stopping for a burger.

This is a holiday I will never forget and will want to repeat. I met some fantastic people on the trip, restoring my faith in humanity. Sven has a fantastic set up there and if you want to experience solitude, but comfort and enjoy the most fantastic scenery you can imagine with a prospect of seeing the aurora, I cannot fault this as a destination. I shall certainly be back.

And just when I thought it could not get any better, on the last evening we saw the northern lights..... Although that was the main purpose of my trip, by the end of it I was kind of hoping I would not see them, to give me a cast iron excuse to come back again. But there is nothing wrong with seeing them twice is there?

I find the negative comments in some of the reviews of this place to be simply laughable. If you want a five star hotel, stay in a five star hotel and then complain that there was only three towels in the room, or the room service took an hour to come. But if you want the adventure of a lifetime, this is the place to go. Thank you Sven, Thomas and Krystal. This was the best!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that is made of wood (they all are) as they are all magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rstornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karasjok
4.1 mi away
Scandic Karasjok
Scandic Karasjok
#1 of 1 in Karasjok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
21.6 mi away
Karasjok Camping
Karasjok Camping
#2 of 5 in Karasjok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.8 mi away
The White Reindeer Motel
The White Reindeer Motel
#1 of 1 in Karasjok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
No photo provided
Tenon Erakievari
#1 of 1 in Karigasniemi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kalastajan Majatalo Inn
Kalastajan Majatalo Inn
#2 of 3 in Karigasniemi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jergul Astu
Jergul Astu
#4 of 5 in Karasjok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok

Property: Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok
Address: Engholm husky Karasjok, Karasjok 9730, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Karasjok Municipality > Karasjok
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Karasjok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The designed log cabins at Engholm are situated next to Karasjohka river, 6 km outside of Karasjok. The houses are built by Sven Engholm him selves and have a special charm. He have made all the interior furnishing and decoration in order to create a unique and personal atmosphere in each house. We provide lodging with full board, or if you desire, just only lodging. Free wireless internet zone. Canoe and bicycle rental. Salmon, trout and grayling fishing in the river nearby. Char and pike in the lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing