We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Kautokeino
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jussantupa(Enontekio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Davvi Arctic Lodge(Karesuvanto)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kelotin Rantamajat(Leppajarvi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jergul Astu(Karasjok)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
82
65
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
65
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly staffbreakfast buffetnice hotelnice viewin townpublic areastop classgreat experiencerestaurantbardinnerwindowsaunasnowcultureselectionreindeer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Thon Hotel Kautokeino itself is lovely. The beds are comfortable, the reception staff is very helpful and friendly, and the design of the hotel is warm and welcoming. I stayed here two years ago and decided to return. The restaurant was a disaster this time. A buffet was served that evening, we were not told the price nor were given the option of the ala carte menu. The food was supposed to be in the typical Sami tradition (reindeer meat, clear broth, root vegetables) and was shockingly expensive for the low quality. We actually thought the bill was for two people was actually for the entire table of four!
I would stay here again but would avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chonobuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Unexperienced, uncompetent receptionist spoiled the whole visit. We had to pay room rate twice! Pre-charged when making the reservation. Now reimbursement procedure going on. Summer clerk could not use hotels` computer program. Also unbelievable that in Thon Kautokeino cash and credit card payment cannot be combined! Either or.
We haradly revisit here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Thon Hotel Kautokeino has a unique Northern touch, but when it comes to design and the food they serve. Lovely photos taken by a local photographer adorn the walls, and the bed was extremely comfortable - a Thon Hotel trademark.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aila_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We were coming from Sweden and had planned to cut the journey going to the North Cape.

This hotel is very nice and calm. Excellent welcome and quick check-in.
Our room was at the end of the buidling and was small but very comfortable.
We had windows on two walls.

We deciced to have dinner and bad luck there was only one cook in the kitchen.
This info only came very late and some angry guests left the dinning room being irriated
to wait. The waitress should have informed us of this beforehand.

We waited for 1h45 to get our single dish but we were given a beer each on the house.
Our food tasted good and so did the beer.
OK this happens and we were not upset as on holiday. We tipped the waitress as this was not her fault. The view from the restaurant was fabulous.

Hotels are not cheap in Norway. This was not an exception either but the room was excellent and so was the breakfast which is a buffet. Yet the room plus the dinner was €299 for 2.

Parking is easy outside of the hotel and is free..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lov2travelww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Placed on a hill over the village, pleasant nature in the surrounding area. To the north extremely walkable. The large windows in the restaurant gives a great view north and east with much light, and you can see very far. The TV in my room didn't work, but that didn't bother me as I had time reading a book instead. Bathroom with tiles all over. Very good water pressure and hot water in shower came quick. Excellent cold water from the faucet, is drinkable even after hours in a glass, with no distaste. Three course meal was served in ok time. Else the service was average. The food was very good, when sufficient amounts of it was placed out, which wasn't always the case. Just seemed a little hard to get the staffs attention to it at times.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rishtario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews