We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jorpeland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preikestolen fjellstue
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view and lodge”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in Preikestolen hostel for 2 nights and it was a beautiful experience and definitely value for money when it comes to Norway. We stayed in the Vatne lodge next to the main one and all the facilities were of hotel standard and everything was super clean. The breakfast was also great and we also made our lunch and snacks for the day from the breakfast buffet. To save costs I recommend cooking your own meals and buying from the supermarket before you arrive as it is a bit of a drive back into town. Will definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    92
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
74
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have been to Norway on 24th Aug 2013 and stayed in the cabins provided by Preikstolen Mountain Lodge facility. It is an excellent place to stay with a real feeling of staying the woods. You are on your own in the forest and every morning you will be getting upto some of the most amazing views.

It's at the base camp of Pulpit rock and the hiking starts right at this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Preikestolen Fjellstua is right in the parking lot for the popular hike of the same name. I'm staying here the night before going on the hike and it's perfect for that, if you have a car. If not, I'd probably stay in Stavanger and bus here for the day.
The building is really unique, the view is awesome. Being high on the mountain without having to camp is nice. There's a strong cold wind once the sun goes down.
There are no TVs in the rooms, but there's a lounge with a beautiful big screen in front of much bigger picture window. And there's only a couple of channels in Norway anyway.
It's like a super fancy hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikNordheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorpeland, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

1. it costs $50 per person for the ONLY dinner meal on the menu (no vegetarian options)
2. it costs $40 round-trip to bus into town in order to eat ANYWHERE ELSE.
3. they willingly charge different alcohol prices for different people (and give no explanation when asked) ex. charged me 70 for a beer all hours, charged my brother 89 and then 95 for the same beer at the same hours
4. extremely small rooms
5. very rude staff
6. NOT WORTH THE MONEY (unless you have $50 to spend on one meal per person)

INSTEAD,
stay somewhere else and BUS to the trail & back

Room Tip: choose ANY room that is at a different hostel/hotel..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaci m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hands down the best location if you want to get an early start on the hike up to the Pulpit Rock. The hostel is beautifully located with spectacular views to a lake and surrounding mountains. However, the hostel is very basic, and the rooms small and spartan with the narrowest twin beds I have ever slept in. Wi-Fi was only available in common areas, so one is forced to listen to other people's Skype conversations. Breakfast was a disappointment. The quality of the food was ok, but there was so little of it since the waiters were incredibly slow to replace or refill the empty plates and trays. Dinner was a fixed menu (and on the expensive side), and they were quite unsympathetic to the fact that I do not eat red meat, so I had only soup. Except for the helpful, young woman who checked us in I found the staff there indifferent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved this weekend stay with my boyfriend. We don't have a lot of money so opted for the smaller 2 bed room in the hostel expecting it to be much worse than it was due to the price but it was great. Admitidly very small, but being amongst the beautiful surroundings you wouldnt want to stay indoors anyway. The Breakfast was of very high standard , especially as you get it free with the hostel rooms. Fresh bread you can cut yourself, fresh fruit and cheeses, a very broad range of drinks and coffees.

Room Tip: Only choose the smaller hostel rooms if you dont mind being in a tiny (but still clean and cosy) roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found the place especially nice and not only because of Preikestolen. The lake in front and the flourishing nature complete an idyllic picture that worths to be visited still from so far like us. Clerks were thoughtful and the place cozy. The restaurant is very good, but for people staying for more than one or two days, the menu starts to be repetitive. The only problem i had is about the reservation for a table in the night. I did the reservation in the evening and no one asked me about which table i'd like. When we arrived at the restaurant at 8 p.m., i asked for a table at the window, because for my wife it's very important the place where she sits. The attendant (a young, blond, very, very slim girI), said that the only table we could sit was one far from window and near the entrance. She couldn't explain how was the managing of choosing places. At first she said it was on the reservation book, but i showed her that there was no table number near the names, only the room number. I got angry and asked how did it work and who decided that, and her final answer was: I DECIDE! I must say that we are a 50 years old couple celebrating our 25th anniversary and i think we don't need to get stressed in a place like that, where, we are spending a lot of money and where the manager clearly wants to show excellence in service and food. That girl ruined our night and of course our general opinion about the place and about Preikestolen. My point is: if you work with tourists, people trying to have fun, sometimes to get over life problems. escaping from a routine, looking for unforgettable experiences, knowing new cultures and giving a lot of money for this, you must be attentive. Sometimes you have to considerate all your options and take a decision different from the manual. You must be resilient and not a german soldier. The table we asked for, was then occupied, at 9 p.m., for two men who didn't even take a look at the window! Please remember and do it for you, not for me: a couple celebrating something is a special situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoniopuccetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jorpeland
9.5 mi away
Lilland Hotel
Lilland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tau
58 reviews
14.1 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
559 reviews
16.0 mi away
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Byrkjedal
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
14.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
250 reviews
4.0 mi away
Verkshotellet
Verkshotellet
#1 of 1 in Jorpeland
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preikestolen fjellstue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preikestolen fjellstue

Property: Preikestolen fjellstue
Address: Preikestolvegen 521 | Pulpit Rock, Jorpeland 4100, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Strand Municipality > Jorpeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Jorpeland
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabin lies in the hills of Ryfylke just near the Refsvatn lake, a beautiful, child-friendly area. There are several marked trails in the area, for example, the path to the Pulpit Rock. The new Preikestolen Mountain Lodge was opened in May 2009. The old Preikestol cabin was built in 1949 just beside the old Vatne mountain farm. There is also good fishing and swimming. There is a lot of activities in the area. We have rental of Canoe, kayak and SUP and we also have a 350meter ZIP-line ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing