We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to be!”
Review of Carlton Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to be!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perfect place to be, especially when you travel with a dog - the dog beach is very close to the hotel. Room with sea-view is fantastic and you always will have a good breeze.
Many wonderful beachbars around the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea or dune-view room - highest floor you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    402
    129
    53
    21
See reviews for
194
459
36
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had an after-wedding dinner reception here for many out-of-town guests. It was catered by the Carlton Beach Catering dept. adn was really, really good! We chose the Italian family-served style and was more than we had expected. Almost too much food... but absolutely fabulous setting with view of the sea and beach. Very good service, and the mgr. came to ask about the over-all service, which we could say was good!
Fish was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Great to hear that the after wedding dinner was succesfull! And off course we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove Region, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Perfect hotel, sometimes the parking is full, so you have to park in some public parking house, but it is not so far. The fitness center is perfect a lots of machines. Internet connection is also quite good. Good service.

Room Tip: Best rooms are seaview rooms, but the dune view rooms are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for your compliments! Indeed, you can park your car either by Zwarte Pad or Scheveningse Bad, both within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waarschoot, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. tram nearby - ideal for a vist to then Hague. rooms clean. the outside might need some refurbishing. Parking ok but not much covered places and if available inside : far too small to get in

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Pease note that we are working on the outside and that this will be done before the end of the summer! We do have our own parking lot, although on busy summer days it would be a good option to use either Scheveningse Bad or Zwarte Bad, both within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. With beautifull weather is super. The beach is really nice with lots of restaurants, bars, pubs with relaxation areas on the beach. The Hotel is nicely located but needs a renovation urgently. The bed was old and very noisy. The breakfast was good. We only had 2 a very unpleasant encounters with the bar tender of the beach bar from the Hotel. He was really not customer friendly. At one point he did want to serve us and the result was that we never went back here again and because of him will never return back to this Hotel again. His collaegues sadly agreed with us. They really should be more critical in hiring people that need to serve customers. He is really ansmall tiran who wants to dictate what people can do. On a vacation ????',',',

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! In the meanwile we have contacted you directly to give you an appropriate answer and solution. We hope to see you soon at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff is kind and location is great, unfortunately we had some hiccups.
Hope these notes help to get things right the first time for future guests.

-dirty glasses, no refill tea/milk/ sugar (think these should be in the room as there is a kettle)
-requested extras were not ready in the room
-5calls to get room service

Room Tip: New sea view room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCdeWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! We will definitely discuss your points mentioned with the different departments and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach, so we can show you this was an incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So the weather wasn't good and it was really windy when I arrived here. The room was a bit smaller than what I expected and it was a let down as I had a lot of luggage with me. The swimming pool and sauna area was nice, but 10EUR for the sauna was not justified. I mean at 200EUR per night, a sauna shouldn't be something that I should be charged for. Parking is ok but in the open as a result, the car was covered in sea water mist, salt and sand!! Breakfast was OK. The lift keeps on making the sounds of waves of albatrosses and waves splashing. All in all, nothing special, but good enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers, although your stay was not completely satisfying. Please note that we will take your points into account and we still hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
178 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach

Property: Carlton Beach
Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing