We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable weekend by the sea”
Review of Carlton Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North West England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable weekend by the sea”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Carlton in one of their seaview rooms with a balcony. It is a good, friendly hotel with easy going but efficient staff and an excellent location right on the beach near numerous cafes. The breakfast room is pleasant with omelettes made on the spot! This time we had to wait a while for our room to be prepared but otherwise faultless service.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are best, but dune view OK too, all with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEHNorthWestEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much sharing this review with other travelers! We appreciate your compliments about our breakfast, location and staff! We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    407
    129
    54
    22
See reviews for
195
464
39
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hotel on a beautiful beach. Walking distance from several attractions, friendly staff. Very comfortable beds. The areas around the hotel provide for great walks/ jogging. Great choice of restaurants/ cafe's on the pier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful review with other travelers. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent for a second time our holidays here and we love the rooms with the dune view.
We enjoyed to have a fitness room with a swimmingpool.
The staff is very friendly and they were very delight with our little son (2 years old); for example by taking him for baking small cakes ( thank's to the entertainment team).
Not to forget the Beach and the mall next to the Hotel, which invites to walk around and to enjoy the Sea!

Room Tip: Rooms with dune view are quiet and have a fantastic view on the sea too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing this really nice review with other travelers! It makes us very happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us! We really appreciate your compliments for our entertainment team and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms were look like they where refurbished. Location is perfect, just a few meters to the beach.
And close to Zwarte Pad with beachparties in the trendy beachclubs during the summer. Looked like they will start soon with the exterior renovation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Indeed, we are almost finishing the exterior renovation. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved the family room booked for us through their own booking service. The separate children's suite, coupled with available in-room board games and a "Children's Entertainment Team" were a hit with our 4 and 6 year old and made down-time easy for mom and dad! A relaxing time was had by all. The inexpensive beach-side reservation of wind screen, lounge chairs, and towels with (free) water made beach time easy to navigate as well!

Room Tip: Most rooms have at least a partial sea-side view, so don't worry if they're listed otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMW2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
What an extensive review always very much appreciated that guests will give this much information regarding their stay, especially your compliments about our Family room, animation team and beachclub. This makes us helping to keep us on the level that guests can expect from us. We hope to welcome you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perfect place to be, especially when you travel with a dog - the dog beach is very close to the hotel. Room with sea-view is fantastic and you always will have a good breeze.
Many wonderful beachbars around the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea or dune-view room - highest floor you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had an after-wedding dinner reception here for many out-of-town guests. It was catered by the Carlton Beach Catering dept. adn was really, really good! We chose the Italian family-served style and was more than we had expected. Almost too much food... but absolutely fabulous setting with view of the sea and beach. Very good service, and the mgr. came to ask about the over-all service, which we could say was good!
Fish was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Great to hear that the after wedding dinner was succesfull! And off course we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
182 reviews
4.3 mi away
NH Atlantic Den Haag
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#15 of 67 in The Hague
1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach

Property: Carlton Beach
Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing