We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Catch by Simonis

Catch by Simonis
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 12/4
20:00
Ranked #14 of 164 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Reservation for second round that evening at 21:30, this was a little late especially because when we were at the end of the main course the waiter was asking us if we would like to have dessert, otherwise the cook would go home...
Oisters were good, seaplatter as wel. Wine was wel suggested en the champaign was great. Some small seafood parts (crab as I can remember) was still frozen? But rest was very fresh and tasted good. For the price we paid, I must say it was average. If the price would have been less, I would have rated it as very good. So food was very good, nevertheless for the price we paid, it better be.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank hoekies1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 353 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A great restaurant, delicious food and desserts. Amazing interior decor. Beautiful view of the harbor

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Good food BUT service is terrible. Kitchen capacity too small for the restaurant. After complaining the manager (Peter) tried to prove us wrong. Absolute disregard for the customer! For that alone we never go back, a shame managers are not taught the abc of customer focus!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 749marcelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Note that we had a 19:00 reservation for three people, and were on time. We ordered our starters and main course at the same time in order to save time... or so we thought! After just over an hour, we were told, by the waitress, that something was wrong with our order and our starters were then served after 1.5 hrs - note that two of the starters were cold, so I don't know how much preparation is actually involved. Then, strangely, another waiter came to the table with exactly the same starters we ordered, and had just eaten. The main course was eventually served after just over 2 hrs, which turned out to be a very late dinner for us. The quality of the food was generally good, however one dish was served lukewarm, and it was far too late to properly enjoy the meal. The waitress apologised for the delay, giving the reason that it is a very busy night, however, surrounding tables received their orders in a timely manner (at least 4 tables were seated later, and finished before we were even served!). We were offered a round of drinks on-the-house. Being "busy", is not an acceptable reason in a restaurant which is busy all the time. The shame was that this was a special birthday dinner for a family member living overseas and whom we only get to see every two years. When making the reservation I explicitly mentioned the occasion. The time taken for service is unacceptable and spoilt the rest of our evening. While the decor and ambiance of the restaurant is very good, this does not excuse service as poor as what we experienced This was our first... and probably will be our last visit to Catch.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NSchubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Our Dutch friends took us there as they were recommended by their friends and on research on the net,they thought it to be rather good!
We arrived after they picked up and we were ushered upstairs and were given good seats and were served our chosen wines !
However,after that,all things went aground and after another round of wine ordering and having chosen our starters,it took them over an hour or so to serve our starters!Oh,yes,this being a fish restaurant ,we were told there is no fruit de Mer and only 3 oysters!!!
That's me upset as we came because of the fruit de Mer!
Ok,so starters n now the main courses!Having ordered,it took them over another 1-145 to give us our main courses n mine came cold n I wasn't hungry by then as be eating bread whilst waiting for 'the cows to come home!'
The waiter did not even come and explain to us about this terrible and unacceptable delay and only towards the end and after our complaints !
He then apologised n took my ribeye steak off the bill as it arrived cold n promised that if I come back next,he will guaranteed a good meal.Apparently,they have a lot a trouble with some break-down of their freezer n other hiccups in the kitchen department that evening!
Well,all in all ,we were not pleased and I am not sure about a second visit but if we are passing might give it another try!
Tonight was not a good night and very unhappy customers!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank C3251WUmaryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Catch by Simonis also viewed

 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Catch by Simonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.