We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquarius Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Newcastle
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed one night in the summer of 2012. We arrived late after a long bike ride. They stored our bikes in a room at the rear. The hotel is old, but the room we had was fine. The wi-fi also worked well. We had a very good breakfast, and the owner recommended a good Italian type restaurant nearby, where we got our first drink free because we followed her recommendation. Scheveningen seemed like a down-market Blackpool and we were there on a very wet and windy day, so we didn't see it at it's best. The hotel was good enough and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    40
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
38
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for the weekend, looks a bit past it's best from the outside and inside is the same, breakfast was fine, welcome was slightly off putting, arrived at same time as other guests and lady on reception appeared a bit flustered and dismissive of us appeared to think we were all one group. Room was OK, good view to sea, it is in an excellent situation easy walking to town, beach, shops etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a nice Hotel for a relaxing weekend out.....or a midweek stay.....
I like to stay in this Hotel when visiting the Netherlands.........
The layout, a combination of buildings can be somewhat confusing, you get used to it fast.
Location is great, right on the boardwalk and beach....., steps away from the Tram terminal
Many attractions in the area.
Parking (reserve with your reservation)lot in front of the Hotel which is hard to find in Scheveningen.
Bicycle's for rent, half day, day, week....
Clean comfortable rooms, (ask for Sea view) very friendly staff, (feels like home) good breakfast buffet, choices for everyone
Inhouse dining is limited, (learn the schedule) but very good.
Many places for lunch or dinner to choose from, at the boardwalk and in the area
Join guests at the Hotel Bar for an after dinner nightcap, you will be treated like family..
Very plesant, higly recommended.......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpresidente_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I give this property four stars based upon the value for money - meaning I'm ranking it with other comparable budget properties, and not in the same vein as more physically-beautiful hotels which I've awarded 4 stars, such as the London May Fair. (Comparing apples to apples...)

So, in the category of hotels where you just want an inexpensive place to stay where location is one of the most important factors, this property delivers.

As noted by the property on its booking sites, there is no elevator. So if you have really heavy suitcases, request a lower-floor property. Upon check-in, the lovely front desk clerk carried my case up the narrow, winding staircase.

The single room is simply, but more than adequately, decorated. I was lucky enough to receive a sea-view room, and was pleased that the windows opened to let in the breeze. There was ample and varied lighting, and everything was clean. I could have used a full-length mirror, though, and the weird shelf placement behind the bed was so low that I hit my head on it when trying to read in bed. It could also probably do with some new carpeting and there was no hair dryer in my room.

I was a bit late for breakfast one morning, but the gentleman in charge kindly fixed me a plate which was more than adequate - he didn't have to do this, but I sure appreciated it. Upon departure, the lady checking me out offered me a coffee while I was waiting for my taxi. Most of the staff I encountered were extremely pleasant.

In sum, this is a quaint and friendly hotel which offers excellent value for your money - it's certainly not the Kurhaus, but nor is it trying to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We have stayed at the Aquarius Hotel three times now and enjoy the clean, large seaview rooms, the friendly staff, and the extensive breakfast. The location is superb, and the recently refurbished rooms are roomy and comfortable. Close to the Scheveningen boardwalk and good public transportion into the city of The Hague.

Room Tip: ask for seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Very clean and tidy, if somewhat quirky in a Dutch kind of way. Right on the seafront, parking is just opposite and simple (not an easy thing to say about Scheveningen generally). Friendly folks. We had a big double with sea view and a balcony. En-suite was definitely a bit odd - had to go through double swing doors which were very narrow - we thought it was a cupboard at first, but spacious enough and nicely fitted inside. My wife found the bed comfortable, but it was one of those with a firm centre but soft edges, and I went base over apex getting out of it. Ceiling tiles were the 1960s acoustic tile type, which is a bit retro and were oddly stained, but hey, this is the Netherlands! Good breakfast, reasonably priced. We'd recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandelbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
247 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

I concur with the other reviewers; this is a nice hotel in a handy position for the Zwarte Pad tram terminus. I was particularly impressed by the evening food, which was outstandingly good value, and the general welcome that I received.

My room (223) looked out of the back, which was no particular problem, but my second night confirmed my suspicion from the first - the bed had bugs in it.

I told the young lady when I checked out. She was suitably apologetic (you could see one of the bites on my hand) but did not offer any recompense.

If I could be assured of a bug-free night, I would gladly go back.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Bugs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.1 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strandhotel Scheveningen
Strandhotel Scheveningen
#7 of 24 in Scheveningen
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Property: Aquarius Hotel
Address: Zeekant 110, 2586 JJ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Scheveningen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing