We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, classy place”
Review of Oceans Square

Oceans Square
Reserve with
Oceans Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 145 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Cuisines: European, Diner, French, Seafood, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Oceans Square is located on the vibrant Kurhausplein (Gevers Deynootplein), in the heart of Scheveningen city centre. The interior is characterised by luxury, comfort and style. Appealing elements include the stylish cocktail bar and the semi-open kitchen with a view of the fresh fish, seafood and shellfish. Visit Oceans Square for lunches, dinners, drinks, meetings and events. Kitchen The kitchen at restaurant Oceans Square is highly diverse and offers exclusive and accessible fresh fish dishes, extensive fruits de mer plateaus with a large selection of oysters, freshly prepared sushi and sashimi, top steaks made from dry-aged meat and a wide range of finger food, bar bites and shared dining dishes. Location Restaurant Oceans Square is located just behind Scheveningen boulevard, near the AFAS Circustheater, Holland Casino, Pathe cinema, Kurhaus and beach. There are several parking garages in the vicinity and various trams and buses stop near the restaurant.
The Hague
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice, classy place”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good brasserie-style restaurant at a great, scenic square. Very nicely decorated, classy atmosphere. Excellent service. Clearly a great, new asset to Scheveningen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    78
    43
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a perfect atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent food in a perfect atmosphere. The plates are really nice and we did not wait so much. We sit outside and the service was very friendly and professional. The only negative point, is that the plates are a bit expensive....but it worth a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had dinner at Ocean's Square with 3 couples. The food was excellent, good value for money.
The only downside was that the chairs were absolutely not comfortable. If they were to replace the chairs for more comfy ones, I would give them 5 points.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
's-Gravenzande, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great place naar the Kurhaus, excellent service and great Cook! The terrace is one of the best, great plateau fruits de mer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Same restaurant, two different places”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ok, first of all I have to point out that the above evaluation (around 3.5 stars) was based on the average experience we had during our 3 visits: one at the main Restaurant located in front of the iconic Kurhaus Hotel, and two at the pavilion they have on the Scheveningen beach.

The main restaurant, recently opened, offers a contemporary ambiance together with impeccably dressed and well trained staff. It is a good option for dining in a elegant place with a relax atmosphere.

The menu is varied and they have a good selection of wines. The prices are a little bit above average but all dishes were well presented and tasted great. The service was very good.

Nevertheless, I'm afraid that the same can't be said about the beach pavilion venue. Both locations share the same menu and wine options but the difference in the service level was significant.

They did a great job opening an inviting place on the beach with comfortable furniture, nice torches and direct view to the sea. During our first visit, we enjoyed drinks and food while watching the sunset.

However, in our last visit something went wrong: it seemed that they misplaced our order. Once we pointed out that we have been waiting for almost an hour and a half, they just highlighted the the kitchen was extremely busy dealing with so many requests.

This is completely understandable since the pavilion was full but not when you have 4 tables around you, alredy finishing their dinner, when they arrived way later than you. Regrettably, we needed to cancel the order since the waiter told us that it might take another 15 minutes- with no promises.

Just before paying, the cancelled food was brought by and we were "invited" to eat, arguing that we will missing the yummy dishes. We just couldn't stay, we needed to travel back and we were not feeling like rush-eating after all the wait. Sadly, we left disappointed.

For being the new kids on the block, we believe that Oceans has room for improvements, especially in the service provided at the beach pavilion. Addressing this important issue will encourage returning patrons.

We will - certainly- visit again the main Restaurant and gauge going back to the beach pavilion, in the hope for a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceans Square also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Oceans Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing